- Archives Hub
"The Archives Hub enables you to search across descriptions of archives held at over 250 institutions across the UK. "
- Archives Portal Europe
"The Archives Portal Europe provides access to information on archival material from different European countries as well as information on archival institutions throughout the continent."
- Art History Bibliography [Oxford Bibliographies Online]
Art history is a vast discipline, geographically, historically, and intellectually. This bibliography serves as a guide to the key works in all areas of the discipline.
A rapidly growing collection of peer-reviewed, life science protocols organized by 11 different fields of study and 10 different organisms. Protocols are organized chronologically with a detailed guide on how to reproduce a given experiment. Each protocol also contains an interactive and moderated Q & A section to facilitate open communication between protocol authors and the research community. Coverage: Jan 2011 – present.
- British Periodicals Part 1 [via ProQuest]
"This resource offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for more than 160 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries."
- California Language Archive
A catalog and online archive of the indigenous languages of California, western North America, and the Americas.
- China, America and the Pacific [via Adam Matthew]
A full-text collection containing "an extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. [It includes] Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps"
- Chinese Painting and Calligraphy [via Seattle Art Museum]
The Museum's "collection of 152 Chinese painting and calligraphy has never been studied in depth and is heretofore largely unpublished. For the first time, it is being introduced and made universally accessible through this newly developed online catalogue, which features thoughtful and provocative essays about major works by renowned scholars, with high-resolution, zoom-able images of the works of art, and thorough documentation—including transcriptions and translations of inscriptions and colophons, and seals which are transcribed, identified and located."
- Colonial State Papers [viaProQuest]
"Colonial State Papers provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.
Also included is a digitised version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents."
- Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports Digital Collection (via Proquest Congressional)
Congressional Research Service Reports 2004-2010. Part of the Proquest Congressional selection of databases licensed by UCD. For dates either before or after those contained in this set, see free sites.
- Copyright [via University of California]
"As both creators and users of copyrighted and public domain materials, members of the UC academic community should understand and responsibly exercise the rights accorded them under U.S. copyright law.
The information provided on this site is intended as a guide to copyright at the University of California, and should not be taken as legal advice."
- Dictionary of National Biography [via Oxford University Press]
"The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of [nearly 60,000] men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors." It also has over 500 theme articles.
The DNB is licensed for a limited number of simultaneous users. Please log out when you are do so others can get in.
- Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2010 [via Gale]
"The Economist Historical Archive ('EHA') is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. Containing every issue since its launch in 1843 and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys. "
- GTD Global Terrorism Database
The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2013 (with additional annual updates planned for the future). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as transnational and international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 125,000 cases. For each GTD incident, information is available on the date and location of the incident, the weapons used and nature of the target, the number of casualties, and--when identifiable--the group or individual responsible.
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers--19th and 20th Centuries Century [via ProQuest]
"The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are vital to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world." This database offers the searchable full text of all House of Commons Sessional Papers from 1801-2003/04 combined with an extensive subject index to the papers. (HCPP)Includes all the "sessional papers" of the British Parliament: bills, reports of committees, papers presented by Royal Commissions and government departments, treaties and international agreements, command papers, and statistics.
It also includes the full text from "Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament," from both the House of Commons and House of Lords, from 1803 to 2005.
- Indigenous Peoples: North America [via Gale]
"The archive includes extensive monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections" It "sources collections from across Canadian and American institutions, providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century."
- JSTOR Global Plants
Collection of more than 2 million digitized plant type specimens from herbaria around the world including UC Davis. Also contains photographs, artwork and links to taxonomic literature. Search or browse by resource type, geography, collection or herbarium.
- Making of the Modern World [via Gale]
"The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth from 1450-1914."
Map USA provides maps and census data at the tract and county level from 1940 to 2000. It is a project designed and hosted at Brown University. 2010 data has also been added.
PhilPapers uses advanced trawling techniques, along with wide-ranging crowd-sourcing, to monitor all sources of research content in philosophy. Includes journals, books, personal pages, and open access archives. Our index currently includes 1,112,068 research books and articles. Over 5,000 individuals have contributed content to our index.
Contains more than 350,000 citations to literature from across core areas of agricultural science, including 40,000 full-text articles authored by USDA researchers. Produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL), a part of the USDA's Agricultural Research Service (ARS).
Coverage: 1997 -present
- Sabin Americana: 1500-1926 [via Gale]
"Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere."
- Slavery & Anti-Slavery a Transnational Archive [via Gale]
UCDavis subscribes to part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, and part III: The Institution of Slavery of this resource. These components of Slavery and Anti-Slavery include collections on the transatlantic slave trade and the legal and economic aspects of the slavery system from the sixteenth through the nineteenth centuries.
Statista is a statistics portal that provides data on many different topics from more than 18,000 different sources. Topics include agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more. Sources are government agencies and business sources. The focus on current (not historical) statistics.
Data are downloadable in Excel, PowerPoint, and JPG.
- Statistical Abstracts of the World [Proquest Online]
This resource aggregates the statistical abstracts of more than 50 countries and makes the content available through a single-search interface. These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere.
Also includes data from the United Nations Demographic Yearbook, World Development Indicators, and Key Figures on Europe.
- TAIR (The Arabidopsis Information Resource)
Genetic and molecular biology database for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana. This database includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure and gene expression data. Gene product function data is updated weekly from the literature and community submissions. TAIR provides linkouts to related resources, an index of Arabidopsis literature, and other resources for researchers using this model organism.
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2009 [via Gale]
"The complete online fully-searchable edition of the TLS from the first edition in 1902 onwards. . . Since 1902, the TLS has scrutinized, applauded and dissected the work of leading writers and thinkers, offering comprehensive coverage of the most important publications, in every subject, in several languages, as well as reviewing current theatre, cinema, music, and exhibitions."
- Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War [via ProQuest]
"These magazines were written by and for every type of unit from every combatant nation. As such they contain the hitherto unheard voices of hundreds of thousands of men and women writing from every facet of the conflict. . . Although the majority of journals that have survived originate from units based on the Western Front in France and Belgium, there are also magazines from units serving on the Eastern Front, in Gallipoli, Palestine, Mesopotamia, Egypt, Italy, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, India, Britain and America.
This collection contains over 1,500 trench journal titles sourced from leading archives around the world including those of the Imperial War Museums and The British Library."