This is the "Online Library Instruction: getting there from here" page of the "SLA Poster: Online Library Instruction" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

SLA Poster: Online Library Instruction  

A strategy for presenting Short Effective Videos in a Targeted Playlist to make online library instruction available using available tools. A poster presented by Cory Craig at SLA 6/10/13.
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/sla Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Online Library Instruction: getting there from here Print Page
  Search: 
 

Targeted Playlist

Targeted Playlist 

What It Is: 

  • a web page listing online resources (videos, PDFs, etc.) selected to meet specific needs of an identified user group.   Created in LibGuides.

    
Why it matters:   

  • Allows librarians to create a curated list of online instruction resources
  • Resources are more likely to be used because they address the needs of the target group

 
Essential features:  

  • Title & Summary:  Should provide clear, concise descriptions of the resource & what it teaches.
  • Add/Change Resource Title: to fit your playlist theme if necessary  “SciFinder: How to Find Articles” is “renamed” for this reason.
  • Persistent URLs (PURLs):  will allow you to replace outdated resources  with new ones, as needed, without changing all pages containing the link.   See:  http://purl.oclc.org/docs/index.html
  • Resources can be created by you, your institution, vendors, or other sources
  • Faculty can choose which resources to assign based on course objectives & instruction goals
  • Students are referred back to the playlist for additional instruction on related topics

Short Effective Videos

Short Effective Videos 

  • Short focused videos are more likely to be viewed
  • 2 minutes or less is a good guideline
  • Created in Camtasia, posted on YouTube

 
Essential features:  

  • Concise, well-thought out script (narrative)
  • Shot sequence (video) closely tied to script
  • Clean production and quality editing   
  • A  two minute video can require 3-5 hours to develop, record & edit
  • Consider developing criteria to clarify when it is worthwhile to devote the required resources.
  • Camtasia provides excellent video software  ($180 educational price).  Tutorials: http://www.techsmith.com/tutorial-camtasia-8.html

How To Keep Your Videos Short

How To Keep Your Videos Short 

  • Any topic can be divided into smaller subtopics that can be addressed in short videos  (2-4 minutes).  
    Example: “How to Search the Catalog” becomes:
    • Catalog: how to find books by title
    • Catalog: how to find books by topic
    • Catalog: how to find journals     
    • Catalog: browse search,   etc.
  • Present the subtopics together in a “How to Search the Catalog” playlist

 

Resources for Online Library Instruction

Resources for Online Library Instruction


Broad Topic Resource What Is It?
What It Covers
Library
Basics
How to Use the VPN:
Off-Campus Access to Library Resources
video
1:58 min:sec
How to access online journals and library databases from off-campus via the VPN.
Finding
Articles
Finding Articles:
How to Choose an Article Database

video
2:11 min:sec

How to find article databases by using the library Subject Guides and Databases A-Z web pages

Finding Articles:
Using Web of Science
video
1:58 min:sec
Briefly covers: using Web of Science to find articles; using UC-eLinks to obtain articles; and emailing, saving, or printing PDF's.
Finding Review Articles:
Using Web of Science
video
2:34 min:sec

How to use Web of Science to find review articles.  Review articles summarize what is known about a topic, this can be very helpful with undergraduate research papers. 

 Chemistry


Broad Topic Resource What Is It?
What It Covers
SciFinder SciFinder:
How to Find Articles
interactive
video

15 min
“Introduction to Reference Searching” covers: finding articles by topic and author; navigating, sorting and refining results.  Created by Chemical Abstracts Service.
SciFinder
SciFinder:
Introduction to Substance Searching

interactive
video
15 min

How to search for chemical substances by chemical name and CAS Registry Number.  Also covers: viewing substance spectra and properties, and substructure searching.  Created by Chemical Abstracts Service.

SciFinder

SciFinder:
Introduction to Reaction Searching
interactive
video
15 min
How to search by chemical reaction. Covers: limiting results; specifying reaction role, and viewing experimental procedures. 
Created by Chemical Abstracts Service.
SciFinder

SciFinder:  
How to Create a Keep Me Posted (KMP) Alert

     PDF, 5 pgs

   video,  5 min

 

PDF, 5 pgs

SciFinder's Keep Me Posted (KMP) alert allows you to save a search specific to your interests, and have it run automatically either weekly or monthly.  You get an email notification when citations matching your search criteria are added to SciFinder.
Created by Chemical Abstracts Service. 

interactive video
5 min

Criteria for Making Videos: When it's worth the time

My Criteria for Making Videos: When it's Worth the Time
 

The Video:  

  • Focuses on a high use resource
  • Topic can be addressed effectively in a short video  (1-3 minutes)
  • Interface/platform being demonstrated does not change significantly with no notice
  • Does not require a new series of videos every year (i.e. Endnote)
  • Videos are posted on YouTube, easily accessible, and well-publicized
  • Statistics are maintained and reviewed

Contact Info

Poster presented at Special Libraries Association (SLA) 2013 Annual Meeting, 6/10/13. 

Contact Info:
Cory Craig     cjcraig@ucdavis.edu
University of CA, Davis
Physical Sciences & Engineering Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip