- American Indian Histories and Cultures [via Adam Matthew]
This full-text collection documents "interactions between American Indians and Europeans [in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico] from their earliest contact, . . .[through] the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century." The documents are drawn from Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library. Also includes maps and images, scholarly essays to provide context and bibliographies to suggest further reading.
- Bibliography of Native North Americans [via Ebsco]
This database contains citations to books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US and Canadian government documents about native peoples of North America published from the Sixteenth Century to the present.
- Early Encounters in North America (EENA): Peoples, Cultures and the Environment [via Alexander Street Press]
EENA contains full text letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters, centered on present-day Canada and the United States with some limited coverage of Mexico. Includes information on the peoples, places, environment, flora and fauna encountered. Of note are more than 9,000 Audubon prints from "The Birds of America" as well as the complete contents of the three-volume "The Quadrupeds of North America".
Coverage: 1534-1959 For help using this database
- America: History and Life [via EBSCO]
Bibliographic database containing citations to articles on American and Canadian history, including ethnic history and relations, from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 journals published worldwide.
- Anthropology Plus [via EBSCO]
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
Date: Late 19th century to present
- Ethnic Newswatch
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States.
- MLA International Bibliography [via Proquest]
The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.
Related: Instructions on downloading filters and importing citations using EndnoteMLA Directory of PeriodicalsQuick Reference Card
- California Language Archive
A catalog and online archive of the indigenous languages of California, western North America, and the Americas.