This is the "Article Databases" page of the "UWP 101 - Lisa Klotz" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

UWP 101 - Lisa Klotz  

Guide for UWP 101 class
Last Updated: Aug 21, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/jury Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Article Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Suggested Databases for articles

  • Academic Search Complete [via Ebsco]
    Multi-disciplinary database with wide coverage of full text journal articles in social sciences as well as all fields. It includes both scholarly or peer-reviewed articles and popular journal articles.
  • America's Newspapers [via NewsBank]  Icon
    Access World News provides searchable full-text articles from many U.S. and and international news sources. These are newspapers, not scholarly journals. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
  • LexisNexis Academic  Icon
    A large collection of full text news and articles from the U.S. and and global sources. Transcripts from major news media shows are included. Also includes U.S., state, and International (Canadian and EU) legal resources and it's an excellent source for business news and company reports.
  • Google Scholar
    To add UC-eLinks to the Google Scholar results list -
    From the Google Scholar page, http://scholar.google.com, click on the "settings" tool -

    At "Library Links", select or enter, then click "Save":
    University of California, Davis - UC-eLinks;
    Open WorldCat - Library Search ; and,
    California Digital Library - UC-eLinks
  • Heinonline  Icon
    Full-text database of US legal periodicals. Includes the following sections: Law Journal Library (Comprised of Most-Cited Law Journals, Core U.S. Law Journals and International & Non-U.S. Law Journals); Federal Register Library (1936-1989); U.S. Supreme Court Library; and Treaties and Agreements Library, the Statutes at Large (1789-), U.S. Code (1924-)
    Licensed through UCD Law Library.
  • PAIS International Database [via Proquest]  Icon
    Indexes all types of materials in the area of public affairs and public policy - journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents. Topics include agriculture, banking, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, law, legislation, political science, social sciences, and statistics.
    Coverage is from 1913 to present.
  • Sociological Abstracts  Icon
    Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [via Proquest]  
      
      Icon
    Covers international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration policy.
    Coverage is: 1975 to present
  • Web of Science Core Collection [via Web of Science]  
      
      Icon
    Web of Science combines traditional bibliographic searching of journal content across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences with broadly interdisciplinary "cited reference" search capabilities.
    Quick Reference Guide: Web of Science Core Collection
    Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
    Creating Citation Alerts for Current Awareness
    OCT 2016 NEWS: Thomson Reuters Web of Science bought by Clarivate Analytics, private equity fund

Reading a Journal Article Citation

Parts Of A Citation:

When you were search for articles in a database, or when you check a bibliography of list of references from an article or a book, you see many citations to articles, similar to this one:

MOSAIC THEORY AND THE FOURTH AMENDMENT: HOW JONES CAN SAVE PRIVACY IN THE FACE OF EVOLVING TECHNOLOGY.  Ford, Madelaine Virginia. The American University. Journal of Gender, Social Policy & the Law19.4 (2011): 1350-1372.

To cite an article correctly, and to find an article from a citation in another article of source, it is important to understand the information provided in a citation.  Below, I use the citation above, to show what information each part of the citation is giving you:

Author:  Madelaine Virginia Ford

Title of article:  Mosaic theory and the fourth amendment:  How Jones can save privacy in the facy of evolving technology

Title of Journal:  Journal of Gender, Social Policy and the Law

Year published:  2011

Volume:  19

Issue:  4

Pages:  1350-1372

Another one:

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip