Conducting research in theoretical and applied linguistics in the library.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts [via Proquest]
"CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations."
Related: Fact SheetHelp
- PsycINFO [via Proquest]
PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations and even important internet sites in psychology and related disciplines, most with abstracts and some citations.
•PsycINFO Lib Guide [ProQuest]
• Setting up Alerts
- Sociological Abstracts [via Proquest]
Prime resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [via Proquest]
The ERIC Database indexes and abstracts education and education related journals, studies and reports, with links to full-text studies and reports.
- Anthropology Plus [via EBSCO]
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
Date: Late 19th century to present
- MIT CogNet
An online platform for the brain and cognitive science community’s scientific research and interchange. Cross-disciplinary coverage includes artificial intelligence, linguistics, neuroscience, psychology, philosophy and education. Publication types include books, journals, conference proceedings, calls for papers and grey literature. The interface provides searchable access to ten major reference works published by the MIT Press; over 530 MIT Press books in full-text PDF; the full text of six MIT Press journals; and abstracts from more than 25 journals from other publishers (Cambridge University Press, the British Psychological Society, Kingston Press, Ltd., and Lawrence Erlbaum Associates).
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
"The OED is an historical dictionary of English, covering the language from the earliest times to the present day. Entries contain detailed etymological analysis, illustrated by quotations from a wide range of sources."
- Blackwell Companion to Phonology
"The Blackwell Companion to Phonology is a major reference work drawing together 124 new contributions from leading scholars in the field. Led by a team of renowned international scholars, the Companion represents a diverse range of approaches and methodologies to key phenomena in phonological research. In contrast to other handbooks and reference works currently available for phonology, these volumes focus on phenomena and case studies that highlight past and ongoing debates in the field. Interdisciplinary connections, such as those with the social and computational sciences, are covered, as well as statistical and experimental techniques. The Companion will be a touchstone for future phonological theorists, giving an overview of data and insights which any theory of phonology should be able to cover."
Peter J. Shields Library / 100 North West Quad
University of California, Davis
Davis, CA 95616Send Email
, Slavic and Eastern European Studies
, Middle East/South Asian Studies; Agricultural Resource / Managerial Economics
, Performance Studies