- American Factfinder
American Factfinder is the Census Bureau's data access point. It provides tools to look up, view and deliver data, reports, tables, maps and fact sheets on United States population, economy and industry statistics. Large and small scale geographies, eg., states, counties, places, census tracts and blocks can be searched. Data sets are from the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Annual Population Estimates, Economic Census, and annual economic surveys. All data sets and statistics may be freely downloaded or viewed online.
Coverage: Data sets are current and include the 2010 and 2000 Decennial Census, and the American Community Survey.
- Data.CA.GOV - State of California Data
Includes links to numeric and geographic data covering a variety of topics including demography, health statistics, state contracts, traffic records. Statistics and data sets are available from state agencies and links are provided to other data sources - local, federal and other sources.
As a priority Open Government Initiative for President Obama's administration, Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.
- Historical Statistics of the United States, Earliest Times to the Present, Millennial Edition [via Cambridge University Press]
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) was culled from more than 1,000 sources to produce nearly 2,000 tables containing some 37,000 time series covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: agriculture, population, the economy, government, welfare and work. Each series is fully documented and placed in historical context by a scholar in the field. Tables can be downloaded and viewed, as well as graphed and merged into custom tables.
The 5-volume print edition of Historical Statistics of the United States is available in Shields Library Gov Info Reference and H/SS Reference (HA202 .H57) and the Agricultural and Resource Economics Library (HA202 .H57 2006)
- ICPSR - Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest archive of digital social science data. ICPSR acquires, preserves, and distributes original research data. This site links to training and curricular material, and a database which provides access to publications based on ICPSR data holdings (see More Info.)
Related: Database of publications based on ICPSR data holdings
More information on ICPSR and other social science data are available from the Social Science Data Service
- International Historical Statistics
The online IHS updates the last print edition of International Historical Statistics, which was published in 2007 in 3 volumes. It now includes 260 years of rich data, collected between 1750-2010 and available online. Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files.
- Neighborhood Change Database [NCDB] Tract Data from 1970 to 2010
Neighborhood Change Database (NCDB) gives users instant access to US Census data from 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 at the census tract level. The All years normalized to 2010 selection allows you to compare data for various years. The data for years 1970, 1980, 1990, and 2000 are recalculated and normalized, and the report uses the 2010 tract ID (FIPS code). This allows you to compare data for various years within the exact same boundary definitions. By selecting "All years normalized to 2010" you can do actual apples-to-apples comparisons of historic data in 2010 tract definitions.
- OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
OFFSTATS provides links to free official statistical data sites from around the world. Find statistics by country, regional or topic. Links are to official statistical agencies in countries, international organizations, and other organizations. OFFSTATS is sponsored by the University of Auckland Library.
- Proquest Statistical Insight
Index and abstract to government statistics helps to locate data. Provides quick statistical tables and also indexes a large number of statistics from federal government, international and state sources. Search by topic. Includes the Statistical Abstract Online.
- Rand State Statistics
Contains data in the following categories: Business and economics; Community; Education; Energy and environment; Government finance; Health and socioeconomic; and: Population and demographics for California. Emphasis in on California data but data for other states are available for state level geography. (Also Rand California)
- Social Science Data Service
A service within the UC Davis Division of Social Sciences. The SSDS maintains the campus membership to the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research and the Roper Center Public Opinion Archives. The data archive is also a member of the Field Institute Academic Consortium providing access to the Field (California) Poll to the UC Davis campus and the State Data Center network of the U.S. Bureau of the Census. Consult the SSDS Dataverse Network for specific resources.
Statista is a statistics portal that provides data on many different topics from more than 18,000 different sources. Topics include agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more. Sources are government agencies and business sources. The focus on current (not historical) statistics.
Data are downloadable in Excel, PowerPoint, and JPG.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States [Proquest Online Edition]
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. The government-published Statistical Abstract of the U.S. was discontinued following publication of the 2012 edition.
- Statistical Abstracts of the World [Proquest Online]
This resource aggregates the statistical abstracts of more than 50 countries and makes the content available through a single-search interface. These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere.
Also includes data from the United Nations Demographic Yearbook, World Development Indicators, and Key Figures on Europe.
UNdata is an internet-based data service which brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point from which users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN System.
- Virtual CD-ROM/Floppy Disk Library (Indiana University)
This web site provides public access and preservation services for the nearly 5,000 CD-ROMs, DVDs, and floppy disks distributed by the GPO under the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP). These tangible products have been received through the FDLP since the 1980s and consist of millions of individual files containing fundamental data on economics, the environment, population, and life and physical sciences. The products will be more easily accessed through this project as the collection becomes more comprehensive.