This is the "Library Instruction Online" page of the "Library Instruction Online" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Library Instruction Online  

Short videos and PDFs that help students learn to use library databases and other online resources
Last Updated: Oct 8, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/libonline Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Library Instruction Online Print Page
  Search: 
 

Targeted Playlist

Playlists 

The "Playlists" given here provide online library instruction focused on these topics:


Finding Articles  


Library Basics  


Chemistry  


ADD More Subjects & Topics:

 

 

Finding Articles

Finding Articles


Broad Topic Resource What Is It?
What It Covers
Library
Basics
How to Use the VPN:
Off-Campus Access to Library Resources
video
1:58 min:sec
How to access online journals and library databases from off-campus via the VPN.
Finding
Articles
Finding Articles:
How to Choose an Article Database

video
2:11 min:sec

How to find article databases by using the library Subject Guides and Databases A-Z web pages

Finding
Articles

Finding Articles:
Using Web of Science
video
1:58 min:sec
Briefly covers: using Web of Science to find articles; using UC-eLinks to obtain articles; and emailing, saving, or printing PDF's.
Review
Articles
Finding Review Articles:
Using Web of Science
video
2:34 min:sec

How to use Web of Science to find review articles.  Review articles summarize what is known about a topic, this can be very helpful with undergraduate research papers. 

 

 

Library Basics

Library Basics


Broad Topic Resource What Is It?
What It Covers
VPN How to Use the VPN:
Off-Campus Access to Library Resources
video
1:58 min:sec
How to access online journals and library databases from off-campus via the VPN.
Call
Numbers
Call Numbers:
How to Find A Book By Call Number

PDF, 2 pgs

How to find a book by call number.  Covers LC call number system used at Shields Library and PSE Library, and NLM call numbers used at Carlson and Blaisdell Libraries.

Reserves

Reserves:
Checking Out Items from Library Reserves
video
1:37 min:sec
How to borrow a book, video, or DVD at the Reserves desk in the Shields Library.
Citing Your Sources
How To Cite Your Sources video
1:42 min:sec

How to format citations from print and online citation guides; use of in-text citations and reference list citations; the importance of citing any work you did not create. 

 

 

Chemistry

Chemistry


Broad Topic Resource What Is It?
What It Covers
SciFinder SciFinder:
How to Find Articles
interactive
video

15 min
“Introduction to Reference Searching” covers: finding articles by topic and author; navigating, sorting and refining results.  Created by Chemical Abstracts Service.
SciFinder
SciFinder:
Introduction to Substance Searching

interactive
video
15 min

How to search for chemical substances by chemical name and CAS Registry Number.  Also covers: viewing substance spectra and properties, and substructure searching.  Created by Chemical Abstracts Service.

SciFinder

SciFinder:
Introduction to Reaction Searching
interactive
video
15 min
How to search by chemical reaction. Covers: limiting results; specifying reaction role, and viewing experimental procedures. 
Created by Chemical Abstracts Service.
SciFinder

SciFinder:  
How to Create a Keep Me Posted (KMP) Alert

     PDF, 5 pgs

   video,  5 min

 

PDF, 5 pgs

SciFinder's Keep Me Posted (KMP) alert allows you to save a search specific to your interests, and have it run automatically either weekly or monthly.  You get an email notification when citations matching your search criteria are added to SciFinder.
Created by Chemical Abstracts Service. 

interactive video
5 min
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip