This guide was developed at the request of UCD French Studies faculty member Julia Simon, on behalf of the many faculty, students, and staff affiliated with the Davis Humanities Institute's Eighteenth-Century Studies Research Cluster.
- American Periodicals Series Online [via Proquest]
Searchable database of citations and digitized images of the pages of more than 1100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the early 20th century.
Coverage: 1741-1940s. Users can limit by publication date, including a date range, and thus restrict search results to items appearing between 1741 and 1799.
- Les Classiques des Sciences Sociales
Of special value to scholars with an interest in French language philosophers, historians, and social theorists. Authors represented include Descartes, Bayle, Diderot, Saint-Simon, Voltaire, Sainte-Beuve, Durkheim, Mauss, and Gaston Bachelard. Includes both French originals and a significant number of French translations of works originally appearing in other languages.Digitized texts are usually downloadable in three file formats (MS Word doc and rtf, and pdf).
- Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker
Access to a canonical collection of literature in German spanning eleven centuries. Covers the work of more than thirty authors, including early texts such as Lancelot and Ginover and Wolfram von Eschenbach, editions of important authors such as Herder, Kleist, and Büchner, and the works of philosophers such as Kant, Schleiermacher, and Fichte. Collections of historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts add context and background material.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online [via Gale]
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides full-text searchable access to the digital images of 150,000 books and other materials published during the 18th Century. Based on the English Short Title Catalog bibliography, it includes English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
- Early American Newspapers [via NewsBank]
Historic American newspapers from 1690-1876: images and full-text content, complementing the America's Historical Imprints (Early American Imprints) series. The core of the Readex collection is formed by Isaiah Thomas' own collection of colonial and early national period newspapers and supplemented by nearly two million issues added by Thomas' successors at the American Antiquarian Society, and from the collections of other institutions and societies.
- Early American Imprints, Series I, 1639-1800, Evans
Fulltext collection of books, pamphlets and periodicals published in the United States 1639- 1800. All aspects of 17th and 18th century life in America and Europe (especially England). Based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography listing all known publications of the period; developed from the microform set of those titles, Evans Early American Imprints Series I.
- Gallica Bibliotheque Numerique
Formerly Gallica Classique. One of the world's most advanced digital library collections, providing online access to millions of books, periodicals, images, videos, maps, sound files, manuscripts, and scores. Searchable in basic or advanced modes, and browsable by publication type. Originally an attempt to provide coverage of the Bibliotheque Nationale's vast holdings in French literature from the Middle Ages to the present, it now has digital access partnerships with a number of other major library collections substantially increasing its offerings. Includes links to other relevant sites.
- Retrospektive Digitalisierung wissenschaftlicher Rezensionsorgane und Literaturzeitschriften des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts aus dem deutschen Sprachraum
Open access site with fulltext of 45 German language periodicals from the Enlightenment.