- MLA International Bibliography [via Proquest]
The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.
- Francis [OA]
"The site Free Access to Pascal and Francis is an archive of the PASCAL and FRANCIS bibliographic databases in exact, human and social sciences, produced by the Inist-CNRS since 1972 and hitherto accessible with a subscription."
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts [via Proquest]
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Phonetics, phonology, morphology, grammar syntax, semantics, historical linguistics, and sociolinguisics. Abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications along with abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
- French 17
Annual survey of the secondary literature of seventeenth-century French studies. Includes summaries of articles, books, and book reviews. Broadly interdisciplinary coverage includes literary history and criticism, bibliography, linguistics and language, politics, society, philosophy, science, religion and the arts.
See box immediately below for blbiographic description of the print version.
- Gale Literature Resource Center
Full-text biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combines core literary resources such as Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE)
"BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library."
- Francis [via EBSCO]
"FRANCIS offers extensive bibliographic indexing for over 2.5 million records dating back to 1972. Produced by Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), the database provides multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Source documents include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports."
Aside from the resources highlighted here, readers can easily browse for more materials, including some older standards that can still be of use, in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Government reference collection in Shields, from Library of Congress class range Z2171 to about Z2173.
Call Number: Z2172 .M6 Shields umanities/Social Sciences Reference
Publication Date: 1980--present
Previously issued as The Bibliography of French seventeenth century studies (Modern Language Association, French Group III), no.1-25(1952-1977).
French XX bibliography. Bibliography for the Study of French Literature and Culture since 1885
Call Number: Z2173 .M62 Shields Humanities/Social Sciences Reference
Publication Date: Vol. 5--(1969)--present
Previously issued as French VII Bibliography of Critical and Biographical References for the Study of Contemporary French Literature, Vols 1-4 (1949-1968).
Bibliographie der Französischen Literaturwissenschaft
Call Number: Z2171 .B5 Shields Humanities/Social Sciences Reference
Publication Date: Vol. 1-- (1956--present)
Initial section for "Generalities" is followed by organization by historical period, and concluding with a section devoted to French literature outside France. Subject and name indexing in each annual volume.
Peter J. Shields Library / 100 North West Quad
University of California, Davis
Davis, CA 95616Send Email
Subjects:Agricultural & Resource Economics
, Comparative Literature
, Managerial Economics
, Performance Studies