This is the "Finding Articles and Books on Social Justice" page of the "Social Justice Initiative: Resources and Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Social Justice Initiative: Resources and Research  

This site supports the UC Davis Mellon Research Initiative “Social Justice, Culture, and (In)Security” by providing a guide to research into both the area of social justice, and on how to conduct research in service of social justice movements
Last Updated: Oct 30, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/social_justice_initiative Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding Articles and Books on Social Justice Print Page
  Search: 
 

RESEARCH ASSISTANCE

 

Works on Social Justice

Cover Art
The Arts of the Political - Ash Amin; Nigel Thrift
Call Number: Shields Library JA76 .A474 2013 Regular Loan
ISBN: 9780822353874
Publication Date: 2013
In Arts of the Political, Ash Amin and Nigel Thrift argue that only by broadening the domain of what is considered political and what can be made into politics will the Left be able to respond forcefully to injustice and inequality. In particular, the Left requires a more imaginative and experimental approach to the politics of creating a better society.

Cover Art
Women and Poverty - Heather E. Bullock
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2013
Women and Poverty analyzes the social and structural factors that contribute to, and legitimize, class inequity and women's poverty. In doing so, the book provides readers with multidisciplinary approach to bring together new research and theory from social psychology, policy studies, and critical and feminist scholarship.

Cover Art
On Intellectual Activism - Patricia Hill Collins
Call Number: Shields Library HQ1197 .C65 2013 Regular Loan
ISBN: 9781439909607
Publication Date: 2012
Patricia Hill Collins examines the role of the intellectual in public culture and how well intellectuals communicate questions about contemporary social issues to the larger public. This book is a collection of her lectures, along with new and (a few) previously-published essays.

Cover Art
Transformation Now! - AnaLouise Keating
Call Number: Shields Library HQ1190 .K43 2013 In process
Publication Date: 2012
In this lively, thought-provoking study, AnaLouise Keating writes in the traditions of radical U.S. women-of-color feminist/womanist thought and queer studies, inviting us to transform how we think about identity, difference, social justice and social change, metaphysics, reading, and teaching. Speaking to many dimensions of contemporary scholarship, activism, and social justice work, Transformation Now! calls for and enacts innovative, radically inclusionary ways of reading, teaching, and communicating.

Cover Art
Engineering and Social Justice - Caroline Baillie (Editor)
Call Number: Phy Sci Engr Library TA157 .E546 2012 Regular Loan
ISBN: 9781557536068
Publication Date: 2012
This book is aimed at engineering academics worldwide, who are attempting to bring social justice into their work and practice. This is the first book dedicated specifically to University professionals on Engineering and Social Justice, an emerging and exciting area of research and practice.

Cover Art
Frontiers of Justice - Martha Craven Nussbaum
Call Number: Shields Library HM671 .N87 2006 Regular Loan
Publication Date: 2006
Theories of social justice, addressing the world and its problems, must respond to the real and changing dilemmas of the day. Frontiers of Justice is dedicated to this proposition.

Databases for Articles on Social Justice Issues

Social Justice is a topic of concern across social sciences, as is the topic of academic work in the service of social justice. Use these databases to locate articles of interest.  

  • Sociological Abstracts [via Proquest]  Icon
    Prime resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

    Coverage: 1963-present
  • Social Science Citation Index [via Web of Knowledge]  Icon
    The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It is particularly suited to trace citations to authors and articles across publications. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.

    Coverage: 1956-present
    Related: Online tutorial For help in using the Web of Knowledge Citation indexes.
  • Women's Studies International [via EBSCO]  Icon
    An interdisciplinary database combined from Women Studies Abstracts (1984-present), Women's Studies Database (1972-present), New Books on Women and Feminism (1987-present), Women of Color and Southern Women (1975-present), and several major bibliographies.

    Coverage: 1972 (and earlier)-present
  • America: History and Life [via EBSCO]  Icon
    Bibliographic database containing citations to articles on American and Canadian history, including ethnic history and relations, from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 journals published worldwide.
    Coverage: 1964-present
  • ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [via Proquest]  Icon
    The ERIC Database indexes and abstracts education and education related journals, studies and reports, with links to full-text studies and reports.
  • Social Services Abstracts [via Proquest]  Icon
    Covers current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials; covers journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews
  • Black Studies Center [via Proquest]  Icon
    Black Studies Center brings together historical and current material for research projects on African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases including the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, The International Index to Black Periodicals, and Newspapers, including the full text backfile of the Afro-American newspaper, The Chicago Defender from 1910-1975.

    Related: A fuller description of the Black Studies Center's scope
    Help with Black Studies Center
  • LGBT Life [via Ebsco]  Icon
    LGBT Life (previously GLBT Life) contains indexing and abstracts for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender-specific core periodicals, in addition to data mined from over 1400 select titles. LGBT Life contains all relevant data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies database.
  • Annual Review of Sociology  Icon
    Annual 'handbook' with introductory and summary articles to important and emerging issues in sociology. Contains substantial bibliographies.
  • Annual Review of Law and Social Science  Icon
    Comphrensive review articles and bibliographies, which examine the complex connections between law, culture, social structure. Its focus is on the social scientific studies of law and law-like systems of rules, institutions, processes, and behaviors.
  • Gender Watch  Icon
    A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.
  • Ethnic Newswatch [via ProQuest]  Icon
    A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses in the United States.

Key Women and Gender Studies Journals

Use the Harvest UC Davis Catalog (http://harvest.lib.ucdavis.edu/) to locate these journals. Tip: Browse by Journal Titile.

Affilia
Agenda : a journal about women and gender.
Archives of Sexual Behavior
Black Women, Gender and Families
Differences: A Journal of Feminist Cultural Studies
Feminist Africa
Feminist Review
Feminist Studies
Feminist Theory
Frontiers: A Journal of Women's Studies
GLQ: A Journal of Gay and Lesbian Studies
Gender and Society
Gender Issues
Gender, Place and Culture : a Journal of Feminist Geography
Genders
Hypatia: A Journal of Feminist Philosophy
International Journal of Feminist Politics 

Journal of Gender Studies
Journal of Lesbian Studies
Journal of Women, Politics and Policy: A Quarterly Journal of Research and Policy Studies
Journal of Women's History
Men and Masculinities
Meridians: Feminism, Race, Transnationalism
Nashim: A Journal of Jewish Women’s Studies and Gender Issues
New Books on Women and Feminism
NWSA Journal
Politics & Gender
Psychology of Women Quarterly
Sex Roles
Sexualities
Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society
Social Politics: International Studies in Gender, State and Society
Visual Culture and Gender
Women: A Cultural Review
Women's Review of Books
Woman's Art Journal
Women's Studies: An Indisciplinary Journal
Women's Studies International Forum
Women's Studies Quarterly

      
     

    Reference Sources for Studying Social Justice

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of Gender and Society - Jodi A. O'Brien (Editor)
    Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference HQ1115 .E54 2009 Lib Use Only
    ISBN: 9781412909167
    Publication Date: 2008-11-26

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender - Fedwa Malti-Douglas
    Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference HQ16 .E52 2007 Lib Use Only
    ISBN: 9780028659602
    Publication Date: 2007-08-23

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of Women and Gender - Judith Worell (Editor)
    Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference HQ1115 .E43 2001 Lib Use Only
    ISBN: 0122272455
    Publication Date: 2001-09-13

    Cover Art
    50 Key Concepts in Gender Studies - Jane Pilcher; Imelda Whelehan
    Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference HQ1180 .P54 2004 Lib Use Only
    ISBN: 0761970355
    Publication Date: 2004-04-10

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender - Carol R. Ember (Editor); Melvin Ember (Editor)
    Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference HQ16 .E53 2003 Lib Use Only
    ISBN: 030647770X
    Publication Date: 2003-12-31
    ...a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality...

    Cover Art
    The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology - George Ritzer (Editor)
    Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference HM425 .B53 2007 Lib Use Only
    Publication Date: 2007
    Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology is the definitive reference source for students, researchers, and academics in the field of sociology.

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America - Marc Stein (Editor)
    Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004 Lib Use Only
    ISBN: 0684312611
    Publication Date: 2003-12-05
    three volumes

    Cover Art
    The Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues Worldwide - Chuck Stewart (Editor)
    Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference HQ76 .G724 2010 Lib Use Only
    ISBN: 9780313342318
    Publication Date: 2009-12-01

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip