This is the "Home" page of the "Let Freedom Ring: New Books on Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and The Civil Rights Movement" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Let Freedom Ring: New Books on Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and The Civil Rights Movement   Tags: african-americans, africana, africans, blacks, civil rights, cultural studies, ethnic studies, sociology  

The University Library maintains research collections on civil rights and African American history. Here is a sampling of recent books on Dr. King, The African American Civil Rights Movement of the 1960s and 70s' and a few of the many reference sources.
Last Updated: Jan 17, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/let_freedom_ring_books_on_MLK Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

African and African American Subject Guide

 

Reference Books for African American History and Culture

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African American history, 1896 to the present : from the age of segregation to the twenty-first century - editor in chief, Paul Finkelman
ISBN: 0195167791
Publication Date: 2009
New York : Oxford University Press

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history : the Black experience in the Americas - Colin A. Palmer, editor in chief.
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference E185 .E54 2006 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 0028658167
Publication Date: 2006
Detroit : Macmillan Reference USA
2nd Edition

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Black studies - Editors: Molefi Kete Asante, Ama Mazama.
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference E185 .E554 2005 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 076192762X
Publication Date: 2005
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications

 

Reference Sources for Civil Rights

Cover Art
Civil rights in the United States - edited by Waldo E. Martin, Jr. and Patricia Sullivan
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference E184.A1 C47 2000 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 0028647653
Publication Date: 2000
New York : Macmillan Reference USA

Cover Art
The Greenwood encyclopedia of African American civil rights : from emancipation to the twenty-first century - Charles D. Lowery and John F. Marszalek, editors ; Thomas Adams Upchurch, associate editor ; foreword by David J. Garrow.
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference E185.61 .E54 2003 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 031332171X
Publication Date: 2003
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press
2nd Edition

 

New Books on Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

These are just a few of the recent books listed in our Harvest Library Catalog

Cover Art
Dreams and nightmares : Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, and the struggle for Black equality in America - Britta Waldschmidt-Nelson.
Call Number: Shields Library E185.97.K5 W234 2012 Regular Loan
ISBN: 0813037239
Publication Date: 2012
Gainesville : University Press of Florida

Cover Art
Burial for a King : Martin Luther King Jr.’s funeral and the week that transformed Atlanta and rocked the nation - Rebecca Burns
Call Number: Shields Library E185.97.K5 B797 2011 Regular Loan
ISBN: 9781439130544
Publication Date: 2011
London ; New York, N.Y. : Scribner

Cover Art
Baltimore ’68 : riots and rebirth in an American city - edited by Jessica I. Elfenbein, Thomas L. Hollowak, and Elizabeth M. Nix.
Call Number: Shields Library F189.B157 B336 2011 Regular Loan
Publication Date: 2011
Philadelphia : Temple University Press

Cover Art
The house by the side of the road : the Selma civil rights movement - Richie Jean Sherrod Jackson.
Call Number: Shields Library F334.S4 J28 2011 Regular Loan
ISBN: 0817316949
Publication Date: 2011
Tuscaloosa : University of Alabama Press

Cover Art
Historical foundations of Black reflective sociology / John H. Stanfield, II. - John H. Stanfield, II.
Call Number: Shields Library E184.7 .S695 2011
ISBN: 9781598746495
Publication Date: 2011
Walnut Creek, Calif. : Left Coast Press

Contains essay " Martin Luther King, Jr. as a public sociologist "

Cover Art
Never to leave us alone : the prayer life of Martin Luther King, Jr. - Lewis V. Baldwin.
ISBN: 0800697448
Publication Date: 2010
Minneapolis, MN : Fortress Press

Cover Art
Martin Luther King - Godfrey Hodgson.
ISBN: 0472051288
Publication Date: 2010
Ann Arbor : University of Michigan Press

Cover Art
Freedom summer : the savage season that made Mississippi burn and made America a democracy - Bruce Watson.
Call Number: Shields Library E185.93.M6 W285 2010 Regular Loan
ISBN: 0670021709
Publication Date: 2010
New York : Viking

Cover Art
Walk in my shoes : conversations between a civil rights legend and his godson on the journey ahead - Andrew Young and Kabir Sehgal
Call Number: Shields Library E840.8.Y64 A3 2010 Regular Loan
Publication Date: 2010
New York : Palgrave Macmillan

"A top aide to Martin Luther King, Jr. and one of history’s most important civil rights leaders, Andrew Young has witnessed history and made his own"

Cover Art
The 1970s : a new global history from civil rights to economic inequality - Thomas Borstelmann
Call Number: Shields Library E839 .B59 2012 In process
ISBN: 0691141568
Publication Date: 2012
Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press

Cover Art
Autobiography of a Freedom Rider : My Life As a Foot Soldier for Civil Rights. - Thomas M Armstrong
Call Number: On Order
ISBN: 9780757316036
Publication Date: 2011
Deerfield Beach Health Communications

Cover Art
The struggle in Black and brown : African American and Mexican American relations during the civil rights era - edited and with an introduction by Brian D. Behnken
Call Number: Shields Library E185.61 .S9148 2011 In process
ISBN: 9780803262713
Lincoln : University of Nebraska Press, c2011.

Cover Art
Seeing through race : a reinterpretation of civil rights photography - Martin A. Berger
ISBN: 9780520268647
Publication Date: 2011
Berkeley : University of California Press, c2011.

Cover Art
Racial innocence : performing American childhood and race from slavery to civil rights - Robin Bernstein
Call Number: Shields Library E185.61 .B445 2011 At UC Bindery
ISBN: 0814787088
Publication Date: 2011
New York : New York University Press

Cover Art
Pages from a Black radical’s notebook : a James Boggs reader - edited by Stephen M. Ward ; with an afterword by Grace Lee Boggs.
Call Number: Shields Library E185.615 .B575 2011 Regular Loan
ISBN: 0814332560
Publication Date: 2011
Detroit : Wayne State University Press

Social, Cultural and Behavioral Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
David Michalski, MLS. Ph.D.
Contact Info
Humanities, Social Sciences
Rm 288, Peter J. Shields Library
University of California, Davis
michalski@ucdavis.edu
530-752-2086
Office HoursSend Email
 

I Have a Dream Speech, 8/28/1963

 

Sites for Primary Sources

Cover Art
The Martin Luther King Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change
The King Library and Archives in Atlanta is the largest repository of primary source materials on Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and the American Civil Rights Movement in the world. The collection consists of the papers of Dr. King and those of the organization he co-founded, the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, as well as the records of 8 major civil rights organizations and of several individuals active in the Movement.

Cover Art
Martin Luther King, Jr Research and Education Institute
The Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute was created to provides an institutional home for a broad range of activities illuminating the Nobel Peace laureate’s life and the movements he inspired. The Institute’s endowment supports programs that serve as an enduring link between Stanford’s research resources and King’s dream of global peace with social justice.

Cover Art
Civil Rights Digital Library Initiative
The Civil Rights Digital Library Initiative, a collaboration of several organizations, represents one of the most ambitious and comprehensive efforts to date to deliver educational content on the Civil Rights Movement via the Web. The struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s is among the most far-reaching social movements in the nation's history, and it represents a crucial step in the evolution of American democracy.

Cover Art
The African American Odyssey
This American Memory Project site from the Liobrary of Congress contains documents on African American History.

Cover Art
U.S. Commission of Civil Rights
The Civil Rights Act of 1957 created the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights. Since then, Congress has reauthorized or extended the legislation creating the Commission several times; the last reauthorization was in 1994 by the Civil Rights Commission Amendments Act of 1994.

The Robert S. Rankin National Civil Rights Library has an extensive collection which contains a large variety of books, directories, encyclopedias, journals, magazines, reports, microforms, and videos. It covers subjects such as campus tensions, persons with disabilities, discrimination, education, the elderly, housing, racism and women's issues. The collection includes Commission publications, specifically known as statutory reports, clearinghouse reports, hearing, consultation, and conference reports and state advisory committee reports.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip