- PAIS International Database [via Proquest]
Indexes resources in the area of public affairs and public policy including journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents. Topics include agriculture, banking, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, law, legislation, political science, social sciences, and statistics.
Coverage is from 1915 to present.
- CQ Press Library/Political Reference Suite
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Electronic Library includes many resources for the study of current and historical congressional and American government issues. The CQ Researcher
is an invaluable source of background information on topical issues since 1923. The Global Researcher is similar to CQ Researcher but with an international orientation. CQ Weekly Report
, available starting in 1983, reports in depth on congressional activities and political developments.
Also included is the Politics in America
, with information about members of congress and their districts. Additional online books are excellent references about U.S. politics, voting, congress and government.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [via Proquest]
Covers international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration policy.
Coverage is: 1975 to present
- SAGE-Full Text: Political Science Journals
Search the full text of journals in the field of Political Science. All journals published by Sage.
- U.S. Political Stats
U.S. Political Stats contains over 225,000 data series--or data measures over time about people, places, and policies--across 10 distinct political science data categories, aligned with a typical political science curriculum. The data series span as far back as 1982, and are updated on a timely basis in accordance with the collection and publication schedules of original sources. Detailed source information, with links where applicable, is provided for every data series.
- Academic Search Complete [via EBSCO]
The multi-disciplinary database Academic Search Complete (ASC) provides full-text access to more than thousands of periodicals, including many peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for an additional journals and publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage comes from all fields, including the social sciences.
- LexisNexis Academic
A large collection of full text news and articles from the U.S. and and global sources. Transcripts from major news media shows are included. Also includes U.S. and International (Canadian and EU) legal resources and it's an excellent source for business news and company reports.
These are selected Social Science and databases useful for political research. Most of the databases include journal articles, some include reports from NGO's and other sources. Check individual subject guides for more detailed lists of related databases.
- Business Source Complete [via Ebsco]
Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database.
- Econlit [via Proquest]
A comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature compiled from the American Economic Association's Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory and financial institutions; labor economics; international, regional, urban economics; and other related subjects.
- Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
EIU Country Profiles and Reports provide objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment in more than 180 countries. Annual profiles are updated by quarterly reports.
Full-text database of US legal periodicals. Includes the following sections: Law Journal Library (Comprised of Most-Cited Law Journals, Core U.S. Law Journals and International & Non-U.S. Law Journals); Federal Register Library (1936-1989); U.S. Supreme Court Library; and Treaties and Agreements Library, the Statutes at Large (1789-), U.S. Code (1924-)
Licensed through UCD Law Library.
- Historical Abstracts [via EBSCO]
Citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America:history and life.) Indexes more than 2000 journals worldwide.
- Homeland Security Digital Library
The HSDL is a service of the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security. The collection includes thousands of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities. It is available to campus users.
- International Relations and Security Network (ISN)
ISN is an open source digital library of reports, studies, etc. from think tanks, research institutes and NGOs from around the globe. The ISN is hosted by ETH in Zurich.
U.S. national, political news and information. Includes articles from the NJ Magazine
, a Daybook, column articles and more.The Almanac of American Politics
is particularly useful. It contains profiles of current members of congress.
- Social Science Citation Index [via Web of Knowledge]
The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It is particularly suited to trace citations to authors and articles across publications. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
Related: Online tutorial
For help in using the Web of Knowledge Citation indexes.
- Social Sciences Research Network / Economic Research Network (SSRN/ERN)
A world wide collaborative of scholars that is devoted dissemination of social science research. It is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
- Sociological Abstracts [via Proquest]
Prime resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
The UC Davis Mabie Law Library is a separate library located in King Hall. The Law Library uses a different online catalog.