This is the "GEOGRAPHY REFERENCE SOURCES" page of the "GEOGRAPHY" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

GEOGRAPHY  

Lists resources for the study of geography
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/GEOGRAPHY Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

GEOGRAPHY REFERENCE SOURCES Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

SOCIOLOGY REFERENCE SOURCES

A few selected reference sources. Visit the Humanities and Social Sciences Reference Desk on the second floor of the Peter J. Shields Library to find many more.

Cover Art
21st Century Geography - Joseph P. Stoltman (Editor)
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference G123 .A18 2012 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 9781412974646
Publication Date: 2011
Covers major subthemes and subfields within the discipline of geography, including regional geography, physical geography, global change, human and cultural geography, economic geography and locational analysis, political geography, geospatial technology, cartography, spatial thinking, research methodology, geographical education, and more.

Cover Art
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Cultural Geography - Nuala C. Johnson; Richard H. Schein; Jamie Winders
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference GF41 .W534 2013 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 0470655593
Publication Date: 2013
Traces the historical evolution of cultural geography through to the very latest research., providing an international perspective with sections exploring topics such as identities, nature and culture, and flows and mobility

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences - William A. Darity
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference H40.A2 I5 2008 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 9780028659657
Publication Date: 2007-11-09
Latest edition of a classic reference source. It is comprehensive and substantial in its coverage. On the same shelf, the library maintains both the 1968 and the 1930 editions for comparative purposes.

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences - N. J. Smelser (Editor-In-Chief); P. B. Baltes (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference H41 .I58 2001 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 0080430767
Publication Date: 2001-11-22
This Encyclopedia maps the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. In 26 volumes, 4,000 articles, it includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

Cover Art
Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and Africa - Andrea L. Stanton (Editor); Peter J. Seybolt (Editor); Edward Ramsamy (Editor); Carolyn M Elliott (Editor)
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference HM626 .C843 2012 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 9781412981767
Publication Date: 2012-01-05
A look at social life and culture outside Europe, Australia and the Americas.

Cover Art
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology - George Ritzer (Editor)
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference HM425 .B53 2007 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 1405124334
Publication Date: 2007-01-23
This comprehensive guide to sociological concepts, topics and authors features written articles and selected bibliographies. It is a great place to start new project, or to branch out into new areas.

Cover Art
Key Thinkers on Space and Place - Rob Kitchin (Editor); Phil Hubbard (Editor)
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference GF95 .K49 2011 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 9781849201018
Publication Date: 2011
Key Thinkers on Space and Place is a guide to the life and work of those thinkers most responsible for the current 'spatial turn' in the social sciences. Highlighting the work of more than 60 key thinkers it provides a synoptic overview of different ideas about the role of space and place in contemporary social, cultural, political and economic life. As a primer on the spatial imagination, the text illustrates the diverse ways that space and place can be theorized: from humanism to Marxism, feminism to post-structuralism, queer theory to post-colonialism.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip