- American Factfinder
American Factfinder is the Census Bureau's data access point. It provides tools to look up, view and deliver data, reports, tables, maps and fact sheets on United States population, economy and industry statistics. Large and small scale geographies, eg., states, counties, places, census tracts and blocks can be searched. Data sets are from the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Annual Population Estimates, Economic Census, and annual economic surveys. All data sets and statistics may be freely downloaded or viewed online.American FactFinder: How do I find all the Census Tracts in a Place?
Coverage: Data sets are current and include the 2010 and 2000 Decennial Census, and the American Community Survey.
- Neighborhood Change Database [NCDB] Tract Data from 1970 to 2010
Neighborhood Change Database (NCDB) gives users instant access to US Census data from 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 at the census tract level. The All years normalized to 2010 selection allows you to compare data for various years. The data for years 1970, 1980, 1990, and 2000 are recalculated and normalized, and the report uses the 2010 tract ID (FIPS code). This allows you to compare data for various years within the exact same boundary definitions. By selecting "All years normalized to 2010" you can do actual apples-to-apples comparisons of historic data in 2010 tract definitions.American FactFinder: How do I find all the Census Tracts in a Place?
- NHGIS National Historical Geographic Information System
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) is a historical GIS project to create and freely disseminate a database incorporating all available aggregate census information for the United States between 1790 and 2000. The project has created one of the largest collections in the world of statistical census information, much of which was not previously available to the research community because of legacy data formats and differences between metadata formats. In addition, NHGIS has created cartographic boundary files compatible with every census, and over 50 million lines of metadata describing the collection. The statistical and geographic data are disseminated free of charge through a sophisticated online data access system.American FactFinder: How do I find all the Census Tracts in a Place?
- Historical Census Browser
This site allows users to examine, manipulate and map data from the U.S. Censuses from 1790-1960. It is a powerful and easy-to-use resource produced by the Geospatial and Statistical Data Center at the University of Virginia Library
- Population Reference Bureau PBR
The Population Reference Bureau website provides global population handbooks, serials, and reference publications, as well as data analysis tools for understanding and communicating population and health trends.
- ICPSR - Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest archive of digital social science data. ICPSR acquires, preserves, and distributes original research data. This site links to training and curricular material, and a database which provides access to publications based on ICPSR data holdings (see More Info.)
Related: Database of publications based on ICPSR data holdings
More information on ICPSR and other social science data are available from the Social Science Data Service
- Immigration Statistics - Data and Statistics from the Department of Homeland Security
Statistical data from the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics, profiles on legal permanent residents, and on naturalized citizens, mapping information available in pdf as well as downloadable data formats. Statistics include numbers of immigratants, status, country of origin, etc. Data available from 2004, with archived information from the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics back to 1996.
Related: Previous years from INS archived at DHS archived publications site
UNdata is an internet-based data service which brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point from which users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN System.