This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "Forensic Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Forensic Sciences  

Last Updated: Jul 11, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/forensics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Electronic Book and Document Collections

  • FORENSICnetBASE [via CRCnetBASE]  Icon
    This full-text FORENSICnetBASE collection includes over 340 handbooks, textbooks, and manuals on all aspects of forensic sciences including medical, biological, engineering, criminology, legal, and psychological. Areas covered include: arson & fire investigation; computer crime investigation; criminal justice & law; forensic pathology; forensics; law enforcement; and security management. {RG 12/17/13}
    FORENSICnetBASE scope
  • Electronic books in the Biological and Health Sciences  
      
    Author: [Compiled by the UCD Carlson Health Sciences Library]
    Subject listing of electronic books (handbooks, textbooks, guides) in basic biological and related health sciences disciplines/specialties and subdisciplines/subspecialties. Includes online books in general biology, biochemistry, endrocrinology & metabolism, genetics, microbiology & virology, molecular biology, neurology, nutrition, physiology, toxicology and veterinary medicine. All books are searchable at chapter-level.
  • Springer eBooks Package  Icon
    UC-wide licensed three-year (2013-2015) package for Springer eBooks and includes more than 55,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. {RG 12/11/13}
    Coverage: 2005-2014
  • Journal Citation Reports (JCR)  Icon
    Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort. {RG 12/11/13}
    Coverage: 2007-2012
    Information for New JCR Users
    Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
    Using JCR Wisely
  • Safari Tech Books Online  Icon
    A collection of computing books that includes the full text of over 300 O'Reilly Press books dating from 2004 to the present. Safari will grow to include all new O'Reilly titles, including the popular In a Nutshell books on important computing topics. The full-text is searchable across titles and searches can be limited to code fragments. Books can also be browsed by topic. Books can be read online, or individual chapter sections can be printed out or emailed. Access is limited to 28 simultaneous UC connections.
    Coverage: 2004-present.
    RSS feed of new titles in Safari

Generalized Databases

  • Science Citation Index Expanded [via Web of Science]  
      
      Icon
    Multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the peer-reviewed journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 6,650 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Search for articles that cite a known author or work.
    Coverage: 1900-present
    Quick Reference Guide: Web of Science Core Collection
    How to create Author Citation Reports
    Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
    Creating a Citation Alert
  • PubMed  
      
      Icon
    More than 23 million citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine on the NCBI platform. {RG 12/12/13}
    Coverage: 1946-present
    PubMed Tutorial & more
    Alerts/Automatic Updating Service (Saving & Managing Searches)
    NLM Searching PubMed with Mesh tri-fold handout [PDF]
    NLM PubMed Basics tri-fold handout [PDF]
  • LexisNexis Academic  Icon
    A large collection of full text news and articles from the U.S. and and global sources. Transcripts from major news media shows are included. Also includes U.S. and International (Canadian and EU) legal resources and it's an excellent source for business news and company reports.
  • BIOSIS Previews [via Web of Science]  
      
      Icon
    More than 23 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
    Coverage: 1926-present
    Quick Reference Card: BIOSIS Previews
    Online BIOSIS information
    Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
  • Academic Search Complete [via EBSCO]  
      
      Icon
    The multi-disciplinary database Academic Search Complete (ASC) provides full-text access to more than 5,500 periodicals, including over 4,600 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for an additional 9,500 journals and 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
  • PsycINFO [via Proquest]  
      
      Icon
    PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations and even important internet sites in psychology and related disciplines, most with abstracts and some citations.
    Coverage: 1840-present
    PsycINFO Lib Guide [ProQuest]
    Setting up Alerts
  • Zoological Record [via ProQuest]  Icon
    WILDLIFE. Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, conservation and environmental science, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, marine and freshwater biology, nutrition, parasitology and disease, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, veterinary studies, zoogeography and fossil records. Especially strong in new species reports and field studies. Backfile for 1864-1977 added April 2007. {RG 12/12/13}
    Coverage: 1864-present [1864-1977 backfile added]
    Setting up Alerts
    CSA Zoological Record Fact Sheet
    CSA Zoological Record Subject Thesaurus
  • TOXNET (Toxicology Data Network)
    A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas. Includes the following databases: CHEMIDplus, Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), TOXLINE, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS), Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology and Environmental Teratology Information Center (DART/ETIC), GENE-TOX, Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER), LactMed, and Toxics Release Inventory (TRI). Other resources include Haz-Map, Household Products Database and TOXMAP. {RG 12/17/13}
    How to cite TOXNET databases (Question 3)
    TOXNET Frequently Asked Questions
    TOXNET training manual (Feb 2013)PDF
  • Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM) [via ProQuest]  Icon
    Major areas of coverage include aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy resources, environmental biotechnology & engineering, environmental impact statements, hazardous waste, industrial hygiene, microbiology, and risk assessment. Subfiles include: ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B); Ecology Abstracts; Environmental Engineering Abstracts; Health and Safety Science Abstracts; Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A); Pollution Abstracts; Risk Abstracts; Sustainability Science Abstracts; Toxicology Abstracts; and Water Resources Abstracts. EIS: Full Text and Digests of Environmental Impact Statements are combined for cross-searching with ESPM. {RG 12/12/13}
    Coverage: 1967-present (varies by subfile)
    ESPM LibGuide [ProQuest]
    Setting up Alerts
  • Compendex [via Engineering Village 2]  Icon
    Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. About half the citations (from 2600 journals and conferences) include abstracts and indexing in the records. Coverage: 1884 - present. {Added by RG 12/17/13}
    Saved Searches and Creating Email Alerts Scroll down on Left column to "Creating an email alert"
  • INSPEC [via Web of Science]  
      
      Icon
    Citations from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology.
    Coverage: 1898-present
    Quick Reference Card: INSPEC, Web of Knowledge PDF
    Video training: Saving Search Histories and Creating Alerts for Current Awareness
  • SciFinder [Registration Required]  
      
      Icon
    SciFinder is the most comprehensive scholarly bibliographic research database for the field of chemistry with >29 million citations; indexes over 10,000 journals. Covers all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. It is the online version of Chemical Abstracts.
    Coverage: 1907 - present (selected pre-1907)
    Register for SciFinder (Required)
    About SciFinder: Use On & Off-Campus, Troubleshooting & Guides
    Java Plug-in for Structure Searching (optional)
    •Direct questions to UCD's contact: Cory Craig, cjcraig@ucdavis.edu, 530/752-0347
  • GeoRef [via ProQuest]  Icon
    Covers worldwide technical literature on geology, paleontology, and geophysics. Covers the geology of North America from 1785 to present and geology outside of North America from 1933 to present. Also includes GeoRef In Process database and Earth Sciences Deep Indexing. {RG 12/17/13}
    Coverage: 1785-present
    GeoRef Lib Guide [ProQuest]
    Setting up Alerts
    CSA Fact Sheet
  • NTRL - National Technical Reports Library  Icon
    NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) is from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) within the Department of Commerce. NTRL provides access to government-sponsored research, development and technical reports with full-text access to reports that have been digitized. Searches over 2 million reports with links to over 700,000 full-text reports. 1964 to present
  • CINAHL Plus: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature [via EBSCO]  Icon
    References and abstracts on nursing, biomedical, allied health and consumer health literature. Also includes health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based care sheets. Full text is provided for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Includes PreCINAHL as a companion database. {RG 12/17/13}
    Coverage: 1982-
    CINAHL User Guide Click on Document Download link to obtain the 38-page MS Word document
    Saving Search and Alerting Functions (Guide) Click on Document Download link to obtain the 17-page MS Word document
  • WorldCat [via FirstSearch/OCLC]  Icon
    OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
    Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present
  • Dissertation Abstracts International / Dissertations & Theses [via ProQuest]  Icon
    Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations. Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.
    Publication date coverage: 1861-present

Protocols and Methods Resources

  • Current Protocols Series [Wiley]  Icon
    Ten major laboratory methods and protocols series covering the areas of molecular biology, nucleic acid chemistry, cell biology, protein science, immunology, neuroscience, human genetics, pharmacology, toxicology, and cytometry. Includes basic, alternate, and support protocols with literature cited and information on suppliers for standard materials and preparation information for reagents and solutions. IMPORTANT NOTE: UC Davis does *NOT* license the following seven protocol titles: "Bioinformatics", "Chemical Biology", "Essential Laboratory Techniques", "Magnetic Resonance Imaging", "Microbiology", "Mouse Biology" (new with very little content) and "Stem Cell Biology".
    Coverage: Updated quarterly or more frequently {RG 12/11/13}
  • Springer Protocols  Icon
    Springer Protocols contains more than 31,000 (as of March 2013) molecular biology and biomedical peer-reviewed protocols, mostly from the classic series Methods in Molecular Biology, formerly published by Humana Press. Other series included are: Methods in Molecular Medicine; Methods in Biotechnology; Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology; and Neuromethods. Also included are protocols from laboratory handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.
    Coverage: 1980-present {RG 12/11/13}
    Ten-page User Guide
  • Cold Spring Harbor Protocols  Icon
    A definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database covers specific sections on: Antibodies, Bioinformatics/Genomics, Cell Biology, Chromatography, Computational Biology, DNA Delivery/Gene Transfer, Electrophoresis, Genetics, High-Throughput Analysis, Imaging/Microscopy, Immunology, Laboratory Organisms, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Plant Biology, Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR), Proteins and Proteomics, RNA Interference (RNAi)/siRNA, Stem Cells, and Transgenic Technology. Unique to this resource is the ability to submit a protocol. Other unique features include protocol recipes and protocol cautions. Coverage: 2006-present {RG 12/11/13}
    Search Help
  • Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)  Icon
    Author: MYJoVE Corporation
    Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format. {RG 12/11/13}
    June 2013: COMPLETE ACCESS to all sections (General and all subsection) now licensed
  • Methods in Enzymology [Science Direct -- Elsevier]  Icon
    Methods in Enzymology is the classic laboratory methods/protocols book series. The complete backfile of the full-text is available back to volume 1 from 1955. Direct article/chapter links are provided from core subject databases such as PubMed and BIOSIS Previews. Contains detailed protocols and descriptions of biochemical and biophysical techniques for research in biological and molecular sciences. More than 300 volumes are browse-able by individual volumes online from 1955 to the present or by searching across the collection by title, author, abstract, and keyword. Full-text access to articles is available in HTML and PDF formats. {RG 12/111/13}
  • Bio-protocol
    A rapidly growing collection of peer-reviewed, life science protocols organized by 11 different fields of study and 10 different organisms. Protocols are organized chronologically with a detailed guide on how to reproduce a given experiment. Each protocol also contains an interactive and moderated Q & A section to facilitate open communication between protocol authors and the research community. Coverage: Jan 2011 – present.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

  • Comprehensive Toxicology [via ScienceDirect]  Icon
    Author: Charlene McQueen (Editor in Chief)
    This 14-volume set covers all aspects of toxicology: Volume 1: General Principles; Volume 2: Cellular and Molecular Toxicology; Volume 3: Toxicology Testing and Evaluation; Volume 4: Biotransformation; Volume 5: Immune System Toxicology; Volume 6: Cardiovascular Toxicology; Volume 7: Renal Toxicology; Volume 8: Respiratory Toxicology; Volume 9: Hepatic Toxicology; Volume 10: Gastrointestinal Toxicology; Volume 11: Reproductive and Endocrine Toxicology; Volume 12: Developmental Toxicology; Volume 13: Nervous System and Behavioral Toxicology; and Volume 14: Carcinogenesis. Useful for "Toxicology researchers, academic and medical practitioners, food science researchers, environmental researchers and consultants, forensic scientists, and occupational health and safety institutes." {RG 12/17/13}
  • Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry [Science Direct -- Elsevier]  Icon
    Author: Editors-in-Chief: William J. Lennarz and M. Daniel Lane
    The 2nd edition of this four-volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of biological chemistry including: Bioenergetics; Cell Architecture and Function; Lipids Carbohydrates Membranes and Membrane Proteins; Metabolism Vitamins and Hormones; Molecular Biology; Protein/Enzyme Structure Function and Degradation; and Signaling. {RG 12/17/13}
    Date: 2013
  • Dictionary of Scientific Biography (complete) [via Gale Virtual Reference Library]  Icon
    This classic encyclopedia covering scientists from all time periods and all fields of science has been completely revised. This "complete" online version includes all the entries from both the new (2008) edition and the original edition.

Handbooks and Tables

Images

  • Open-i
    Author: National Library of Medicine
    This open-access biomedical image search engine in is Beta test but has good retrievals for most major biomedical topics. Open-i helps "users retrieve not only the MEDLINE citation information, but also the outcome statements in the article and the most relevant figure from it. Further, it is possible to use the figure as a query component to find other relevant images or other visually similar images." {RG 12/16/13}
  • AP Images [via EBSCO]  Icon
    This site is an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the Associated Press news service, historic images. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards and all include descriptive captions and source information.
    Coverage: 1844-present; current file contains 1995-present

Guides to Electronic, Print and Other Resources

  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service
    National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. Includes summaries of U.S. criminal justice publications, including Federal, State and local government reports, books, journal articles, and other research with links to some full text reports. Search the Abstracts Database.
  • Forensic Science Resources on the Internet
    Highly thorough and comprehensive webliography by Cynthia Holt. Covers Internet resources and topics such as: Journals, Magazines & Newsletters: Indexed & Fulltext; Books and Case Files; Societies, Associations & Government Organizations; Anthropology; Botany; Chemistry & Toxicology; Crime Scene Investigation; Criminalistics and Trace Evidence; DNA Analysis; Entomology; Ethics; Explosives; Firearms and Tool Marks; Odontology; Questioned Document Examination; and Terminology. {RG 12/17/13}
    Date: Spring 2003 (links updated)
  • Forensic Science: Open Directory Project
    Highly selective guide to free Web resources and websites on topics such as: Computer Forensics; DNA; Document Examination; Fingerprints; Firearms; Forensic Anthropology; Forensic Entomology; Forensic Meteorology; Forensic Photography; and Forensic Psychology. Includes information on associations and education and also provides related topics links. {RG 12/17/13}
  • JUSTNET: Forensic Science
    Selected resource guide to agencies, associations, evidence catalogs, laboratories, and news sites. Compiled for the Justice Technology Information Network by NLECTC (National Law Enforcement and Corrections Technology Center), a program of the National Institute of Justice. {RG 12/17/13}
  • FBI Laboratory Services
    Describes or provides links to major FBI Forensic Systems such as the Combined DNA Index System (CODIS); National DNA Index System (NDIS); Integrated Automated Fingerprint Identification System (IAFIS); and Latent Print Unit. {RG 12/17/13}
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip