This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "Neurobiology and Physiology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Neurobiology and Physiology  

Last Updated: Jul 11, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/neurobio_physiol Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Specific Databases

  • SPORTDiscus [via EBSCO]  Icon
    SPORTDiscus is the world's leading database in sport, health, fitness and sports medicine. SportDiscus has over 1.7 million qualified references from thousands of international periodicals, books, e-journals, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations, and websites that focus on different areas involving sport, including: sport sciences, engineering, psychology, administration, sociology, history, coaching, training, physical education, physical fitness, health and recreation. {Added related info RG 12/17/13}
    Coverage: 1800-Present
    Saving Search and Alerting Functions (Guide) Click on Document Download link to obtain the 17-page MS Word document

Generalized Databases

  • BIOSIS Previews [via Web of Science]  
      
      Icon
    More than 23 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
    Coverage: 1926-present
    Quick Reference Card: BIOSIS Previews
    Online BIOSIS information
    Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
  • PubMed  
      
      Icon
    More than 23 million citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine on the NCBI platform. {RG 12/12/13}
    Coverage: 1946-present
    PubMed Tutorial & more
    Alerts/Automatic Updating Service (Saving & Managing Searches)
    NLM Searching PubMed with Mesh tri-fold handout [PDF]
    NLM PubMed Basics tri-fold handout [PDF]
  • Embase  
      
      Icon
    Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research and conference abstracts. Embase contains over 22 million records, with over 1 million records added annually. The Embase journal collection is international with over 7,500 active peer-reviewed journals more than 90 countries. {RG 12/17/13}
    Coverage: 1974-current (for EMBASE records); 1966-current
    Embase Getting Started videos
    Saved Searches/Alerts/Automatic Updating Service
    Embase Indexing (Emtree)
  • Science Citation Index Expanded [via Web of Science]  
      
      Icon
    Multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the peer-reviewed journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 6,650 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Search for articles that cite a known author or work.
    Coverage: 1900-present
    Quick Reference Guide: Web of Science Core Collection
    How to create Author Citation Reports
    Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
    Creating a Citation Alert
  • WorldCat [via FirstSearch/OCLC]  Icon
    OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
    Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present
  • Dissertation Abstracts International / Dissertations & Theses [via ProQuest]  Icon
    Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations. Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.
    Publication date coverage: 1861-present
  • Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) [via OvidSP]  Icon
    NOTE: There are a limited number of simultaneous users >> please LOGOFF when finished. HAPI is an index to journal articles and other sources about measurement tools used in in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI includes citations to questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests. It is an excellent source for locating or reviewing health and psychosocial measurement instruments. {RG 12/17/13}
    Coverage: 1985 to date, with many earlier measures
    Database Guide
    Saved Searches/Alerts/Automatic Updating Service
  • Optics InfoBase  Icon
    Optical Society of America digital publications on optics research, including journals and proceedings papers. {RG 12/17/13}
    Optics ImageBank Over 200,000 images from OSA’s core journals hosted on OSA’s Digital Library, Optics InfoBase
  • F1000Prime  Icon
    F1000Prime is a "literature awareness tool ... [which] comprehensively and systematically highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological and medical sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of leading researchers. Through immediate rating of individual papers by the authors' peers, F1000 [Prime] highlights papers on the basis of their scientific merit rather than that of the journal in which they appear."

    Faculty of 1000 (F1000) Biology & Medicine are merged into one and now called F1000Prime. Includes over 40 Faculties (Broad subject areas such as biochemistry, ecology or plant biology), which are further subdivided into over 300 Sections. On average, 1,500 new evaluations are published each month. Faculty members are more than 5,000 experts worldwide (assisted by 5,000 associates) and assess articles from more than 3,500 peer-review journals. {RG 12/11/13}
    F1000Prime Tour

Electronic Book and Document Collections

  • BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE [via CRCnetBASE]  Icon
    This full-text collection includes over 500 titles in bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biomedical imaging, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology, neuropsychology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology. {RG 12/17/13}
    Collection Scope
  • Electronic books in the Biological and Health Sciences  
      
    Author: [Compiled by the UCD Carlson Health Sciences Library]
    Subject listing of electronic books (handbooks, textbooks, guides) in basic biological and related health sciences disciplines/specialties and subdisciplines/subspecialties. Includes online books in general biology, biochemistry, endrocrinology & metabolism, genetics, microbiology & virology, molecular biology, neurology, nutrition, physiology, toxicology and veterinary medicine. All books are searchable at chapter-level.
  • Springer eBooks Package  Icon
    UC-wide licensed three-year (2013-2015) package for Springer eBooks and includes more than 55,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. {RG 12/11/13}
    Coverage: 2005-2014
  • Journal Citation Reports (JCR)  Icon
    Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort. {RG 12/11/13}
    Coverage: 2007-2012
    Information for New JCR Users
    Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
    Using JCR Wisely
  • Safari Tech Books Online  Icon
    A collection of computing books that includes the full text of over 300 O'Reilly Press books dating from 2004 to the present. Safari will grow to include all new O'Reilly titles, including the popular In a Nutshell books on important computing topics. The full-text is searchable across titles and searches can be limited to code fragments. Books can also be browsed by topic. Books can be read online, or individual chapter sections can be printed out or emailed. Access is limited to 28 simultaneous UC connections.
    Coverage: 2004-present.
    RSS feed of new titles in Safari

Protocols and Methods Resources

  • Current Protocols Series [Wiley]  Icon
    Ten major laboratory methods and protocols series covering the areas of molecular biology, nucleic acid chemistry, cell biology, protein science, immunology, neuroscience, human genetics, pharmacology, toxicology, and cytometry. Includes basic, alternate, and support protocols with literature cited and information on suppliers for standard materials and preparation information for reagents and solutions. IMPORTANT NOTE: UC Davis does *NOT* license the following seven protocol titles: "Bioinformatics", "Chemical Biology", "Essential Laboratory Techniques", "Magnetic Resonance Imaging", "Microbiology", "Mouse Biology" (new with very little content) and "Stem Cell Biology".
    Coverage: Updated quarterly or more frequently {RG 12/11/13}
  • Springer Protocols  Icon
    Springer Protocols contains more than 31,000 (as of March 2013) molecular biology and biomedical peer-reviewed protocols, mostly from the classic series Methods in Molecular Biology, formerly published by Humana Press. Other series included are: Methods in Molecular Medicine; Methods in Biotechnology; Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology; and Neuromethods. Also included are protocols from laboratory handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.
    Coverage: 1980-present {RG 12/11/13}
    Ten-page User Guide
  • Cold Spring Harbor Protocols  Icon
    A definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database covers specific sections on: Antibodies, Bioinformatics/Genomics, Cell Biology, Chromatography, Computational Biology, DNA Delivery/Gene Transfer, Electrophoresis, Genetics, High-Throughput Analysis, Imaging/Microscopy, Immunology, Laboratory Organisms, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Plant Biology, Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR), Proteins and Proteomics, RNA Interference (RNAi)/siRNA, Stem Cells, and Transgenic Technology. Unique to this resource is the ability to submit a protocol. Other unique features include protocol recipes and protocol cautions. Coverage: 2006-present {RG 12/11/13}
    Search Help
  • Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)  Icon
    Author: MYJoVE Corporation
    Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format. {RG 12/11/13}
    June 2013: COMPLETE ACCESS to all sections (General and all subsection) now licensed
  • Methods in Enzymology [Science Direct -- Elsevier]  Icon
    Methods in Enzymology is the classic laboratory methods/protocols book series. The complete backfile of the full-text is available back to volume 1 from 1955. Direct article/chapter links are provided from core subject databases such as PubMed and BIOSIS Previews. Contains detailed protocols and descriptions of biochemical and biophysical techniques for research in biological and molecular sciences. More than 300 volumes are browse-able by individual volumes online from 1955 to the present or by searching across the collection by title, author, abstract, and keyword. Full-text access to articles is available in HTML and PDF formats. {RG 12/111/13}
  • Bio-protocol
    A rapidly growing collection of peer-reviewed, life science protocols organized by 11 different fields of study and 10 different organisms. Protocols are organized chronologically with a detailed guide on how to reproduce a given experiment. Each protocol also contains an interactive and moderated Q & A section to facilitate open communication between protocol authors and the research community. Coverage: Jan 2011 – present.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

  • Encyclopedia of Behavioral Neuroscience [Science Direct -- Elsevier]  Icon
    Author: Editors-in-Chief: George F. Koob, Michel Le Moal and Richard F. Thompson
    This encyclopedia incorporates research on "the behavior of animals and humans and the neurobiological and physiological processes that control it". This three-volume set covers all areas of behavioral neuroscience with a total of 210 chapters.

    Topics range from: Addiction; Animal Models of Behavior; Behavioral Genetics; Brain Aging; Brain Structure & Function; Cognitive Neuroscience; Disease & Dysfunction; Developmental Biology; Emotion & Emotional Behavior; Ethology & Neuroethology; Evolution & Comparative Biology; History; Language & Communication; Learning & Memory; Molecular Neurobiology; Motivation & Reward; Motor Systems & Motor Control; Neuroplasticity; Psychoneuroendocrinology; Reproductive, Parental & Sexual behavior; Sensation & Perception; Sleeping, Waking & Arousal; Social Behavior/Cognition; and Stress. {RG 12/11/13}
  • Encyclopedia of Fish Physiology [Science Direct -- Elsevier]  Icon
    Author: Anthony P. Farrell, Editor-in-Chief:
    This new three-volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of fish physiology. Volume 1 covers The Senses, Supporting Tissues, Reproduction, and Behavior; Volume 2 covers Gas Exchange, Internal Homeostatis, and Food Uptake; and Volume 3 covers Energetics, Interactions with the Environment, Lifestyles, and Applications. Over 300 articles are arranged by the above three volume themes rather than alphabetically. Topics cover these aspects of physiology: Reproduction, Respiration, Neural(Sensory, Central, Effector), Endocrinology, Renal, Cardiovascular, Acid-base Balance, Osmoregulation, Ionoregulation, Digestion, Metabolism, Locomotion, Toxicology, Air-breathing, Migrations, Temperature, Endothermy and more. {RG 12/11/13}
  • Dictionary of Scientific Biography (complete) [via Gale Virtual Reference Library]  Icon
    This classic encyclopedia covering scientists from all time periods and all fields of science has been completely revised. This "complete" online version includes all the entries from both the new (2008) edition and the original edition.

Handbooks and Tables

  • Comprehensive Physiology [via Wiley]  Icon
    Author: American Physiological Society
    The most wide-ranging and authoritative collection of review content ever assembled in the physiological sciences, including comparative physiology. Comprehensive Physiology includes the landmark series Handbook of Physiology, available for the first time in an online format. This seminal series will be continually updated and expanded to capture the current science of physiology for a twenty-first-century readership.
    {RG 12/16/13}
  • Handbook of Physiology [Print ONLY]
    Author: American Physiological Society
    Classic and comprehensive multivolume treatise on all aspects of physiology. Contains significant research results with extensive bibliographic references and detailed indexes, authored by physiological scientists worldwide. Divided into 14 sections each with multiple volumes: Section 1: The Nervous System; Section 2: The Cardiovascular System; Section 3: The Respiratory System; Section 4: Environmental Physiology; Section 5: Adipose Tissue; Section 6: The Gastrointestinal System; Section 7: The Endocrine System; Section 8: Renal Physiology; Section 9: Reactions to Environmental Agents; Section 10: Skeletal Muscle; Section 11: Aging; Section 12: Exercise: Regulation and Integration of Multiple Systems; Section 13: Comparative Physiology; Section 14: Cell Physiology. {RG 12/17/13}
    •Print set locations: Shields Library QP 6 .H25; Carlson Health Sciences & Blaisdell Medical Library QT 104 .H231
    •Online: see Comprehensive Physiology

Images

  • Open-i
    Author: National Library of Medicine
    This open-access biomedical image search engine in is Beta test but has good retrievals for most major biomedical topics. Open-i helps "users retrieve not only the MEDLINE citation information, but also the outcome statements in the article and the most relevant figure from it. Further, it is possible to use the figure as a query component to find other relevant images or other visually similar images." {RG 12/16/13}
  • BIODIDAC: A bank of digital resources for teaching biology
    More than 6780 items are arranged in categories of: Eubacteria, Protista , Fungi, Plantae, Animalia, Human Biology, and Histology. In addition to images, video and animations are also included.
    USE INFORMATION from the website: "Copying the material, modifying and adapting it to meet the professor's needs, and subsequent distribution to students is permitted with the condition that this is noncommercial, that the supplier (BIODIDAC) of the material is acknowledged, and that its use is registered."
    NOTE: Some items only described in French. {RG 12/13/13}
    Coverage: 1996-2001
  • AP Images [via EBSCO]  Icon
    This site is an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the Associated Press news service, historic images. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards and all include descriptive captions and source information.
    Coverage: 1844-present; current file contains 1995-present

Guides to Electronic, Print and Other Resources

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip