Link My NCBI & eRA CommonsAdding Citations & DelegatesMy Bibliography
NIHMS: Submitting ManuscriptsNIHMS: ApprovalsClaim a NIHMS Record
This is the "Adding Citations & Delegates" page of the "NIH Public Access Policy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Last Updated: Feb 10, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/nih_mandate Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Adding Citations & Delegates Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How To Add Citations to MyBibliography

There are four options for adding citations to MyBibliography:

  • Send PubMed search results to MyBibliography (recommended)
  • Add from PubMed within MyBibliography
  • Add manually
  • Upload a MEDLINE or RIS file

For more guidance about the last three options, see:  https://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/techbull/ma16/ma16_my_ncbi_enhancements.html

 

Sending PubMed Search Results to My Bibliography

Sign into My NCBI. 

Search PubMed to find articles you want to add.

Single Citation Matcher Author

From within a particular article record or the search results, click on the 'Send to' drop-down.

Click on 'My Bibliography' and then the 'Add to My Bibliography' button that appears.

Send articles from PubMed to MyBib

Adding citations to My Bibliography

NOTE: You are responsible for ensuring that any NIH funded publication for which you were either an author OR the PI of the grant.  This means you may need to include articles for which you were not an author but which were supported by a grant you are a PI on.

 

Using EndNote to Create a RIS File for Upload to MyBibliography

Here are the steps for creating a RIS format file from an EndNote Library to be used for uploading citations into an eRA Commons linked MyBibliography account:

1. In style menu, select RefMan (RIS) Export style. If it is not already listed as an option, find it in "Select Another Style."

2. In EndNote Library menu, select File-->Export, with the following settings:

    Save as type: Text File (*.txt)

    Export style: RefMan (RIS) Export

3. Rename the *.txt file manually by appending *.ris to the file name

4. Upload the .ris file into NCBI MyBibliography

 

Add Delegates

Use the 'Delegate' feature to share the work with others in your lab, assistants, or with librarians.

1. From My Bibliography, click on 'Edit settings' for My Bibliography.

My Bibliography Settings Link

2. At the bottom of the page click on the link to 'Add a Delegate'

My Bibliography Add Delegate

3. Enter the email of the person you want to add as a delegate and click the 'Add Delegate' button.  You can add more than one delegate if necessary.

 

Confirm Delegate Connection

If you have been assigned to be a delegate for someone's My Bibliography and that person has already added you as a delegate in their account you can follow the steps below to confirm.

  1. Sign into your My NCBI account.
  2. Respond to the confirmation email you received from My NCBI by clicking on the included URL.
  3. When prompted, click on the 'Confirm Connection button.

My Bibliography delegate confirm

After completing these steps, a link to the delegated bibliography will be listed in your collections in your My NCBI account.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip