APANLMCBE / CSECitation Management Software
This is the "UWP 104F" page of the "UWP 104F: Dr. Elyse Lord" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

UWP 104F: Dr. Elyse Lord  

Last Updated: Jan 13, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/uwp104flord Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

UWP 104F Print Page
  Search: 
 

Other guides

  • UWP-104F Course Guide
    This comprehensive course guide by Librarian Ruth Gustafson is designed to support all of the UWP 104F classes for Fall 2012.
  • All subject guides
    A list of all the subject guides by UC Davis Librarians, organized by subject.
 

Thanks

Many thanks to UC Davis Librarians, Bernadette Daly Swanson, Melissa Browne, and Mary Wood, for sharing content used in this course guide.

 

Welcome!

Welcome to the library course guide for:

UWP104F Writing in the Professions: Health

Instructor:  Elyse Lord

          Winter Quarter 2014

This guide is intended to support your search for qualitative and quantitative studies for the final project.

Please contact me (your friendly librarian) if you have any questions or need help finding anything.

Image credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/fdecomite/6965863818/

Annotated bibliography: Research process overview

The following resources will help you with the process of researching and writing your annotated bibliography:

 

Thinking about qualitative and quantitative research on your topic

Here are some subject terms that you might want to consider as you begin to think about your topic:

Adaptation, psychological
Alternative Therapies
Attention
Attitudes to Health
Awareness
Behavior Therapy
Burnout, Professional
Complementary Therapies
Culture
Disease/psychology
Emotions--health aspects
Ethnography
Focus Groups
Integrative Medicine
Interviews as Topic
Medical Anthropology
Medicine, Traditional
Meditation
Mind and Body
Mind-Body Relations, Metaphysical
Mind-Body Therapies
Narratives
Patient-Centered Care
Patient Satisfaction
Personality
Physician-Patient Relations
Professional-Patient Relations
Psychoneuroimmunology
Psychophysiology
Psychosomatic Medicine
Qualitative Research
Religion and Medicine
Social Support
Spirituality
Spiritual Therapies
Spiritual Healing
Stress (Physiological)
Stress (Psychological)
Stress Management
Stress--physiopathology

You are encouraged to add more subject terms in the comments section below.

 

Combining search terms with AND / OR

This short, silent video (1:44) provides a simple explanation of how to use AND & OR in database search strategies.

Librarian

Profile Image
Amy Studer
Contact Info
Carlson Health Sciences Library
(530) 752-1678
astuder@lib.ucdavis.edu

How do I identify experts a field?

A search for experts often begins with reviewing the literature and identifying authors who have published a lot on the topic and/or whose articles are frequently cited.  In addition, there are databases that provide information about the local experts in a given subject.  As part of learning about an expert, you may want to search the Internet for a copy of their CV or video of lectures they have given posted on YouTube or TED.

  • Web of Science  Icon
    Article citations include number of times cited data and links to citing articles. A special trick: after running a search on a topic, select "Analyze Results" and then "Author" from the drop down menu in order to retrieve a list of the top authors who are writing on a topic. For more information: http://blogs.lib.berkeley.edu/publnews.php/2013/08/08/cool-web-of-science-tools
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Article citations include number of times cited and link to citing articles.
  • Faculty1000Prime  Icon
    A directory of top articles in biology and medicine, as recommended by over 5,000 expert scientists and clinical researchers, assisted by 5,000 associates.
  • Science Watch: Sci-Bytes
    Explore by clicking on links such as: Emerging Research Fronts;Research Front Maps; or Rising Stars (select a date and a researcher of interest, then explore the interview tab).
  • Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Research
    Select Browse and then search by category, author or institution to identify highly cited researchers. Since links to publications are not provided, you may want to do an author search in Web of Science to find related articles.
  • SciVal  Icon
    This is a database of UC Davis School of Medicine faculty, their publications, grants, and collaborators.
  • PIVOT
    This database includes publications and grants for UC Davis faculty, staff, and students.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip