This is the "Home" page of the "Resources in the Digital Humanities and Media Ecologies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Resources in the Digital Humanities and Media Ecologies   Tags: computers, cultural studies, digital, humanities, media, media studies  

This guide presents resources for exploring the digital humanities, ranging from the computational study of texts to the transformation of art and humanities through the use of digital media.
Last Updated: Aug 6, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/digital_humanities Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Journals

Blogs, Tools, and Announcements

  • Digital Humanities Now
    real-time, crowdsourced publication. It takes the pulse of the digital humanities community and tries to discern what articles, blog posts, projects, tools, collections, and announcements are worthy of greater attention.
  • DiRT: Digital Research Tools wiki
    DiRT collects information about tools and resources that can help scholars (particularly in the humanities and social sciences) conduct research more efficiently or creatively.
  • Conferences for Digital Humanities, Digital Archives, Digital Libraries, and Digital Museums
    Conferences for Digital Humanities, Digital Archives, Digital Libraries, and Digital Museums: An open Google calendar that lists meetings, symposia, seminars, institutes, and conferences aimed at professionals and students who are doing digital work in the humanities, in archives, in libraries, or in museums. Particularly helpful for conference organizers, who can use it to make sure their event doesn't conflict with another event. Anyone can add events.
  • The Stone and the Shell
    Ted Underwood, Associate Professor of English at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign engages with some of the questions that arise as humanities scholars become more involved in the processes of data-mining and the mathematical analyses of literary texts.
 

Recent Books

Some recent book on the integration of computers to humanities scholarship

Cover Art
Toward Spatial Humanities - Ian N. Gregory (Editor); Alistair Geddes (Editor)
Call Number: Shields Library D16 .T74 2014
ISBN: 9780253011862
Publication Date: 2014-03-01
The application of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to issues in history is among the most exciting developments in both digital and spatial humanities. Describing a wide variety of applications, the essays in this volume highlight the methodological and substantive implications of a spatial approach to history. They illustrate how the use of GIS is changing our understanding of the geographies of the past and has become the basis for new ways to study history. Contributors focus on current developments in the use of historical sources and explore the insights gained by applying GIS to develop historiography. Toward Spatial Humanities is a compelling demonstration of how GIS can contribute to our historical understanding.

Cover Art
Macroanalysis - Matthew L. Jockers
Call Number: Shields Library PN73 .J63 2013 Regular Loan
ISBN: 9780252079078
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
In this volume, Matthew L. Jockers introduces readers to large-scale literary computing and the revolutionary potential of macroanalysis--a new approach to the study of the literary record designed for probing the digital-textual world as it exists today, in digital form and in large quantities. Using computational analysis to retrieve key words, phrases, and linguistic patterns across thousands of texts in digital libraries, researchers can draw conclusions based on quantifiable evidence regarding how literary trends are employed over time, across periods, within regions, or within demographic groups, as well as how cultural, historical, and societal linkages may bind individual authors, texts, and genres into an aggregate literary culture.   Moving beyond the limitations of literary interpretation based on the "close-reading" of individual works, Jockers describes how this new method of studying large collections of digital material can help us to better understand and contextualize the individual works within those collections.

Cover Art
How We Think - N. Katherine Hayles
Call Number: Shields Library P96.T42 H39 2012 Regular Loan
ISBN: 9780226321424
Publication Date: 2012-06-05
"How do we think?" N. Katherine Hayles poses this question at the beginning of this bracing exploration of the idea that we think through, with, and alongside media. As the age of print passes and new technologies appear every day, this proposition has become far more complicated, particularly for the traditionally print-based disciplines in the humanities and qualitative social sciences. With a rift growing between digital scholarship and its print-based counterpart, Hayles argues for contemporary technogenesis--the belief that humans and technics are coevolving--and advocates for what she calls comparative media studies, a new approach to locating digital work within print traditions and vice versa. Hayles examines the evolution of the field from the traditional humanities and how the digital humanities are changing academic scholarship, research, teaching, and publication. She goes on to depict the neurological consequences of working in digital media, where skimming and scanning, or "hyper reading," and analysis through machine algorithms are forms of reading as valid as close reading once was. Hayles contends that we must recognize all three types of reading and understand the limitations and possibilities of each. In addition to illustrating what a comparative media perspective entails, Hayles explores the technogenesis spiral in its full complexity. She considers the effects of early databases such as telegraph code books and confronts our changing perceptions of time and space in the digital age, illustrating this through three innovative digital productions--Steve Tomasula's electronic novel, TOC; Steven Hall's The Raw Shark Texts; and Mark Z. Danielewski's Only Revolutions.   Deepening our understanding of the extraordinary transformative powers digital technologies have placed in the hands of humanists, How We Think presents a cogent rationale for tackling the challenges facing the humanities today.

Cover Art
Blogging - Jill Walker Rettberg
Call Number: Shields Library HM851 .R465 2014 Regular Loan
ISBN: 9780745663647
Publication Date: 2013-10-14
Thoroughly revised and updated, this new edition of Blogging provides an accessible study of a now everyday phenomenon and places it in a historical, theoretical and contemporary context. The second edition takes into account the most recent research and developments and provides current analyses of new tools for microblogging and visual blogging. Jill Walker Rettberg discusses the ways blogs are integrated into today's mainstream social media ecology, where comments and links from Twitter and Facebook may be more important than the network between blogs that was significant five years ago, and questions the shift towards increased commercialization and corporate control of blogs. The new edition also analyses how smart phones with cameras and social media have led a shift towards more visual emphasis in blogs, with photographs and graphics increasingly foregrounded. Authored by a scholar-blogger, this engaging book is packed with examples that show how blogging and related genres are changing media and communication. It gives definitions and explains how blogs work, shows how blogs relate to the historical development of publishing and communication and looks at the ways blogs structure social networks.

Cover Art
Writing at the Limit - Daniel Punday
Call Number: Shields Library PS374.N285 P86 2012 Regular Loan
ISBN: 9780803236462
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
While some cultural critics are pronouncing the death of the novel, a whole generation of novelists have turned to other media with curiosity rather than fear. These novelists are not simply incorporating references to other media into their work for the sake of verisimilitude, they are also engaging precisely such media as a way of talking about what it means to write and read narrative in a society filled with stories told outside the print medium. By examining how some of our best fiction writers have taken up the challenge of film, television, video games, and hypertext, Daniel Punday offers an enlightening look into the current status of such fundamental narrative concepts as character, plot, and setting. He considers well-known postmodernists like Thomas Pynchon and Robert Coover, more-accessible authors like Maxine Hong Kingston and Oscar Hijuelos, and unjustly overlooked writers like Susan Daitch and Kenneth Gangemi, and asks how their works investigate the nature and limits of print as a medium for storytelling. Writing at the Limit explores how novelists locate print writing within the contemporary media ecology, and what it really means to be writing at print’s media limit.

Cover Art
Computer Games and New Media Cultures - Johannes Fromme (Editor); Alexander Unger (Editor)
ISBN: 9400727763
Publication Date: 2012-05-25
Digital gaming is today a significant economic phenomenon as well as being an intrinsic part of a convergent media culture in postmodern societies. Its ubiquity, as well as the sheer volume of hours young people spend gaming, should make it ripe for urgent academic enquiry, yet the subject was a research backwater until the turn of the millennium. Even today, as tens of millions of young people spend their waking hours manipulating avatars and gaming characters on computer screens, the subject is still treated with scepticism in some academic circles. This handbook aims to reflect the relevance and value of studying digital games, now the subject of a growing number of studies, surveys, conferences and publications.As an overview of the current state of research into digital gaming, the 42 papers included in this handbook focus on the social and cultural relevance of gaming. In doing so, they provide an alternative perspective to one-dimensional studies of gaming, whose agendas do not include cultural factors. The contributions, which range from theoretical approaches to empirical studies, cover various topics including analyses of games themselves, the player-game interaction, and the social context of gaming. In addition, the educational aspects of games and gaming are treated in a discrete section. With material on non-commercial gaming trends such as ‘modding’, and a multinational group of authors from eleven nations, the handbook is a vital publication demonstrating that new media cultures are far more complex and diverse than commonly assumed in a debate dominated by concerns over violent content.

Cover Art
Debates in the Digital Humanities - Matthew K. Gold (Editor)
ISBN: 978-0-8166-7795-5
Publication Date: 2012-01-09

Encompassing new technologies, research methods, and opportunities for collaborative scholarship and open-source peer review, as well as innovative ways of sharing knowledge and teaching, the digital humanities promises to transform the liberal arts-and perhaps the university itself. Indeed, at a time when many academic institutions are facing austerity budgets, digital humanities programs have been able to hire new faculty, establish new centers and initiatives, and attract multimillion-dollar grants.

Clearly the digital humanities has reached a significant moment in its brief history. But what sort of moment is it?


Cover Art
Clio wired : the future of the past in the digital age - Roy Rosenzweig
Call Number: Shields Library D16.117 .R67 2011 Regular Loan
ISBN: 0231150865
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Switching codes: thinking through digital technology in the humanities and the arts - edited by Thomas Bartscherer and Roderick Coover.
Call Number: Shields Library: In Process
ISBN: 0226038300
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Reading Machines: Toward an Algorithmic Criticism - Stephen Ramsay
Call Number: Shields Library: In Process
ISBN: 9780252078200
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
A companion to digital humanities - Susan Schreibman, Raymond George Siemens, John M. Unsworth
ISBN: 1405103213

Cover Art
Electronic collaboration in the humanities : issues and options - Edited by James A. Inman, Cheryl Reed, Peter Sands.
Call Number: Shields Library AZ183.U5 E44 2004 Regular Loan
ISBN: 0805841466

Cover Art
Ex-foliations : reading machines and the upgrade path - Terry Harpold
Call Number: Shields Library TK7887.8.R4 H37 2009 Regular Loan
ISBN: 0816651019
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
The spatial humanities : GIS and the future of humanities scholars - edited by David J. Bodenhamer, John Corrigan, and Trevor M. Harris.
Call Number: Shields Library G70.212 .S654 2010 Regular Loan
ISBN: 0253355052

Cover Art
From papyrus to hypertext : toward the universal digital library - Christian Vandendorpe ; translated from the French by Phyllis Aronoff and Howard Scott.
Call Number: Shields Library P211 .V3613 2009 Regular Loan
ISBN: 0252076257
Publication Date: 2009

Centers and Associations

  • DHI2 : Digital Humanities Initiative: UC Davis
    DHI2 supports the ongoing evolution of the digital humanities at UC Davis, providing resources and research opportunities for scholars in the humanities and humanistic social scientists, artists, designers, media producers, and course instructors interested in utilizing advanced digital resources in the humanities classroom.
  • Center for Digital Humanities UCLA
    The UCLA DHC seeks to address these issues issues in the digital humanities by teaching students to create and critique media content, to develop the necessary skills and abilities to evaluate this content, to manipulate and transform digital technologies, and to develop the requisite literacy across information environments and media forms, including textual, aural, visual, and digital domains.
  • HAYSTAC: Humanities Arts, Science and Technology Advanced Collaboratory
    HAYSTAC supports interdisciplinary and inter-institutional collaborations through the creative use of computers. HAYSTAC is centered at Duke University
  • Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations
    The Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO) promotes and supports digital research and teaching across all arts and humanities disciplines, acting as a community-based advisory force, and supporting excellence in research, publication, collaboration and training.
  • NEH: Digital Humanities Office
    The Office of Digital Humanities (ODH) is an office within the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH). Our primary mission is to help coordinate the NEH's efforts in the area of digital scholarship.
  • DH Commons
    Digital Humanities Commons is a hub for people and organizations to find projects to work with, and for projects to find collaborators.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip