Quick Guide to congressional documentsCongressional HearingsOpen Government Congressional sites
Government Documents as Primary SourcesHistorical Government Publications - Print Guides and Indexes
American FactfinderCensus of AgricultureEconomic CensusCensus of Governments
This is the "U.S. GOVERNMENT INTRO" page of the "Government Information - United States" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Government Information - United States   Tags: congress, congressional, data, government, government information, laws, legislation, political science  

Last Updated: Sep 15, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/usgov Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

U.S. GOVERNMENT INTRO Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

U.S. GOVERNMENT INFORMATION

The UC Davis is a selective Federal Depository Library.  The Library has a large collection of historical and current U.S. government documents from the Government Printing Office as part of the FDLP.  Federal government resources are received in various formats, including paper, microfiche, CD-ROM, DVD, and via the Internet. These resources are found in various locations in the Library depending on format and subject

Government documents are listed in the library's Harvest Catalog, however, specialized indexes provide more detailed content access as well as access to online documents.  Many U.S. documents are shelved by the call number listed in the Harvest Catalog in areas throughout the UCD Libraries.  Most congressional publications as well as publications from various Federal agencies are located in the closed stack Government Information Collection on the lower level.  Most USGS and some NASA publications are located in the Physical Sciences and Engineering Library

Government publications that are located in the Shields Library lower level Government Information closed stacks collection can be retrieved and checked out whenever the library is open.  Publications located in the Government Information stacks can be identified by the "Doc" in front of the call number (SuDoc No.) that you'll find in the Harvest catalog.  Please ask at the first floor Information Desk when an assistant is available; at other times ask at the Shields Library Circulation Services to have a staff member retrieve a known document by call number. 

The Library has access to free and licensed online databases for government information. Databases and reference materials are listed on pages within this guide.

A large collection of technical reports are available in microfiche and through the NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) database.

Please contact me if you need reference assistance with U.S. government information.

Marcia Meister

mlmeister@ucdavis.edu

or

govdocref@lib.ucdavis.edu

 

Quick Harvest Catalog Search

Librarian

Profile Image
Marcia Meister
Contact Info
Shields Library
Humanities, Social Sciences & Government Information Services
530-752-9784
Please contact me to make an appointment for a consultation.
mmeister@lib.ucdavis.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip