The box will also contain an optional list of links to related subject guides should there be any. This is a rich-text box, so you use the Rich Text editor to manually create hyperlinked text. Here's one example
You can make one list for the entire guide by copying the box from the main page on all other pages. Or you can customize the list for each page in the guide by making it a standalone box (copying and unlinking is a way to do this).
Researching Contemporary Artists
- Grove Dictionary of Music
The Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians in now part of Oxford Music Online. It can be searched alone, or together with the Oxford Dictionary of Music and/or the Oxford Companion to Music. Grove Music includes over 20,000 biographies of composers, performers, and writers on music, and over 9,000 articles with extensive bibliographies and cross references.
- IIMP Full Text: International Index to Music Periodicals [via Proquest]
IIMP Full Text covers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. IIMP Full Text draws its current content from more than 370 international music periodicals from over 20 countries with over 60 Full Text titles. IIMP Full Text also includes retrospective coverage from over 185 periodicals dating back as far as 1874. Included in the current and retrospective content are 29 complete-run titles, from inception to the present (or final) issue, and many partial run titles. Most IIMP Full Text records in the current coverage contain an abstract, and additionally many IIMP Full Text records contain the corresponding full text of the original article.
- RILM: International Repertory of Music Literature [via EBSCO]
RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature now includes RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. The full bibliography is a single product. It's the full database, from 1800 to the present. RILM is the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale or International Repertory of Music Literature. International coverage for all types of materials, including periodicals, dissertations and essays, in the area of music including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments, voice, dance, and music therapy. Comprehensive coverage includes music-related articles published in conference proceedings from 1835 through 1966; articles in Festschriften celebrating music scholars from 1840 to 1966; and articles in anniversary volumes published in honor of musicians, composers and institutions dating back to the 18th century. Journal articles and other document types are added on a monthly basis.
- RISM: International Inventory of Musical Sources
The International Inventory of Musical Sources (RISM) aims to comprehensively document the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections. The online-catalogue offered here contains around 700,000 references almost exclusively to music manuscripts. These records pass on to posterity the works of some 25,000 composers. The sources are preserved in the libraries and archives of 32 countries. The RISM online catalogue currently contains over 1.1 million music incipits.
- RIPM: International Index to Nineteenth-Century Music Periodicals [via EBSCO]
Indexes and abstracts over 65 journals on music from the U.S., Europe and Russia.Access via NISC will end on April 17, 2009. Access will continue from EBSCOHOST.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of the world's peoples. It containes more than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world.This release includes 1,217 essays and images from 10 sources and hundreds of audio examples.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. Music
Compiled by leading scholars in music fields, this set of bibliographies covers several musical areas, including composers, instruments, musical forms, ethnomusicology, countries, and more. Each article is reviewed and updated annually; new bibliographies are slated to be added as well.
- Naxos Classical Music Library
The Naxos Classical Music Library consists of 40,243 albums, comprising 576,092 tracks, with new content added regularly. This database of streaming audio will replace the campus subscription to Alexander Street Press Music Online in the very near future.