This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "Toxicology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Toxicology  

Last Updated: Jul 11, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/toxicology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Specific Databases

  • TOXNET (Toxicology Data Network)
    A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas. Includes the following databases: CHEMIDplus, Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), TOXLINE, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS), Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology and Environmental Teratology Information Center (DART/ETIC), GENE-TOX, Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER), LactMed, and Toxics Release Inventory (TRI). Other resources include Haz-Map, Household Products Database and TOXMAP. {RG 12/17/13}
    How to cite TOXNET databases (Question 3)
    TOXNET Frequently Asked Questions
    TOXNET training manual (Feb 2013)PDF
  • ECOTOX (ECOTOXicology)
    Author: EPA
    Provides single chemical toxicity information for aquatic and terrestrial life which is useful for examining impacts of chemicals on the environment. Peer-reviewed literature is the primary source for the database including information on the species, chemical, test methods, and results. Another source of test results is independently compiled data files (such as the Pesticide Ecotoxicity database) provided by various United States and International government agencies. ECOTOX is a unified interface providing access to three U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) ecological effects databases: AQUIRE (all aquatic species including freshwater and marine); TERRETOX (terrestrial animal mainly wildlife); and PHYTOTOX (terrestrial plant). Ecology, Toxicology. {RG 12/11/13}
    Coverage: 1972-present
  • TOXLINE [via ProQuest]  Icon
    Offers rapid access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. NOTE: ProQuest version enables UC-eLinks (not enabled in TOXNET). {RG 12/18/13}
    Coverage: 2000-present
    CSA Fact Sheet
    Setting up Alerts
  • Canary Database: Animals as Sentinels of Human Environmental Health Hazards
    Author: Yale University Occupational and Environmental Medicine
    Indexes 1000s of scientific studies from MEDLINE, CAB Abstracts, and Agricola to facilitate review of the evidence of animals as "early warning" sentinels of human health hazards.

    For each study, curators add information about animal species, exposures, health effects, location, and whether the study includes data providing evidence linking animal sentinel events to human health risk. You can browse the database by year, journal, author, exposure, risk factor, species, outcome, or by methodology. {RG 12/16/13}

Generalized Databases

  • PubMed  
      
      Icon
    More than 23 million citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine on the NCBI platform. {RG 12/12/13}
    Coverage: 1946-present
    PubMed Tutorial & more
    Alerts/Automatic Updating Service (Saving & Managing Searches)
    NLM Searching PubMed with Mesh tri-fold handout [PDF]
    NLM PubMed Basics tri-fold handout [PDF]
  • BIOSIS Previews [via Web of Science]  
      
      Icon
    More than 23 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
    Coverage: 1926-present
    Quick Reference Card: BIOSIS Previews
    Online BIOSIS information
    Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
  • Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM) [via ProQuest]  Icon
    Major areas of coverage include aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy resources, environmental biotechnology & engineering, environmental impact statements, hazardous waste, industrial hygiene, microbiology, and risk assessment. Subfiles include: ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B); Ecology Abstracts; Environmental Engineering Abstracts; Health and Safety Science Abstracts; Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A); Pollution Abstracts; Risk Abstracts; Sustainability Science Abstracts; Toxicology Abstracts; and Water Resources Abstracts. EIS: Full Text and Digests of Environmental Impact Statements are combined for cross-searching with ESPM. {RG 12/12/13}
    Coverage: 1967-present (varies by subfile)
    ESPM LibGuide [ProQuest]
    Setting up Alerts
  • SciFinder [Registration Required]  
      
      Icon
    SciFinder is the most comprehensive scholarly bibliographic research database for the field of chemistry with >29 million citations; indexes over 10,000 journals. Covers all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. It is the online version of Chemical Abstracts.
    Coverage: 1907 - present (selected pre-1907)
    Register for SciFinder (Required)
    About SciFinder: Use On & Off-Campus, Troubleshooting & Guides
    Java Plug-in for Structure Searching (optional)
    •Direct questions to UCD's contact: Cory Craig, cjcraig@ucdavis.edu, 530/752-0347
  • Embase  
      
      Icon
    Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research and conference abstracts. Embase contains over 22 million records, with over 1 million records added annually. The Embase journal collection is international with over 7,500 active peer-reviewed journals more than 90 countries. {RG 12/17/13}
    Coverage: 1974-current (for EMBASE records); 1966-current
    Embase Getting Started videos
    Saved Searches/Alerts/Automatic Updating Service
    Embase Indexing (Emtree)
  • Science Citation Index Expanded [via Web of Science]  
      
      Icon
    Multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the peer-reviewed journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 6,650 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Search for articles that cite a known author or work.
    Coverage: 1900-present
    Quick Reference Guide: Web of Science Core Collection
    How to create Author Citation Reports
    Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
    Creating a Citation Alert
  • NTRL - National Technical Reports Library  Icon
    NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) is from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) within the Department of Commerce. NTRL provides access to government-sponsored research, development and technical reports with full-text access to reports that have been digitized. Searches over 2 million reports with links to over 700,000 full-text reports. 1964 to present
  • WorldCat [via FirstSearch/OCLC]  Icon
    OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
    Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present
  • Dissertation Abstracts International / Dissertations & Theses [via ProQuest]  Icon
    Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations. Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.
    Publication date coverage: 1861-present
  • F1000Prime  Icon
    F1000Prime is a "literature awareness tool ... [which] comprehensively and systematically highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological and medical sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of leading researchers. Through immediate rating of individual papers by the authors' peers, F1000 [Prime] highlights papers on the basis of their scientific merit rather than that of the journal in which they appear."

    Faculty of 1000 (F1000) Biology & Medicine are merged into one and now called F1000Prime. Includes over 40 Faculties (Broad subject areas such as biochemistry, ecology or plant biology), which are further subdivided into over 300 Sections. On average, 1,500 new evaluations are published each month. Faculty members are more than 5,000 experts worldwide (assisted by 5,000 associates) and assess articles from more than 3,500 peer-review journals. {RG 12/11/13}
    F1000Prime Tour

Electronic Book and Document Collections

  • Springer eBooks Package  Icon
    UC-wide licensed three-year (2013-2015) package for Springer eBooks and includes more than 55,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. {RG 12/11/13}
    Coverage: 2005-2014
  • ENVIROnetBASE [via CRCnetBASE]  Icon
    This full-text ENVIROnetBASE collection includes over 600 environmental sciences handbooks and includes indexing of chapters and their figures, charts, tables, illustrations, formulas and rules of thumb. Environmental sciences areas covered include environmental engineering and biotechnology, agricultural and natural resources, ecology, pollution and more. {RG 12/11/13}
    ENVIROnetBASE scope
  • BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE [via CRCnetBASE]  Icon
    This full-text collection includes over 500 titles in bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biomedical imaging, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology, neuropsychology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology. {RG 12/17/13}
    Collection Scope
  • EPA National Service Center for Environmental Publications
    EPA's central repository of all EPA documents with over 7,000 titles available in paper or electronic form.
  • Science of Synthesis [Thieme}  Icon
    Science of Synthesis provides an authoritative review of synthetic methods from the early 1800s to the present, for the field of organic and organometallic chemistry. Science of Synthesis is full-text, structure, and reaction searchable. The database also provides links to the primary literature and to related information in the Houben-Weyl electronic archive. (All 4 editions, and the supplemental "E-series" volumes, of the Houben-Weyl Methods of Molecular Transformations are included in Science of Synthesis.) {Revised RG 12/18/13}
    Coverage: 1800's to present
    NOTES: 1) Pop-up blockers must be disabled to use Science of Synthesis. 2) Structure searching requires either Java applet capability, or the presence of ChemDraw or ISIS/Draw on the user's computer
    Getting Started: 62 pgs PDF
  • Journal Citation Reports (JCR)  
      
      Icon
    Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.
    Release Coverage: 2007-2013 (for 2006-2012 data)
    Information for New JCR Users
    Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
    Using JCR
  • Safari Tech Books Online  Icon
    A collection of computing books that includes the full text of over 300 O'Reilly Press books dating from 2004 to the present. Safari will grow to include all new O'Reilly titles, including the popular In a Nutshell books on important computing topics. The full-text is searchable across titles and searches can be limited to code fragments. Books can also be browsed by topic. Books can be read online, or individual chapter sections can be printed out or emailed. Access is limited to 28 simultaneous UC connections.
    Coverage: 2004-present.
    RSS feed of new titles in Safari

Protocols and Methods Resources

  • Current Protocols Series [Wiley]  Icon
    Ten major laboratory methods and protocols series covering the areas of molecular biology, nucleic acid chemistry, cell biology, protein science, immunology, neuroscience, human genetics, pharmacology, toxicology, and cytometry. Includes basic, alternate, and support protocols with literature cited and information on suppliers for standard materials and preparation information for reagents and solutions. IMPORTANT NOTE: UC Davis does *NOT* license the following seven protocol titles: "Bioinformatics", "Chemical Biology", "Essential Laboratory Techniques", "Magnetic Resonance Imaging", "Microbiology", "Mouse Biology" (new with very little content) and "Stem Cell Biology".
    Coverage: Updated quarterly or more frequently {RG 12/11/13}
  • Springer Protocols  Icon
    Springer Protocols contains more than 31,000 (as of March 2013) molecular biology and biomedical peer-reviewed protocols, mostly from the classic series Methods in Molecular Biology, formerly published by Humana Press. Other series included are: Methods in Molecular Medicine; Methods in Biotechnology; Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology; and Neuromethods. Also included are protocols from laboratory handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.
    Coverage: 1980-present {RG 12/11/13}
    Ten-page User Guide
  • Cold Spring Harbor Protocols  Icon
    A definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database covers specific sections on: Antibodies, Bioinformatics/Genomics, Cell Biology, Chromatography, Computational Biology, DNA Delivery/Gene Transfer, Electrophoresis, Genetics, High-Throughput Analysis, Imaging/Microscopy, Immunology, Laboratory Organisms, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Plant Biology, Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR), Proteins and Proteomics, RNA Interference (RNAi)/siRNA, Stem Cells, and Transgenic Technology. Unique to this resource is the ability to submit a protocol. Other unique features include protocol recipes and protocol cautions. Coverage: 2006-present {RG 12/11/13}
    Search Help
  • Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)  Icon
    Author: MYJoVE Corporation
    Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format. {RG 12/11/13}
    June 2013: COMPLETE ACCESS to all sections (General and all subsection) now licensed
  • Methods in Enzymology [Science Direct -- Elsevier]  Icon
    Methods in Enzymology is the classic laboratory methods/protocols book series. The complete backfile of the full-text is available back to volume 1 from 1955. Direct article/chapter links are provided from core subject databases such as PubMed and BIOSIS Previews. Contains detailed protocols and descriptions of biochemical and biophysical techniques for research in biological and molecular sciences. More than 300 volumes are browse-able by individual volumes online from 1955 to the present or by searching across the collection by title, author, abstract, and keyword. Full-text access to articles is available in HTML and PDF formats. {RG 12/111/13}
  • Bio-protocol
    A rapidly growing collection of peer-reviewed, life science protocols organized by 11 different fields of study and 10 different organisms. Protocols are organized chronologically with a detailed guide on how to reproduce a given experiment. Each protocol also contains an interactive and moderated Q & A section to facilitate open communication between protocol authors and the research community. Coverage: Jan 2011 – present.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

  • Comprehensive Toxicology [via ScienceDirect]  Icon
    Author: Charlene McQueen (Editor in Chief)
    This 14-volume set covers all aspects of toxicology: Volume 1: General Principles; Volume 2: Cellular and Molecular Toxicology; Volume 3: Toxicology Testing and Evaluation; Volume 4: Biotransformation; Volume 5: Immune System Toxicology; Volume 6: Cardiovascular Toxicology; Volume 7: Renal Toxicology; Volume 8: Respiratory Toxicology; Volume 9: Hepatic Toxicology; Volume 10: Gastrointestinal Toxicology; Volume 11: Reproductive and Endocrine Toxicology; Volume 12: Developmental Toxicology; Volume 13: Nervous System and Behavioral Toxicology; and Volume 14: Carcinogenesis. Useful for "Toxicology researchers, academic and medical practitioners, food science researchers, environmental researchers and consultants, forensic scientists, and occupational health and safety institutes." {RG 12/17/13}
  • Encyclopedia of Aquatic Ecotoxicology [Springer]  Icon
    Author: Editors: Jean-François Férard, Christian Blaise
    Includes 104 chapters over two volumes. The Encyclopedia of Aquatic Ecotoxicology "reveals the diversity of issues, problems and challenges that have faced, and are facing today, receiving environments. It also indicates ways by which tools, strategies and future investigations can contribute to correct, minimize, solve and prevent water quality degradation."

    Entries range from: Acid Rain Toxicity, Biomarkers of Ecological Relevance in Ecotoxicology, Estrogenic Endocrine-Disrupting Chemicals, Nanomaterials in the Environment, Polychaetes in Ecotoxicology, to Water Quality Guidelines for the Protection of Aquatic Ecosystems. [RG 1/15/14]
    Date: 2013
  • Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry [Science Direct -- Elsevier]  Icon
    Author: Editors-in-Chief: William J. Lennarz and M. Daniel Lane
    The 2nd edition of this four-volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of biological chemistry including: Bioenergetics; Cell Architecture and Function; Lipids Carbohydrates Membranes and Membrane Proteins; Metabolism Vitamins and Hormones; Molecular Biology; Protein/Enzyme Structure Function and Degradation; and Signaling. {RG 12/17/13}
    Date: 2013
  • Dictionary of Scientific Biography (complete) [via Gale Virtual Reference Library]  Icon
    This classic encyclopedia covering scientists from all time periods and all fields of science has been completely revised. This "complete" online version includes all the entries from both the new (2008) edition and the original edition.

Handbooks and Tables

  • Handbook of Toxicology [BIOMEDICALSCIENCEnetBASE]  
      
      Icon
    3rd edition. This extensive 1,000+ page handbook "provides an updated practical reference source for practicing toxicologists in the pharmaceutical and chemical industries, contract laboratories, regulatory agencies, and academia. Written by experts in their specific toxicology fields, the chapters provide both fundamental and applied information. Topics range from General Toxicology, to Genetic Toxicology, Human Clinical Toxicology, Histopathology, Clinical Pathology, Metabolism and Toxicokinetics, Risk Assessment, and more."
  • Merck Index: an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals
    The Merck Index contains over 11,000 entries (referred to as monographs) mostly for single substances and related compounds (isomers, salts, etc.). Some families of natural products and biological substances are included as well. Data provided include: chemical, generic, and brand names; CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry numbers; physical data and literature references; structures and stereochemistry; toxicity; and information on therapeutic and non-medicinal uses.

    The Merck Index Online also includes sections on: organic name reactions, and additional tables. The Merck Index can be searched by structure with installation of a free ChemDraw plug-in available on the structure search page. {RG 12/18/13}
    Merck User Help Guides
    •Also in print Shields Ready Ref (1st Flr Ref) & PSE Reference (Chem Ref Table) RS 51 .M4 -- 2013 on order (Shields) & 1996 (PSE)
  • Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)
    Free, up-to-date MSDSs (Material Safety Data Sheets) provided by manufacturers. {RG 12/18/13}
    MSDS via ChemQuick
  • RightAnswer® Knowledge Solutions [MicroMedex]  Icon
    NOTE: Individual registration required--although access is free to UC Davis affiliated users.

    Includes information (some full-text) on thousands of potentially hazardous chemicals, focusing on effects of hazardous substances on humans and the environment. Most information duplicates what is already in TOXNET but the major resource unique to RightAnswer is RTECS (Registry of the Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances). {RG 12/18/13}
  • Household Products Database
    Provides information on many common household products which includes: a listing of chemical ingredients (with CAS number), health effects, handling, disposal, and manufacturer (with contact information). Can be searched by: brand name, chemical name, health effects, type of product, manufacturer, product category or alphabetical list of products. {RG 12/18/13}
    How To Search the Household Products Database
  • Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials  Icon
    The primary source for those who need to evaluate the hazardous potential of substances used in commerce. Combines data on toxicological, flammability, reactivity, explosive potential, and regularity information on approximately 26,000 substances, including 2600 new entries. Also includes Immediately Dangerous Life or Health (IDLH) levels for approximately 1,000 chemicals. It also covers exposure-level classifications for a number of regulatory agencies, from OSHA to the U.S. Department of Transportation. Especially important in areas of industrial hygiene, safety, emergency response, law, and policy making. {Added RG 12/18/13}
    Date: 2005
  • CHEMnetBASE [via CRC Press]  Icon
    Collection of searchable major chemical reference works. {RG 12/17/13}
    Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD)Includes Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs (formerly Pharmasource), Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, and Dictionary of Organic Compounds
    CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
    Dictionary of Carbohydrates
    Dictionary of Food Compounds
    Dictionary of Natural Products
    Dictionary of Marine Natural Products
    Properties of Organic Compounds
    Polymers: A Property Database

Images

  • Open-i
    Author: National Library of Medicine
    This open-access biomedical image search engine in is Beta test but has good retrievals for most major biomedical topics. Open-i helps "users retrieve not only the MEDLINE citation information, but also the outcome statements in the article and the most relevant figure from it. Further, it is possible to use the figure as a query component to find other relevant images or other visually similar images." {RG 12/16/13}
  • AP Images [via EBSCO]  Icon
    This site is an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the Associated Press news service, historic images. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards and all include descriptive captions and source information.
    Coverage: 1844-present; current file contains 1995-present

Guides to Electronic, Print and Other Resources

  • Environmental Health and Toxicology Portal [SIS]
    Free portal which organizes topic pages on Chemicals and Drugs, Diseases and the Environment, Environmental Health, Occupational Safety and Health, Poisoning, Risk Assessment and Regulations, Toxicology, and Pesticide Exposure. User-focused portals for the Public, Researchers/Scientists, Health Professionals, Students/Educators, and Emergency Responders. Includes excellent Reference tools section with AtoZ list of resources. {RG 12/18/13)
  • Chemical Info. Sources/SIRCh/Chem. Safety Searches & Toxicology Searches
    Includes material safety data sheets, guides to chemical safety, toxicology information, environmental sources, laws and regulations. {RG 12/18/13}
  • Toxicology: Open Directory Project
    Highly selective guide to free Web resources and websites on topics such as ecotoxicology and medical toxicology. Includes information on associations and education and also provides related topics links. {RG 12/18/13}
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip