This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "Entomology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Entomology  

Last Updated: Nov 7, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/entomology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Ruth Gustafson
Contact Info
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Reference Librarian
Shields Library, 3rd Floor

Phone: (530) 752‑1883
ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

Generalized Databases

  • BIOSIS Previews [via Web of Science]  
      
      Icon
    More than 23 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
    Coverage: 1926-present
    Quick Reference Card: BIOSIS Previews
    Online BIOSIS information
    Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
  • Zoological Record [via ProQuest]  
      
      Icon
    WILDLIFE. Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, conservation and environmental science, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, marine and freshwater biology, nutrition, parasitology and disease, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, veterinary studies, zoogeography and fossil records. Especially strong in new species reports and field studies. Backfile for 1864-1977 added April 2007.
    Coverage: 1864-present [1864-1977 backfile added]
    Setting up Alerts
    Zoological Record's 150th anniversary
    Zoological Record information
  • CAB Abstracts [via OvidSP]  
      
      Icon
    FARMED or DOMESTICATED ANIMALS. Citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition. Covers over 11,000 journals & conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 9.0 million records. {RG 12/13/13}
    CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted *below* the UC-eLinks button). Currently, only Internet Explorer, Chrome & Safari loads these PDFs.
    Coverage: 1910-present
    CAB Abstracts Overview
    Database Guide[OvidSP]
    Saved Searches/Alerts/Automatic Updating Service
  • Agricola [via OvidSP]  
      
      Icon
    Published by the National Agricultural Library, the Agricola database describes publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including: animal science; veterinary science; entomology; plant science; forestry; aquaculture and fisheries; farming, farming systems and crops; agricultural economics; extension and education; food and human nutrition; and earth sciences and environmental sciences. The Bibliography of Agriculture is the print index to the agricultural literature going back to 1942 located on the Shields Library, Third Floor, at call number Z 5071 .U63
    Coverage: 1970-present
    Database Guide
    Saved Searches/Alerts/Automatic Updating Service
    Unrestricted Access via the National Agricultural LibraryFree access for non-UCD
  • Science Citation Index Expanded [via Web of Science]  
      
      Icon
    Multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the peer-reviewed journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 6,650 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Search for articles that cite a known author or work.
    Coverage: 1900-present
    Quick Reference Guide: Web of Science Core Collection
    How to create Author Citation Reports
    Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
    Creating a Citation Alert
  • NTRL - National Technical Reports Library  Icon
    NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) is from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) within the Department of Commerce. NTRL provides access to government-sponsored research, development and technical reports with full-text access to reports that have been digitized. Searches over 2 million reports with links to over 700,000 full-text reports. 1964 to present
  • Dissertation Abstracts International / Dissertations & Theses [via ProQuest]  Icon
    Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations. Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.
    Publication date coverage: 1861-present
  • F1000Prime  Icon
    F1000Prime is a "literature awareness tool ... [which] comprehensively and systematically highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological and medical sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of leading researchers. Through immediate rating of individual papers by the authors' peers, F1000 [Prime] highlights papers on the basis of their scientific merit rather than that of the journal in which they appear."

    Faculty of 1000 (F1000) Biology & Medicine are merged into one and now called F1000Prime. Includes over 40 Faculties (Broad subject areas such as biochemistry, ecology or plant biology), which are further subdivided into over 300 Sections. On average, 1,500 new evaluations are published each month. Faculty members are more than 5,000 experts worldwide (assisted by 5,000 associates) and assess articles from more than 3,500 peer-review journals. {RG 12/11/13}
    F1000Prime Tour
  • WorldCat [via FirstSearch/OCLC]  Icon
    OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
    Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present

Electronic Book and Document Collections

  • CAB eBooks [via CAB Direct]  
      
      Icon
    FARMED OR DOMESTICATED ANIMALS. CABI ebooks now provides access to over 532 agricultural titles (more than 9,000 individual chapters). The archives from 2000-2007 includes 400+ titles (with over 6,500 individual chapters). This collection is divided into six core subject collections: Agriculture; Animal and Veterinary Sciences; Human, Food and Nutrition Sciences; Plant Sciences; Environmental Sciences; and Leisure and Tourism.

    PLEASE NOTE: This collection does *not* include ALL books published by CABI but selected titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen *not* to include textbooks in this package. {RG 12/16/13}
    Coverage: 2000-present
    CABI's ebook coverage showing two collections (Front file & archives)
  • Springer eBooks Package  Icon
    UC-wide licensed three-year (2013-2015) package for Springer eBooks and includes more than 55,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. {RG 12/11/13}
    Coverage: 2005-2014
  • ENVIROnetBASE [via CRCnetBASE]  Icon
    This full-text ENVIROnetBASE collection includes over 600 environmental sciences handbooks and includes indexing of chapters and their figures, charts, tables, illustrations, formulas and rules of thumb. Environmental sciences areas covered include environmental engineering and biotechnology, agricultural and natural resources, ecology, pollution and more. {RG 12/11/13}
    ENVIROnetBASE scope
  • UC Press eBooks Collection [via eScholarship]
    The University of California eBooks Collection includes about 2,000 titles and is made available through a partnership between the University of California Press and the California Digital Library's eScholarship program. About 25% of the titles are available to the general public; the rest are for University of California faculty, staff, and students only.
    Coverage: 1982-2004
  • Journal Citation Reports (JCR)  
      
      Icon
    Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.
    Release Coverage: 2007-2013 (for 2006-2012 data)
    Information for New JCR Users
    Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
    Using JCR
  • Safari Tech Books Online  Icon
    A collection of computing books that includes the full text of over 300 O'Reilly Press books dating from 2004 to the present. Safari will grow to include all new O'Reilly titles, including the popular In a Nutshell books on important computing topics. The full-text is searchable across titles and searches can be limited to code fragments. Books can also be browsed by topic. Books can be read online, or individual chapter sections can be printed out or emailed. Access is limited to 28 simultaneous UC connections.
    Coverage: 2004-present.
    RSS feed of new titles in Safari

Protocols and Methods Resources

  • Current Protocols Series [Wiley]  
      
      Icon
    Ten major laboratory methods and protocols series covering the areas of molecular biology, nucleic acid chemistry, cell biology, protein science, immunology, neuroscience, human genetics, pharmacology, toxicology, and cytometry. Includes basic, alternate, and support protocols with literature cited and information on suppliers for standard materials and preparation information for reagents and solutions. IMPORTANT NOTE: UC Davis does *NOT* license the following seven protocol titles: "Bioinformatics", "Chemical Biology", "Essential Laboratory Techniques", "Magnetic Resonance Imaging", "Microbiology", "Mouse Biology" (new with very little content) and "Stem Cell Biology". Covers over 15,000 updated, peer-reviewed protocols.
    Coverage: Updated quarterly or more frequently
  • Springer Protocols  
      
      Icon
    Springer Protocols contains more than 34,000 (as of September 2014) molecular biology and biomedical peer-reviewed protocols, mostly from the classic series Methods in Molecular Biology, formerly published by Humana Press. Other series included are: Methods in Molecular Medicine; Methods in Biotechnology; Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology; and Neuromethods. Also included are protocols from laboratory handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.
    Coverage: 1980-present
    Ten-page User Guide
  • Cold Spring Harbor Protocols  Icon
    A definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database covers specific sections on: Antibodies, Bioinformatics/Genomics, Cell Biology, Chromatography, Computational Biology, DNA Delivery/Gene Transfer, Electrophoresis, Genetics, High-Throughput Analysis, Imaging/Microscopy, Immunology, Laboratory Organisms, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Plant Biology, Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR), Proteins and Proteomics, RNA Interference (RNAi)/siRNA, Stem Cells, and Transgenic Technology. Unique to this resource is the ability to submit a protocol. Other unique features include protocol recipes and protocol cautions. Coverage: 2006-present {RG 12/11/13}
    Search Help
  • Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)  
      
      Icon
    Author: MYJoVE Corporation
    Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format.
    July 2014: JoVE Science Education section in process for licensing {still not accessible September 2014}
    Coverage: Access currently to JoVE General section and all journal subsections
    Date: 2006- (General) 2013- (subsections)
  • Methods in Enzymology [Science Direct -- Elsevier]  Icon
    Methods in Enzymology is the classic laboratory methods/protocols book series. The complete backfile of the full-text is available back to volume 1 from 1955. Direct article/chapter links are provided from core subject databases such as PubMed and BIOSIS Previews. Contains detailed protocols and descriptions of biochemical and biophysical techniques for research in biological and molecular sciences. More than 300 volumes are browse-able by individual volumes online from 1955 to the present or by searching across the collection by title, author, abstract, and keyword. Full-text access to articles is available in HTML and PDF formats. {RG 12/111/13}
  • Bio-protocol
    A rapidly growing collection of peer-reviewed, life science protocols organized by 11 different fields of study and 10 different organisms. Protocols are organized chronologically with a detailed guide on how to reproduce a given experiment. Each protocol also contains an interactive and moderated Q & A section to facilitate open communication between protocol authors and the research community. Coverage: Jan 2011 – present.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

  • Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia [Gale Virtual Reference Library]  Icon
    Extensive, completely revised and updated 17-volume version of the original work published in Germany in 1960. Incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community. Volume 1: Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes; Volume 2: Protostomes; Volume 3: Insects; Volumes 4-5: both concerning Fishes; Volume 6: Amphibians; Volume 7: Reptiles; Volumes 8-11: Birds; Volumes 12-16: Mammals Volume 17: cumulative index.

    •Each entry by family includes taxonomic placement & brief details including thumbnail description, size, number of genera/species, habitat, conservation status, & distribution map.

    •Detailed sections describe: evolution & systematics; physical characteristics; distribution; habitat; behavior; feeding ecology & diet; reproductive biology; conservation status; significance to humans; and end with lengthy species accounts
  • Encyclopedia of Biodiversity [Science Direct -- Elsevier]  Icon
    Editor: Simon Levin
    The 2nd edition of this 7 volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of biodiversity. "Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity." Over 320 articles with "approximately 1,800 figures and 350 tables complement the text, and more than 3,000 glossary entries explain key terms". Topics range from: Agriculture; Conservation & Restoration; Economics of Biodiversity; Environmental Conditions & Effects; Evolution; Extinctions; Genetics; Geographic & Global Issues; Habitats & Ecosystems; Human Effects & Interventions; Invertebrates; Microbial Diversity; Plant Biodiversity; Population Issues; Public Policies & Attitudes; Species Interactions & Interrelationships; Systematics & Species Concept; Techniques & Measurements; Theories & Concepts of Biodiversity; to Vertebrates {RG 12/11
  • Dictionary of Scientific Biography (complete) [via Gale Virtual Reference Library]  Icon
    This classic encyclopedia covering scientists from all time periods and all fields of science has been completely revised. This "complete" online version includes all the entries from both the new (2008) edition and the original edition.
  • Encyclopedia of Entomology [via Springer]  
      
      Icon
    Author: John L. Capinera (Editor)
    The Encyclopedia of Entomology includes contributions from 450 entomologists from 40 countries which provide a worldwide overview of insects and their close relatives. Coverage includes insect classification, behavior, ecology, genetics and evolution, physiology, and management, and references to relevant literature. All of the major arthropod groups are addressed, along with many important families and species. Special emphasis on insect relationships with people, medical entomology, biological control and insect pathology. Presents biographical sketches of hundreds of entomologists who have made important contributions to the discipline since its origin. Valuable source of information for scientists and students in agronomy, botany, disease biology, ecology, evolutionary biology, forestry, genetics, horticulture, parasitology, toxicology, and zoology. {RG 12/16/13}
    Date: 2008

Handbooks and Tables

  • Zoology Online  Icon
    Author: Editor-in-Chief: Schmidt-Rhaesa, Andreas
    RESEARCH level handbook with GERMAN as first language. Online continuously updated version of De Gruyter's Handbook of Zoology covering over 100 years of zoological research. Includes original Handbook material (> 28,000 pages) reordered along taxonomic (instead of bibliographical) categories. {RG 12/13/13}

    PLEASE NOTE: publication language of the core historical volumes is German. ENGLISH language sections are currently under the Browseable section "Ahead of Print" but are slowly being integrated into the main volumes below.

    Browseable volumes are organized in 8 larger volume collections as follows:

    •Protozoa, Porifera, Colenteratea, Mesozoa (Vol. 1)
    •Vermes Amera (Vol. 2)
    •Arthropoda ex. Insecta (Vol. 3)
    •Arthropoda: Insecta (Vol. 4)
    •Solenogastres, Mollusca, Echinoderma (Vol. 5)
    •Pisces/Amphibia (Vol. 6)
    •Reptilia, Aves (Vol. 7)
    •Mammalia (Vol. 8)

Images

  • BIODIDAC: A bank of digital resources for teaching biology
    More than 6780 items are arranged in categories of: Eubacteria, Protista , Fungi, Plantae, Animalia, Human Biology, and Histology. In addition to images, video and animations are also included.
    USE INFORMATION from the website: "Copying the material, modifying and adapting it to meet the professor's needs, and subsequent distribution to students is permitted with the condition that this is noncommercial, that the supplier (BIODIDAC) of the material is acknowledged, and that its use is registered."
    NOTE: Some items only described in French. {RG 12/13/13}
    Coverage: 1996-2001
  • Morphbank :: Biological Imaging
    "Morphbank :: Biological Imaging is a continuously growing database of images that scientists use for international collaboration, research and education. Images deposited in Morphbank :: Biological Imaging document a wide variety of research including: specimen-based research in comparative anatomy, morphological phylogenetics, taxonomy and related fields focused on increasing our knowledge about biodiversity. The project receives its main funding from the Biological Databases and Informatics program of the National Science Foundation (Grant DBI-0446224). "
  • AP Images [via EBSCO]  Icon
    This site is an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the Associated Press news service, historic images. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards and all include descriptive captions and source information.
    Coverage: 1844-present; current file contains 1995-present
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip