This is the "FILM REVIEW RESOURCES" page of the "Guide to Finding Film Reviews" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Guide to Finding Film Reviews  

Last Updated: Feb 24, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/filmreviews Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

FILM REVIEW RESOURCES Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Film Reviews

The Library has a number of print resources that reproduce the full text of motion picture reviews. The available print resources vary by time period. The resources listed below reproduce the text of reviews published at the time of the films' release.

In addition, film reviews are available through a number of different databases. Some of the more important databases are listed here.

 

Film Reviews 1896-1960

The following reference resources include the full text of film reviews.

New York Times Film Reviews
Call Number: PN 1995 N4 H/SS
This resource reproduces the full text of film reviews published in the New York Times from 1913 to 2000.

New York Times Encyclopedia of Film
Call Number: PN 1993.45 N4 1984 H/SS
This resource includes the full text of articles from the New York Times 1896-1979 on the film industry including reports on studio activities and works-in-progress, and interviews with film-makers.

Selected Film Criticism
Call Number: PN 1995 S426 1984 H/SS
This five volume series provides a general selection of contemporary reviews on films produced between 1896 and 1960.

 

Film Reviews 1960-1980

The following reference resources include the full text of film reviews.

New York Times Film Reviews
Call Number: PN 1995 N4 H/SS
This resource reproduces the full text of film reviews published in the New York Times from 1913 to 2000.

New York Times Encyclopedia of Film
Call Number: PN 1993.45 N4 1984 H/SS
This resource includes the full text of articles from the New York Times 1896-1979 on the film industry including reports on studio activities and works-in-progress, and interviews with film-makers.

Variety's Film Reviews
Call Number: PN 1995 V34 H/SS
The movie reviews in this set are complete and comprehensive reproductions of the original film reviews published in Variety. The library has the volumes from 1971 through 1996.

 

Film Reviews 1980-2000

The following reference resources include the full text of film reviews.

New York Times Film Reviews
Call Number: PN 1995 N4 H/SS
This resource reproduces the full text of film reviews published in the New York Times from 1913 to 2000.

Variety's Film Reviews
Call Number: PN 1995 V34 H/SS
The movie reviews in this set are complete and comprehensive reproductions of the original film reviews published in Variety. The library has the volumes from 1971 through 1996.

Librarian

Profile Image
Juri Stratford
Contact Info
email: jtstratford@ucdavis.edu
phone: (530) 752-9783
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip