This is the "Print and Online Reference Resources" page of the "Native American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Native American Studies  

Last Updated: Sep 9, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/native-american Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Print and Online Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

KEY RESOURCES

Biography

Native North American Firsts
Karen Gayton Swisher, AnCita Benally, [editors]. Detroit, MI: Gale, 1998.
HSSGIS Reference, E77 .S96 1998

A to Z of Native American Women
Liz Sonneborn. New York: Facts on File, 1998.
HSSGIS Reference, E98.W8 S65 1998

The Encyclopedia of Native American Biography: Six Hundred Life Stories of Important People from Powhatan to Wilma Mankiller
Bruce E. Johansen and Donald A. Grinde, Jr. New York: Henry Holt and Co., 1997.
HSSGIS Reference, E89 .J69 1997

The ABC-CLIO Companion to the Native American Rights Movement
Mark Grossman. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1996.
HSSGIS Reference, KF8203.36 .G76 1996

Native North American Biography
Edited by Sharon Malinowski and Simon Glickman. New York: UXL, 1996.
HSSGIS Reference, E89 .N395 1996

 Native American Women: a Biographical Dictionary
Gretchen M. Bataille, editor. New York: Garland, 1993.
HSSGIS Reference, E98.W8 B38 1993

Native American Women: A Contextual locationgraphy
Rayna Green. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1983.
 HSSGIS Reference, E98.W8 G75 1983

The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
Edited by Sharon Malinowski. Detroit: Gale, 1998
HSSGIS Reference, E77 .G15 1998 

Anthropology and Ethnography

Encyclopedia of North American Indians.
New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1997.
HSSGIS Reference, E76.2 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of Native American tribes
Carl Waldman. New York, N.Y.: Facts on File, 1988.
 HSSGIS Reference, E76.2 .W35 1988

Chronology of the American Indian: A Guide to Native Peoples of the Western Hemisphere, 25,000 B.C.-1994
Newport Beach, CA: American Indian Publishers, 1994.
HSSGIS Reference, E58 .C49 1994 Lib Use Only

Handbook of the American frontier: Four Centuries of Indian-White Relationships
J. Norman Heard. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1987-1998
HSSGIS Reference, E76.2 .H43 1987

Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico
Frederick Webb Hodge, editor. Washington: GPO, 1907-10.
HSSGIS Reference, E51 .U5 no.30

Handbook of North American Indians
William C. Sturtevant, general editor. Washington: Smithsonian Institution, 1978-
HSSGIS Reference, E77 .H251

Handbook of Middle American Indians.
Robert Wauchope, general editor. Austin: University of Texas Press, [1964-76].
HSSGIS Reference, F1434 .h4

Handbook of South American Indians
Julian H. Steward, editor. Washing: GPO, 1946-59.
HSSGIS Reference, E51 .U5 no.143

Handbook of the Indians of California
A. L. Kroeber. Washingon: GPO, 1925
HSSGIS Reference, E51 .U5 no.78

Supplement to the Handbook of Middle American Indians
Victoria Reifler Bricker, general editor. Austin: University of Texas Press, 1981-
HSSGIS Reference F1434 .h4 suppl.

Culture

Native American Literatures: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes
Kathy J. Whitson. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1999.
HSSGIS Reference, PS153.I52 W47 1999

Contemporary Native American Authors: a Biographical Dictionary
Kay Juricek, Kelly J. Morgan. Golden, Colo.: Fulcrum Pub, 1997.
HSSGIS Reference, PS153.I52 J87 1997

Dictionary of Native American Literature
Andrew Wiget, editor. New York: Garland, 1994.
HSSGIS Reference, PM155 .D53 1994

Native North American Literature: Biographical and Critical Information on Native Writers and Orators from the United States and Canada from Historical Times to the Present
Janet Witalec, editor. New York: Gale Research, 1994.
HSSGIS Reference, PS508.I5 N38 1994

The Dresden Codex: Drawings of the Pages and Commentary in Spanish
Carlos A. Villacorta, J. Antonio Villacorta C. Laguna Hills, Calif.: Aegean Park Press, [1992?]
Shields LibraryF1435.3.W75 C629 1992 Regular Loan

Living Traditions: a Museum Guide for Native American People of California.
California Native American Heritage Commission, 1992.
HSSGIS Reference, E78.C15 L58 1992

Native American Literature
Andrew Wiget. Boston: Twayne Publishers, 1985.
HSSGIS Reference, PM155 .W54 1985

Native North American Music and Oral Data: Catalogue of Sound Recordings, 1893-1976
Dorothy Sara Lee. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1979.
HSSGIS Reference, ML156.2 .L4 Lib Use Only

On the Music of the North American Indians
Theodore Baker, translated by Ann Buckley. The Netherlands: F. Knuf, 1976.
ML3557.B213 Regular Loan

Laws and Treaties

Documents of American Indian Diplomacy: Treaties, Agreements, and Conventions, 1775-1979
Vine Deloria, Jr., and Raymond J. DeMallie. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, c1999.
Regular Loan, KF8202 1999

Early American Indian Documents: Treaties and Laws, 1607-1789 (8 vols.)
Alden T. Vaughan, Editor. Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, c1979-.
Regular Loan, KF8202 1979

Indian Treaties, 1778-1883
Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler. With a new foreword by Brantley Blue. New York, Interland Pub., 1972.
HSSGIS Reference, KF8202 1972

Kappler Revisited: An Index and locationgraphic Guide to American Indian Treaties
Charles D. Bernholz. Kenmore, N.Y.: Epoch Books, c2003.
Shields Gov Info and Maps Reference, KF8203 2003 Regular Loan

Laws of the Colonial and State Governments, Relating to Indians and Indian affairs, from 1633 to 1831, Inclusive: With an Appendix Containing the Proceedings of the Congress of Confederation and the Laws of Congress from 1800 to 1830, on the Same Subject.
Stanfordville, N.Y.: E. M. Coleman, 1979.
Regular Loan, KF8203 1979

Supplement to Kappler's Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties: Compiled Federal Regulations Relating to Indians.
[Wash., D.C.] : United States Department of the Interior, 1975.
Regular Loan, KF8203.5 1975

Indigenous Knowledge

Dictionary of Native American Mythology
Sam D. Gill, Irene F. Sullivan. Santa Barbara, Calif.:ABC-CLIO, 1992.
HSSGIS Reference, E98.R3 G46 1992

The Encyclopedia of Native American Religions: an Introduction
Arlene Hirschfelder, Paulette Molin. New York: Facts on File, 1992.
HSSGIS Reference, E98.R3 H73 1992

Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism: Sacred Ceremonies of North America
William S. Lyon. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1998.
HSSGIS Reference, E98.M4 L98 1998

Native American Ethnobotany
Daniel E. Moerman. Portland, Or.: Timber Press, 1998.
HSSGIS Reference E98.B7 M66 1998

Native American Religions: a Geographical Survey
John James Collins. Lewiston [N.Y.]: E. Mellen Press, 1991.
HSSGIS Reference, E98.R3 C69 1991

  • Indian Claims Commission Decisions
    "The Indian Claims Commission was created by the Act of August 13, 1946 (605 Stat. 1060, 25 USC 70a et seq.) to hear claims of 'any Indian tribe, band, or other identifiable group of American Indians' against the United States. The Act provides broad grounds for recovery, including claims based on 'unconscionable consideration' for tribal lands which were taken and 'claims based on fair and honorable dealing not recognized by any existing rule of law or equity.'" (From the Index to Indian Claims Commission Decisions.)

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Roberto C. Delgadillo
Contact Info
Peter J. Shields Library
Humanities, Social Sciences and Government Information Services (HSSGIS) Department
Phone: 530-752-8266
Email: rdelgadillo@lib.ucdavis.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip