- Annuals of the Choson Dynasty 朝鮮王朝實錄 (Korean Database)
The annuals of the Choson Dynasty comprises 1893 books, covering 472 years (1392-1863) history of the Choson Dynasty, from the reign of King Taejo (the founder) to the end of the reign of King Cheoljong. Thick extensive set of records is considered to deal with the longest period of a single dynasty in the world.
- Bungei kurabu 文藝倶楽部/Taiyō 太陽,
Bungei kurabu was originally published by Hakubunkan from 1895 to 1933. This online version of the journal offers access to 284 issues published between 1895 and 1912 in 108,070 pages, comprising articles by ca. 2,600 authors, including Higuchi Ichiyō, Izumi Kyōka, Ozaki Kōyō, Tayama Katai, and Yamada Bimyō. In addition to literary texts, the journal features also color illustrations at front pages (kuchie) by well-known artists of the time. Article titles in 3 journals included in the series (Taiyō, Bungei kurabu, Kōyūkai zasshi)can be searched. Full-text access is available only for “Taiyō and “Bungei kurabu.”
- Gu jin tu shu ji cheng 古今图书集成 (标点) = Complete classics collection of ancient China (Chinese Database)
Trace 5000 years of Chinese civilization from its early origins to the Qing Dynasty. Edited by Chen Meng-lei, a renowed scholar of the Qing Dynasty. Based on the authoritative 64 volume edition from 1934 with original text, illustrations and punctuation. The collection includes works on astronomy, geography, history, philosophy, literature, politics, economics, art, education, agriculture, medicine and more.
Coverage: Ancient China through the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911)
- Ren min ri bao 人民日报电子版= People's Daily (Chinese Database)
The "People's Daily" is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China. This database provides complete official records of the Chinese government from 1946-2005.
- Shun Bao 申报 = Shanghai News
The ShunBao (Shen Bao)database is composed of the digitized issues of the Shanghai, China newspaper published from 1872 to 1949. Considered by many to be the longest lasting and most influential newspaper in modern China, the publication covered the major political and social developments for over half a century. The full name of the newspaper was Shenjiang Xinbao (translated as Shenjiang New Post, also known in English as the Shanghai News). Content has not been translated or transliterated from the Chinese script.
- Taiwan wen xian cong kan 臺灣文獻叢刊= The Encyclopedia of Taiwan (Chinese database)
This is the largest single database on Taiwanese history in the Chinese language, including abstracts and indexing from thousand of books. The database contains 595 books divided into 309 categories. This collection incorporaates local histories, official documents of Ming, Qin and Nan-Ming Dynasties, poetry, and private collections. It covers multiple dimensions of study, including geography, local customs, politics, economics, sociology, laws and culture. Based on the Taiwan Literature Series and edited by Chou Hsien-wen. It is also useful to the research on history of China's international trades and relations.
Coverage: Tang Dynasty (618-907) through Japanese occupation period (1895-1945)
- TBRC digital library. Core text collections The Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center
TBRC actively seeks out new publications, rare literature, and electronic texts for incorporation into the TBRC Library full text digital holdings. Tibetan publications from small printing houses, monasteries, and educational institutions in China, India, Bhutan, and Nepal are included. The TBRC Library contains works that span the range of every major literary genre of Tibetan literature. The mission of TBRC is seek out works and organize them in all in a single place. This library is continually expanding.
- Wen Yuan Ge Si ku Quan Shu 文淵閣四庫全書=Si ku quan shu (Online) [Chinese Database]
The "Siku Quan Shu=Complete Library in Four Branches" was compiled during the years 1773-1782 by edict from Emperor Qianlong. It includes 3460 works, with a total of more then 36,000 volumes. In the "Siku Quan shu", the important works include history, astronomy, geography, rules and regulations, politics, economics, society, science and technology, and philosophy. Its four main bibliographic divisions are jing 經, shi 史, zi 子, and ji 集.
NOTE: Access to the "Siku Quan Shu" is available ONLY by using the Internet Explorer (IE) browser. Off campus the database is accessible only through the Proxy Server (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/proxy/auth/); the "Siku Quan Shu" is not accessible using the VPN.
Coverage: 878 BC-1600
- Yomidas Rekishikan ヨミダス歴史館
Yomidas Rekishikan is the full text database of the Yomiuri shinbun, Japan's largest newspaper. Coverage ranges from 1874 to the present. More than 11 million Japanese-language articles from the Yomiuri shinbun 読売新聞 are supplemented by English-language articles from the Daily Yomiuri (1989-present). Am image file and biographical sketches of nearly 26,000 contemporary individuals are included in the database.
- Zhongguo fan you yun dong shu ju ku, 1957- Chinese anti-rightist campaign database, 1957-
Database covers sources on Chinese political movements between 1955-1958. Included are more than 10,000 government documents and files, speeches, bulletins and articles labeled "Rightist" at the time.
Searchable in both Chinese and English.
Madrid Workstation, H/SS & Gov Info Services Reference, 2nd Floor, Shields Library.
- China Data Online
The China Data Online is the primary data source for China studies. It includes (1) China Statistical Databases; (2) China Census Databases; and (3) China Spatial Data Service (China Geo-Explorer). It provides easy access to the various statistical yearbooks published by the National Bureau of Statistics of China, comprehensive statistics, and Census data of economy and population at national, provincial, city, county, and even township levels.