More Reference for Fashion, Costume and Textiles
This is the "Introduction" page of the "Fashion & Clothing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Fashion & Clothing   Tags: clothing, costume, fashion, textiles  

Last Updated: Nov 21, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/fashion Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Fashion and Clothing Subject Guide - About This Guide

Welcome to the UC Davis Library guide for Fashion and Clothing.  This guide provides an introduction to finding information in Shields Library on fashion and clothing.  Pages in this guide include a list of selected reference books and materials, suggested databases for finding articles, web sites with good fashion, costume, and clothing information and more.

Please contact me (Marcia Meister) if you have questions about using the library's fashion and clothing resources.  If you are interested in the technical aspects of clothing, eg., textile chemistry., please contact Cory Craig, Chemistry specialist, Physcial Sciences and Engineering Library.

See companion guide:  Textiles and Clothing for more of the science of textiles.

See also guide:  Business and Economics for company, business and marketing information.

More suggested resources on Fashion, Costume and Textiles Subject Guide

 

 

Getting Started

Shields library has an excellent collection of books on fashion, clothing and costume.  The "Books" tab in this guide has a long list of suggested subject headings to use in the library's catalog - Harvest UC Davis Library Catalog, or in the UC's Melvyl catalog.   

Berg Fashion Library is an online portal with comprehensive coverage of dress and fashion around the world. It provides access to interdisciplinary and integrated image, book and journal content. Berg Fashion Library includes the full text of the 10 volume Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, and other Berg fashion monographs, images from the Victoria & Albert Museum fashion collection, article links to the journals Fashion Theory, Fashion Practice, and Textile.  Berg Fashion Library is licensed for UC Davis campus users.

 

Vogue Online!

The Library has access to the full archive of Vogue (U.S. edition) going all the way back to 1892 through the current month.   Each page in Vogue has been reproduced in high-resolution color page images.   Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. Search by advertisement, article, editor, and more or browse each issue by date.  The stunning cover images can be viewed in full color.  The cover image shown is from August 1930.

Check this rich resource for fashion images, historical and cultural studies from the link in the list of databases A-Z or directly here – the Vogue Archive.

 

Featured New Books

Cover Art
Alexander McQueen - Judith Watt
Call Number: TT505.M37 W38 2012
ISBN: 9780062131997
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Balenciaga and Spain - Hamish Bowles
Call Number: TT505.B28 B69 2011
ISBN: 0847836460
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Culture to catwalk: how world cultures influence fashion - Kristin Knox
Call Number: GT511 .K67 2011
ISBN: 9781408130711
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Doing research in fashion and dress :an introduction to qualitative methods - Yuniya Kawamura
Call Number: GT511 .K39 2011
ISBN: 9781847885821
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Fashion and Sustainability - Kate Fletcher; Lynda Grose; Paul Hawken (Foreword by)
Call Number: TT507 .F582 2012
ISBN: 9781856697545
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Fashion in film - Adrienne Munich
Call Number: PN1995.9.C56 F385 2011
ISBN: 9780253222992
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Fashion in Popular Culture - Vicki Karaminas (Editor); Toni Johnson-Woods (Editor); Joseph Hancock (Editor)
Call Number: GT525 .F37 2013
ISBN: 1841507164
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
Poiret, Dior and Schiaparelli; fashion, femininity and modernity - Ilya Parkins
Call Number: GT1720 .P37 2012
ISBN: 9780857853271
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Shoe Obsession - Valerie Steele; Colleen Hill
Call Number: GT2130 .S638 2012
ISBN: 9780300190793
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
The Little Black Dress - Andre Leon Talley; Paula Wallace (Foreword by); Gioia Diliberto (Text by); Maureen Dowd (Text by); Robin Givhan (Text by); Adam Kuehl (Photographer)
Call Number: TT506 .T35 2012
ISBN: 9780847840571
Publication Date: 2013

Librarian

Profile Image
Marcia Meister
Contact Info
email: mlmeister@ucdavis.edu
phone: 530-752-9784
Shields Library
2nd Floor

Please contact me to make an appointment for a consultation or for assistance.
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip