Good sources for finding recent research, where you might find interesting topics, are the weekly magazines MENTAL HEALTH WEEKLY, SCIENCE NEWS and NEW SCIENTIST. Monthly magazines are DISCOVER, PSYCHOLOGY TODAY, SCIENTIFIC AMERICAN, SCIENTIFIC AMERICAN MIND. Premier licensed psychology and human development journals include Annual Reviews in Psychology, Psychological Bulletin, Psychological Reviews, Child Development, Early Human Development, and Journal of Adolescent Health.
Once you've picked a topic, you will need to think of search terms to use for locating articles and other publications. Harvest, the UC Davis Library online catalog, uses the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) and also (for books owned at the medical libraries) the National Library of Medicine (NLM) terms. Each library subject database also has subject lists/thesauri that can help you precisely search your topic, e.g PsycINFO uses the APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms, PubMed has MeSH, ERIC has the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors, and BIOSIS Previews has Concept Codes and more.
Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines including medical specialties.
NOTE that *review* journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, taking space away from original research titles, so use with caution. Typical review series may have the following words in their title: Advances in ... ; Annual Review of ...; Critical Reviews in ... ; Current Opinion in ... ; Expert Reviews in ... ; International Review of ... ; Progress in ... ; Trends in ...
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.
Release Coverage: 1997-2015 (for 1996-2014 data)
•Information for New JCR Users
•Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
- Proquest Statistical Insight
Index and abstract to government statistics helps to locate data. Provides quick statistical tables and also indexes a large number of statistics from federal government, international and state sources. Search by topic. Includes the Statistical Abstract Online.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States [pre-2013]
FedStats is a gateway to statistics from over 100 United States Federal government agencies. Link directly to statistical data from agencies, for example, the Census Bureau, and the National Agricultural Statistics Service. Access statistics by topics or subjects like crime, education, etc. Search across Federal government agencies using words or phrases to find agencies with statistics. Data sets vary by agency and format.
- International Human Development Indicators
United Nations Development Programme
The human development data utilized in the preparation of the Human Development Index (HDI) and other composite indices featured in the Human Development Report are provided by a variety of public international sources and represent the best and most current statistics available for those indicators at the time of the preparation of this annual report. Calculations of HDI values and country rankings are the sole responsibility of the Human Development Report Office.
- APA Style Central [TRIAL: Jan 2-June 8, 2017]
TRIAL! APA Style CENTRAL® is the only authoritative and complete online environment for teaching, writing, and publishing in APA Style. Designed to help users develop their writing and professional research skills, APA Style CENTRAL combines sophisticated learning and teaching tools, advanced writing and content management technology, and full integration of APA's best-selling Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association® to create an unparalleled web-based suite of integrated services and tools.
Includes a digital library of APA Style quick guides and tutorials to refine your writing. Learn how to plan sound research with APA's research tools and build a reference library with customized APA Style reference templates. Translate research into concise articles that are formatted for style. Use the browse and search features to identify the best journals for publication.
- EndNote Instructional Webpage
Author: UC Davis Libraries
EndNote, licensed for all UCD full-time students, faculty, researchers and staff, is a bibliographic reference manager which enables citations to be stored, searched, and quickly inserted into research papers in the format of many scholarly journals.
- EndNote Intro for BioAg Researchers
Author: Ruth Gustafson
This webpage is the step-by-step guide for the monthly in-person EndNote Intro course taught in Shields Library.