- Congressional Budget Office
Congressional Budget Office (CBO) produces independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process.
- CQ Press Library/Political Reference Suite
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Electronic Library includes many resources for the study of current and historical congressional and American government issues. The CQ Researcher
is an invaluable source of background information on topical issues since 1923. The Global Researcher is similar to CQ Researcher but with an international orientation. CQ Weekly Report
, available starting in 1983, reports in depth on congressional activities and political developments.
Also included is the Politics in America
, with information about members of congress and their districts. Additional online books are excellent references about U.S. politics, voting, congress and government.
- Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports Digital Collection (via Proquest Congressional)
Congressional Research Service Reports 2004-2010. Part of the Proquest Congressional selection of databases licensed by UCD. For dates either before or after those contained in this set, see free sites.
- CRS - Congressional Research Service Reports
Congressional Research Service prepares reports at the request of Members but does not provide public access. Some Members and non-profit groups have posted the reports. This site provides searchable and browseable access to many of those reports
- CRS - Open CRS
Searchable database with more than 8,000 congressional Research Service reports released by members of Congress (CRS reports are not otherwise made public). From the Center for Democracy and Technology
- CRS Reports from the National Council for Science and the Environment
Find full text Congressional Research Service Reports about the environment and related issues through this free site.
- Government Accountability Office
U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars. GAO produces many important reports and analyses on topical issues.
GovTrack is a mashup that helps track representatives in Congress or to research pending legislation.
- Green Book::Committee on Ways and Means, U.S. House of Representatives
The Green Book presents background material and statistical data on the major entitlement programs and other activities within the Committee's jurisdiction.
U.S. national, political news and information. Includes articles from the NJ Magazine
, a Daybook, column articles and more.The Almanac of American Politics
is particularly useful. It contains profiles of current members of congress.
- PAIS International Database [via Proquest]
Indexes resources in the area of public affairs and public policy including journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents. Topics include agriculture, banking, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, law, legislation, political science, social sciences, and statistics.
Coverage is from 1915 to present.
- Proquest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional)
Provides detailed indexing from 1789 forwards for publications of Congress: documents, reports, hearings, unpublished hearing transcripts, laws and regulations, plus legislative histories and information on members of Congress. Proquest Congressional also includes the digital U.S. Congressional hearings collection from 1824-1979. Full text for congressional committee documents and reports is included from 1990 to current. Congressional hearings and other documents provide insight into the legislative intent by recording testimony.
- California Legislative Analyst Office
The LAO is California government nonpartisan fiscal and policy advisor.
- California Research Bureau Reports
(CRB) provides nonpartisan research services to the Governor and his staff, to both houses of the legislature, and to other state elected officials.
- Little Hoover Commission
The Little Hoover Commission is an independent state oversight agency that was created in 1962. The Commission's mission is to investigate state government operations and – through reports, recommendations and legislative proposals – promote efficiency, economy and improved service.
- Public Policy Institute of California
Public Policy Institute of California (PPIC) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank. They publish reports in various topic areas.
- Senate Office of Research
Publications in different policy areas are available from this non partisan research office in the California Senate.
- Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
the Center conducts research and analysis to help shape public debates over proposed budget and tax policies and to help ensure that policymakers consider the needs of low-income families and individuals in these debates.
OpenCongress is a free, open-source, not-for-profit, and non-partisan public resource website. It brings together official government data with news coverage, blog posts, public comments, and more to give you the real story behind what's happening in Congress.
The Center for Responsive Politics is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit research organization that tracks money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy. The Center, with its Open Secrets site, aims to create more educated voter, an involved citizenry and a more transparent and responsive government.
- Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
- Policy Agendas Project
The Project maintains data sets that allow comparing policy activity on a number of topics over time.
- Policy Archive
Policy Archive is an open digital archive of foundation-funded and other public policy research.
- Rand Croporation
Rand is a non-profit organization. More than 10,000 RAND reports and commentary are available online.