This is the "Home" page of the "Drug Discovery, Development & Commercialization" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

This guide highlights information resources relevant to drug discovery, development, and commercialization.
Last Updated: Feb 3, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/drug_discovery Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Training

  • Making Medicines: The Process of Drug Development
    Access to this course is provided as a gift from Lilly. During this course, you will:
    •Gain deeper insights into the drug discovery and development process
    •Describe the regulatory environment under which drugs are developed
    •Learn how patient insights inform drug development and clinical trials
    •Identify key stakeholders, including healthcare providers, and their contributions in drug development
  • Training in Neurotherapeutics Discovery and Development
    In addition to providing content for a course offered by Michael Rogawski, MD and collaborators, includes other resources for learning about the process of drug discovery and development.

Welcome!

Welcome to the Drug Discovery, Development, and Commercialization Subject Guide.

Please let me know if you have questions about how to use any of the resources in this guide.  We can make an appointment for a consultation or I would be happy to answer a quick question by phone or email.  Let me know how I can help.     

     Drug Development Process Image
                         

Image credit:  Kate Marusina, PhD, MBA, Director of Clinical Trials, UC Davis Clinical and Translational Sciences Center.  Used with permission.        

      

    Drug Information Databases

    • DailyMed  
        
      As the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts), DailyMed provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in the United States. The over 8,000 drug records link to related government websites, such as: FDA Recalls, Market Withdrawals & Safety Alerts; ClinicalTrials.gov; and LactMed.
    • US Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
      The FDA website includes information about human drugs, vaccines, blood products and biologics, medical devices, plus veterinary and animal drugs. Information is provided about the regulatory process. Home page links to specific content for health consumers, providers, researchers, and industry.
    • NLM Drug Information Portal
      Provides cross-database search by drug name or category for multiple NLM and US Government resources: Drugs@FDA, DailyMed, PubChem, ToxNet, ClinicalTrials.gov. This enables navigation to drug and dietary supplement labels, drug structure and physical property information, and FDA approval documents.
    • MicroMedex Health  Icon
      Databases available via the MicroMedexHealth link are: P&T Quik Reports, Physicians Desk Reference (PDR), Martindale International drug information - including investigational and herbal drugs, POISINDEX, and DRUGDEX (Consults and Evaluations), MSDS from USP, POISINDEX, REPRORISK, DESEASEDEX (General and Emergency), Alternative Medicine, TOMES, RED BOOK, and NeoFax .
      These databases provide information on drugs including: administration, adverse effects, clinical applications, contraindications, dosage, indications, interactions, over-dosage, pharmacology, precautions, product/substance identification, toxicity, references, synonyms, and uses.

      For drug pricing information, use RED BOOK. From the Micromedex homepage --> select "Other tools" in the top menu.
    • Facts & Comparisons eAnswers  Icon
      This is an important drug databases for pharmacists, physicians and other clinicians. Includes dosing tools, clinical calculators, and information about drugs, orphan drugs, and off-label use.

    Librarian

    Profile Image
    Amy Studer
    Contact Info
    Blaisdell Medical Library
    (916) 734-0206
    acstuder@ucdavis.edu
    Send Email
     

    Acknowledgements

    Thanks to the following librarians:  Penny Coppernoll-Blach at the Biomedical LIbrary, UC San Diego; Edith Starbuck and Kristen Burgess at the University of Cininnati Libraries; and, Adam Seigel, Cory Craig, Bruce Abbott, and Axel Borg from the University Library at UC Davis.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip