This is the "Books and encyclopedias" page of the "Women in science " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Women in science  

Finding resources about women in science and engineering
Last Updated: Mar 3, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/womeninscience Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Books and encyclopedias Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
A to Z of Women in Science and Math - Lisa Yount; Nicole Brown (Editor)
Call Number: Shields Library Bio/Ag Reference Q141 .Y675 1999 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 0816037973
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
A to Z of Women in Science and Math profiles more than 150 women who throughout history and throughout the world have fought against stereotypes and in doing so have forged new discoveries and theories that have changed the way we view science.

Cover Art
The Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science - Marilyn Ogilvie (Editor); Joy Harvey (Editor); Margaret Rossiter (Introduction by)
Call Number: Shields Library Bio/Ag Reference Q141 .B5285 2000 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 0415920388
Publication Date: 2000-07-06
Edited by two of the most respected scholars in the field, this milestone reference combines "facts-fronted" fast access to biographical details with highly readable accounts and analyses of nearly 3000 scientists' lives, works, and accomplishments. For all academic and public libraries' science and women's studies collections.

Cover Art
Notable Women Scientists - Pamela Proffitt (Editor)
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference Q141 .N736 1999 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 0787639001
Publication Date: 1999-11-22
Notable Women Scientists covers 500 women from antiquity through the present and from a wide range of disciplines. Each 400- to 1,500-word essay begins with a heading that offers at-a-glance facts including birth/death dates, major field of endeavor and national/ethnic background.

Cover Art
Nobel Prize Women in Science - Sharon B. McGrayne
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference Q141 .M358 1998 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 0806520256
Publication Date: 1998-09-01
"Since 1901 these have been over three hundred recipients of the Nobel Prize in the sciences. Only ten of them - about 3 percent - have been women. Why?" "In this updated version of Nobel Prize Women in Science, Sharon Bertsch McGrayne explores the reasons for this astonishing disparity by examining the lives and achievements of fifteen women scientists who either won a Nobel Prize or played a crucial role in a Nobel Prize-winning project. The book reveals the relentless discrimination these women faced both as students and as researchers. Their success was due to the fact that they were passionately in love with science."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Cover Art
The Door in the Dream - Elga Wasserman
ISBN: 0309065682
Publication Date: 2000-05-01
In an informal and engaging manner, Wasserman provides a fascinating window into the changing status and representation of women in science in the 20th century.

Cover Art
Ladies in the Laboratory? American and British Women in Science, 1800-1900 - Mary R. Creese; Thomas M. Creese (Contribution by)
ISBN: 0810832879
Publication Date: 1998-03-19
A systematic survey and comparison of the work of 19th-century American and British women in scientific research, this book covers the two countries in which women of the period were most active in scientific work and examines all the fields in which they were engaged.

Cover Art
Paths to Career and Success for Women in Science - Britta Thege; Silvester Popescu-Willigmann; Roswitha Pioch; Sabah Badri-Höher
Call Number: (online)
ISBN: 9783658040604
Publication Date: 2014-02-28
Gender equality in science is a major challenge for higher education systems, which are facing many constraints. This book presents some of the latest research findings from Germany, South Africa and Austria on women's careers in science and research. The volume provides insights into the research system from a female career perspective, and highlights the lessons women can learn from the findings in order to promote their own careers.

Cover Art
Women of Science: Righting the Record - G. Kass-Simon; Patricia Farnes; Deborah Nash
Call Number: Shields Library Q130 .W67 1990
ISBN: 0253332648
Publication Date: 1989-06-01
In the late 1960s, when the current women's movement was beginning to gain its first real momentum, academic women, long subjected to institutionalized subordination, became suddenly and acutely aware of their own inferior status--not only in the hierarchy of academic employment, but also in the hierarchy of recognized intellectual achievement.

Cover Art
The Bold and the Brave - Monique Frize
Call Number: Shields Library Q130 .F765 2009
ISBN: 9780776607252
Publication Date: 2009-12-12
The Bold and the Braveinvestigates how women have striven throughout history to gain access to education and careers in science and engineering. Author Monique Frize, herself an engineer for over 40 years, introduces the reader to key concepts and debates that contextualize the obstacles women have faced and continue to face in the fields of science and engineering. She focuses on the history of women’s education in mathematics and science through the ages, from antiquity to the Enlightenment. While opportunities for women were often purposely limited, she reveals how many women found ways to explore science outside of formal education. The book examines the lives and work of three women –Sophie Germain, Mileva Einstein, and Rosalind Franklin – that provide excellent examples of how women’s contributions to science have been dismissed, ignored or stolen outright. She concludes with an in-depth look at women’s participation in science and engineering throughout the twentieth century and the current status of women in science and engineering, which has experienced a decline in recent years. To encourage more young women to pursue careers in science and engineering she advocates re-gendering the fields by integrating feminine and masculine approaches that would ultimately improve scientific and engineering endeavours.

Librarian

Profile Image
Cory Craig
more Quotes
Contact Info
PSE Library
One Shields Ave
University of California
Davis, CA 95616
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip