This is the "Scholarly Articles" page of the "UWP101 (Sperber)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

UWP101 (Sperber)  

Last Updated: Jul 6, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/uwp101_sperber Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Scholarly Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

What is Scholarly?

Tips for Database Searching

1. Limits: To focus your search, utilize database features that allow you to specify criteria such as date, language and publication type, e.g. peer reviewed journals

2. Sort Order: Note how your search results are organized - many databases sort by date (most recent articles appear first) rather than relevance

3. Subject Terms: Pay attention to the subject terms because they can lead to other relevant articles on your topic

4. Get an Article: If the full article is not available, use uc-ellinks

5. Not Satisfied? If you are not finding relevant results about your topic, try different combinations of search terms, or select another database to search

      

    Databases

    Use these subscription databases to search for citations to peer-reviewed articles.

    If you are off campus, make sure you log into the VPN first!

    • Academic Search Complete  Icon
      This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study. It provides a good starting point for research on a wide range of topics.
    • JSTOR  Icon
      Provides access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines.
    • Web of Science  Icon
      Search for article citations from journals in the sciences, social sciences and humanities


    • Business Source Complete  Icon
      Article citations from topics in business and economics.
    • Communication Abstracts  Icon
      Covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
    • Education Source [via EBSCO]  Icon
      The largest and most complete collection of full text journals in education research.
    • PsycINFO  Icon
      Includes topics in psychology and related areas.
    • PubMed  Icon
      Search for citations for articles related to health and medicine.
    • Sociological Abstracts  Icon
      Includes citations to articles published in sociology and the behavioral sciences.
    • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts  Icon
      Search for article citations from more than 1000 journals in political science and international relations.



    • SUBJECT GUIDES
      Use the Subject Guides to identify additional databases to search.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip