Citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Link to tutorial on Using PubMed for Nurses: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/nurses/cover.html
- Ovid MEDLINE
This is Ovid's search interface to the MEDLINE database. See the information on PubMed above. MEDLINE is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Coverage: 1946-present
- CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
References and abstracts on nursing, biomedical, allied health and consumer health literature. Also includes health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based care sheets.
Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research and conference abstracts. Embase contains over 22 million records spanning 1974-present, with over 1 million records added annually. The Embase journal collection is international with over 7,500 active peer-reviewed journals more than 90 countries. All MEDLINE records produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) are included, as well as over 5 million records not covered in MEDLINE.
Coverage: 1974-current (for EMBASE records); 1966-current (for MEDLINE records)
- Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) Database of Evidence Based Practice
The Joanna Briggs Institute’s Evidence Based Practice database of systematic reviews complements those found in the Cochrane Library. The Joanna Briggs Institute, an international not-for-profit research and development organization, “develops evidence in various formats for nursing, allied health and medical professionals as well as support information for consumers.” It was established in Adelaide, South Australia in 1996, and collaborates internationally with over 70 entities world-wide. What is included in the Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database: The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP database is a comprehensive range of resources including over 3,000 records across seven publication types: *Evidence Summaries — Literature reviews that summarize existing international literature on common healthcare interventions and activities *Evidence-Based Recommended Practices — Database of procedures that describe and/or recommend practice on various clinical topics *Best Practice Informa
Scopus, a large interdisciplinary resource, indexes, selectively abstracts and provides citation analysis for approximately 20,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 international publishers, as well as 2,600 open access journals, published sets of conference proceedings, trade publications and millions of selected web pages. Scopus’ 50 million records consist of: 29 million records, including references, going back to 1995 (84% include abstracts)and 21 million pre-1996 records going back as far as 1823. Scopus also cross-searches 25.2 million patents from five patent offices (US Patent & Trademark Office, European Patent Office, Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office) Coverage extends across disciplines in the life and health sciences, the physical sciences, the social sciences and the arts and humanities. Scopus also provides tools designed to support research collaboration and assess journal quality.
- SportDiscus [via EBSCO]
PLEASE NOTE: only 4 simultaneous user access -- please EXIT when finished.
SPORTDiscus is the world's leading database in sport, health, fitness and sports medicine. SportDiscus has over 1.5 million qualified references from thousands of international periodicals, books, e-journals, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations, and websites that focus on different areas involving sport, including: sport sciences, engineering, psychology, administration, sociology, history, coaching, training, physical education, physical fitness, health and recreation.
- Web of Science [via Web of Knowledge]
Provides access to the content from three Thomson Reuters ISI (Institute for Scientific Information) Citation Databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Coverage: 1900-present [Science 1899-, Social Sciences 1900-, Arts & Humanities 1975-]
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature on the web, including "peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports..from a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities." Often articles cited in Google Scholar results are available to UC Davis users through electronic journal and database subscriptions that the Library has licensed and paid for.
- Cochrane Library
A collection of databases containing the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, the Cochrane Review Methodology Database and information about the Cochrane Collaboration
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments [via Ovid] (HAPI)
HAPI is an index to journal articles and other sources about measurement tools used in in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI includes citations to questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests.
Coverage: 1985 to date, with many earlier measures
- PsycINFO [via Proquest]
PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations and even important internet sites in psychology and related disciplines, most with abstracts and some citations.
- PAIS International Database [via Proquest]
Indexes all types of materials in the area of public affairs and public policy - journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents. Topics include agriculture, banking, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, law, legislation, political science, social sciences, and statistics.
- Dissertation Abstracts International / Dissertations & Theses [via ProQuest]
Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations (for non-UC dissertations provides free access to 20% of the document, and allows purchase of remaining content). Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.
- Dissertations & Theses @ University of California
This is a subset of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses International. It is comprised only of those dissertations and theses completed in the UC System. Access to the full text of the dissertations and theses is available through this database.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations
OATD currently indexes over 1.5 million open access international graduate theses and dissertations.
Metadata from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions.
- Nursing Commons
Open Access repository containing theses, dissertations, DNP capstone projects, and other content from selected institutions
- Global Health [via OvidSP]
"Global Health brings together the resources of two internationally renowned databases - the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS. Global Health provides an alternative, complementary point of reference with a broad analysis of foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health, developing country information, and other difficult to obtain material."
UpToDate is a point of care clinical medicine database, providing coverage of over 8500 topics in 17 medical specialties and includes over 97,000 pages of text. From the "About UpToDate" webpage: "Our physician editors and authors review and update our content continuously. An updated version of UpToDate is released every four months."
- ProQuest Statistical Insight
ProQuest Statistical Insight combines Index and abstract records previously available from print indexes: American Statistics Index (ASI) from 1973, and Index to International Statistics (IIS)from 1980. ProQuest Statistical Insight enables searching indexes and tables for statistics produced by the U.S. government and major international organizations. The database includes some statistical tables as well as abstracts, or summaries, of statistical publications. The Library has many of the publications indexed in print or electronic format.
- Compendex [via Engineering Village 2]
Relevant to nursing for informatics related issues such as the technical aspects of the EMR, decision support applications, etc.
Most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature (including computer science and informatics), containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [via Proquest]
The ERIC Database indexes and abstracts education and education related journals, studies and reports, with links to full-text studies and reports from 1993 forward.
- LexisNexis Academic
One of the largest web-based full-text databases for current news, business and legal information, supporting a broad range of interdisciplinary research, LexisNexis Academic provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 individual titles. Includes a wide range of U.S. and foreign newspapers, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs. Business resources include business articles, accounting literature, company financial information. Legal resources include state and federal laws and regulations, a full range of case law, and law review articles