This is the "Assignment #1" page of the "UWP101 (Walsh)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

UWP101 (Walsh)  

Last Updated: Aug 7, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/uwp101_walsh Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Assignment #1 Print Page
  Search: 
 

Instructions

Use the tools on this page to help you find two texts for your Comparative Genre Analysis.

      

    Search Tips

    1. Limits: To focus your search, utilize database features that allow you to specify criteria such as date, language and publication type, e.g. peer reviewed journals

    2. Sort Order: Note how your search results are organized - many databases sort by date (most recent articles appear first) rather than relevance

    3. Subject Terms: Pay attention to the subject terms because they can lead to other relevant articles on your topic

    4. Get an Article: If the full article is not available, use uc-ellinks

        

      What is an Academic Article?

      GENRE: Newspaper & Magazine Articles

      Access the databases below to search for popular articles and newspaper columns on your topic.

      If you are off campus, make sure you log into the VPN first!

      • CQ Researcher  Icon
        High quality reports on a wide variety of social, economic and political issues.
      • Access World News  Icon
        Search for articles published in California, national and international newspapers.
      • Ethnic Newswatch  Icon
        Articles from newspapers, magazines and some scholarly journals, published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S.
      • LexisNexis Academic  Icon
        A large collection of full text news and articles from the U.S. and and global sources. Transcripts from major news media shows are also included.
      • MasterFILE Premier  Icon
        Search over 2,600 popular magazines covering topics in the general sciences, technology and health, consumer interests, cultural diversity and education.

      GENRE: Academic Articles

      Use the Subject Guides to identify relevant search tools in your discipline. Select a database and enter your topic to discover citations to articles published in hundreds of different journals. Some databases also include information from conference proceedings and other genres you can use for your analysis.

      If you are off campus, make sure you log into the VPN first!

      GENRE: Speeches or Lectures

      In addition to YouTube and other video-hosting sites you're already familiar with, here are a few other places to consider browsing for high-quality speeches and lectures.

      • TED: Ideas Worth Spreading
        Collection of over 1700 short talks by experts on a wide range of topics, including global issues, education, science, technology, entertainment and business.
      • Library of Congress Webcasts
        Browse 100s of lectures in areas such as science and technology, the arts, education, religion and government. Look for the 'view transcript' option to read the text of the lecture. Note: You'll need RealPlayer to view these webcasts.

      GENRE: Curriculum Vitae (CVs)

      Curricula vitae are documents created by professors and scholars to highlight their qualifications, research and writing activities, and professional service. CVs are typically much longer and more detailed than resumes. CVs are used during the hiring process, but many faculty also post their CVs on their university's website.

      • UC Davis Academic Departments
        Choose your major from the list of academic departments. On the departmental website, look for a section called People or Faculty and Staff . Select the name of a faculty member to see if they have their CV posted.
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip