This is the "Scholarly Articles" page of the "UWP104A (Bright)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

UWP104A (Bright)  

Last Updated: Jun 7, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/uwp104a_winter2015 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Scholarly Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

What is Scholarly?

Tips for Database Searching

1. Limits: To focus your search, utilize database features that allow you to specify criteria such as date, language and publication type, e.g. peer reviewed journals

2. Sort Order: Note how your search results are organized - many databases sort by date (most recent articles appear first) rather than relevance

3. Subject Terms: Pay attention to the subject terms because they can lead to other relevant articles on your topic

4. Get an Article: If the full article is not available, use uc-ellinks

5. Not Satisfied? If you are not finding relevant results about your topic, try different combinations of search terms, or select another database to search

      

    Databases

    Use these subscription databases to search for citations to peer-reviewed articles.

    If you are off campus, make sure you use the VPN

    • Education Source  Icon
      Suggested search terms:
      - bookstore* and campus
      - college students transportation (SU Subject search)
      - "sexual assault" and (college* or universit*)
      - student activities and concerts
      - "student unions" and design
      - universities and colleges food service (SU Subject search)
    • TRID (Transportation Research International Documentation)
      Suggested search terms:
      - "campus transportation"
      - campus bus
    • Academic Search Complete  Icon
      Suggested search terms:
      - "light emitting diodes" and street* and energy

    • Highwire Search and Retrieve  Icon
      Highwire Search and Retrieve is a search engine that allows one to search through the full text of numerous scholarly and peer-reviewed journals, including many that are accessible from the UC Davis IP address or proxy server. The collection contains Duke University Press, Oxford University Press and Sage Electronic Journals, as well as many other university press journals and important academic society publications. Highwire Press is a product of Stanford University.

      Related: Highwire Search and Retrieve Browse the titles of UC Davis journal subscriptions available.
    • JSTOR  Icon
      JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

      Related:
      About J Stor
      Visit this page to learn about the holdings of JSTOR journals. See Harvest Library Catalog for UC Davis access to recent and current materials.
    • Web of Science  Icon
      Search for article citations from journals in the sciences, social sciences and humanities
    • SUBJECT GUIDES
      Use the Subject Guides to identify additional databases to search.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip