This is the "Scholarly Articles" page of the "UWP104D (Constable)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

UWP104D (Constable)  

Last Updated: Aug 22, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/constable Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Scholarly Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

What is Scholarly?

Tips for Database Searching

1. Limits: To focus your search, utilize database features that allow you to specify criteria such as date, language and publication type, e.g. peer reviewed journals

2. Sort Order: Note how your search results are organized - many databases sort by date (most recent articles appear first) rather than relevance

3. Subject Terms: Pay attention to the subject terms (the vocabulary used by the discourse community) because they can lead to other relevant articles on your topic

4. Get an Article: If the full article is not available, use uc-ellinks

5. Not Satisfied? If you are not finding relevant results about your topic, try different combinations of search terms, or select another database to search

      

    Databases

    Use the subscription databases listed below to search for citations to scholarly articles.

    If you are off campus, make sure you download and use the VPN

    • Education Source [via EBSCO]  Icon
      The largest and most complete collection of fulltext journals in education research.
    • ERIC  Icon
      Search for citations related to education and schools. NOTE: There is also a free version of ERIC, https://eric.ed.gov/ that is available to the public.
    • Academic Search Complete  Icon
      This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study. It provides a good starting point for research on a wide range of topics.
    • JSTOR  Icon
      Fulltext access to backfiles of hundreds of important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines, including Education.
    • Sage Journals  Icon
      Search over 400 journals from the publisher Sage. Particularly strong in the Social Sciences, including Education.

    • Subject Guides
      Use the Subject Guides to identify additional databases to search:
      Education
      University Writing Program
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip