..Worksheet Guide & Information...Information on Databases
This is the "...Information on Databases" page of the "Animal Alternatives Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Animal Alternatives Information  

UC Center for Animal Alternatives, 1991-2006.
UC Davis Center for Animal Alternatives Information, 2006-2016.
Last Updated: Aug 1, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/animalalternatives Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

...Information on Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Information on Databases

Agricola
Published by the National Agricultural Library, the Agricola database describes publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including: animal science; veterinary science; entomology; plant science; forestry; aquaculture and fisheries; farming, farming systems and crops; agricultural economics; extension and education; food and human nutrition; and earth sciences and environmental sciences.
Covers 1970s to present.
AltBib
Bibliography on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing, National Library of Medicine. The intent of the bibliography is to assist in identifying methods and procedures helpful in supporting the development, testing, application, and validation of alternatives to the use of vertebrates in biomedical research and toxicology testing. This bibliography is produced from MEDLARS database searches, performed and analyzed by subject experts from the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the Specialized Information Services Division (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Covers 1980s to present.
AltWeb
The Alternatives to Animal Testing website was created to serve as a gateway to alternatives news, information, and resources. Altweb is also now the U.S. home of the journal ALTEX: Alternatives to Animal Experimentation, which is the official publication of the Johns Hopkins Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing (CAAT)
ANZCCART – Australian and New Zealand Council for the Care of Animals in Research and Teaching.
Many useful resources including Fact Sheets, Newsletters, and publications.
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
Includes information on the science, technology and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms. Database consists of the following subfiles: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources; ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources; ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts; and ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts.
Covers 1970s to present.
AWI
Comfortable Quarters.
Provides access to several focused databases, including primate enrichment, lab animal refinement, rodent and rabbit enrichment, and species-specific housing and handling recommendations.
BIOSIS
All life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, botany, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials and conference proceedings. 1969-present
CAB
Citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology.
Covers over 11,000 journals & conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture, 1972-present.
CCAC
CCAC is the national organization responsible for setting and maintaining standards for the care and use of animals in research, teaching and testing throughout Canada.
CRIS – Current Research Information System
The USDA's documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research and education projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry.
DTIC – Defense Technical Information Center
Provider of DoD technical information. DTIC links information among DoD personnel, DoD contractors and potential contractors and other U.S. Government agency personnel and their contractors.
ECVAM
Promotes the scientific and regulatory acceptance of non-animal tests which are of importance to biomedical sciences through research, test development and validations and the establishment of a specialized database. It is the leading international centre for coordinating the validation of alternative methods, providing advice on theoretical and practical aspects of the validation of new tests, the current state of validation of alternative methods for use in toxicology and the biosciences in general, in vitro test for topical toxicity, embryotoxicity, haematotoxicity, metabolism-mediated toxicity, metal toxicity, neurotoxicity and nephrotoxicity, and general animal welfare issues (scientific and ethical), such as the use of transgenic animals.
EPA EcoTox
The ECOTOX (ECOTOXicology) database provides single chemical toxicity information for aquatic and terrestrial life. ECOTOX is a useful tool for examining impacts of chemicals on the environment. Peer-reviewed literature is the primary source of information encoded in the database. Pertinent information on the species, chemical, test methods, and results presented by the author(s) are abstracted and entered into the database. Another source of test results is independently compiled data files provided by various United States and International government agencies. ECOTOX is a unified interface providing access to three U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) ecological effects databases: AQUIRE (all aquatic species including freshwater and marine); TERRETOX (terrestrial animal mainly wildlife); and PHYTOTOX (terrestrial plant). Ecology, Toxicology.
1972-present
ERIC – The Education Resources Information Center
Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world's premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. The ERIC Database indexes and abstracts education and education related journals, studies and reports, with links to full-text studies and reports from 1993 forward,
1966-present.
Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide
Covers fish, fisheries and aquaculture, including biology, genetics, natural history, behavior, diseases, parasites, limnology and oceanography, habitat management, culture, propagation, fish processing, marketing, and fisheries management.
ICCVAM – Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Validation of Alternative Methods
ICCVAM Develop and validate new test methods; establish criteria and processes for the validation and regulatory acceptance of toxicological testing methods; generate, use, or provide information from toxicity test methods for risk assessment purposes.
INVITTOX
Data bank of in vitro techniques in toxicology. The aim of INVITTOX protocols is to present precise and up-to-date technical information of the performance of the in vitro techniques currently in use and under development, their applications, advantages and drawbacks. The information is obtained directly from those scientists already employing such methods. Each protocol includes a detailed methodology sufficient to enable another researcher to carry out a procedure, experimental data, where available, the rationale for choice of technique and endpoint, and critical assessment comments about the accuracy of the system, its sensitivity, ease of implementation, shortcomings, etc.
Interspecies Database
   Helps researchers to make an optimal choice of species and strain of the animal model, which is essential for efficient extrapolation of animal 
   data to humans or other animals.
JAX Resources
Supports and provides access to a variety of tools: Mice Database, Mouse Genome Informatics, International Mouse Strains Resources, Mouse Resources, and Informational Resources.
NCI Mouse Models
The NCI Mouse Models of Human Cancers Consortium (MMHCC) is a collaborative program designed to derive and characterize mouse models, and to generate resources, information, and innovative approaches to the application of mouse models in cancer research.In addition to the MMHCC initiative, the NCI sponsors numerous other projects to develop, analyze, and apply mouse cancer models. This site is intended to provide the cancer research community with information about mouse models and mouse research generated by the MMHCC and other NCI-supported projects
NIH Model Organisms for Biomedical Research
This web site provides information about national and international activities and major resources that are being developed to facilitate biomedical research using the animal models listed here.
NORINA – Norwegian Inventory of Alternatives, Norwegian Reference Centre for Laboratory Animal Science and Alternatives.
Database of audiovisuals, computer programs, cd-roms, interactive videos, and other alternatives for use in the biological sciences
NTIS – National Technical Information Service
The central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information.
PubMed
Citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, molecular biology and genetics. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Covers 1950s to present.
PsycInfo
PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations and even important internet sites in psychology and related disciplines, most with abstracts.
Covers 1840s to present.
RePORTER – Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools Expenditures & Results
A searchable database of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions. It is a biomedical database system containing information on research projects and programs supported by the Department of Health and Human Services
1986-present.
RTECS – Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances.
Provides toxicological information on over 140,000 chemical substances. Records include toxicological data and reviews, international workplace exposure limits, references to US standards and regulations, analytical methods and exposure and hazard survey data. RTECS is a compendium of data extracted from the open scientific literature. Six types of toxicity data are included in the file: (1) primary irritation; (2) mutagenic effects; (3) reproductive effects; (4) tumorigenic effects; (5) acute toxicity; and (6) other multiple dose toxicity. Specific numeric toxicity values such as LD50, LC50, TDLo, and TCLo are noted as well as species studied and route of administration used.
TOXNET
Network of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and environmental health. National Library of Medicine, Specialized Information Services cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas. Includes: Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS), Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology and Environmental Teratology Information Center (DART/ETIC), GENE-TOX, TOXLINE, Toxics Release Inventory (TRI), International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER), CHEMIDplus among others. New databases or services include Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders (WISER); Haz-Map, Household Products Database, and TOXMAP.
Web of Science
Provides access to the three ISI (Institute for Scientific Information) Citation Databases: Science Citation Index; Social Sciences Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences. Unique capability to search for articles that cite a known author or work
1975-present.
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide
Indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians; covering all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management
1935-date.
ZEBET
Responsible for documentation and information on alternatives to animals in research and testing. The ZEBET database AnimAlt is mainly designed to support the examination of the imperative nature of animal experiments by providing information on possible alternative methods. To this end, the ZEBET database offers validated information on alternative methods. Since February 2000 the ZEBET database on alternative methods to animal experiments has been accessible without license fees on the Internet in German and English through the German Institute for Medical Documentation and Information (DIMDI). The databank includes: description of specific methods; evaluations of those methods according to the 3R's, a description of the experiment that can be so modified, names of scientists who are experienced in the use of that method, and references to literature on the specific method and the experiment that can be replaced, reduced or refined.
Zfin – Zebra Fish Information Network
Addresses zebrafish genetics and development via an online database of information for zebrafish researchers. ZFIN serves as the zebrafish model organism database. The long term goals for ZFIN are a) to be the community database resource for the laboratory use of zebrafish, b) to develop and support integrated zebrafish genetic, genomic and developmental information, c) to maintain the definitive reference data sets of zebrafish research information, d) to link this information extensively to corresponding data in other model organism and human databases, e) to facilitate the use of zebrafish as a model for human biology and f) to serve the needs of the research community.
FishBase
FishBase is a global information system with all you ever wanted to know about fishes. FishBase is a relational database with information to cater to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and many more. FishBase on the web contains practically all fish species known to science.
Zoological Record
Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, conservation and environmental science, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, marine and freshwater biology, nutrition, parasitology and disease, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, veterinary studies, zoogeography and fossil records. Especially strong in new species reports and field studies.
1978-date
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip