This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Humanities Forum: "Campus Book Project: Critical Perspectives and Stories/Counter-Stories"" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Humanities Forum: "Campus Book Project: Critical Perspectives and Stories/Counter-Stories"  

Last Updated: Sep 26, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/hum001 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

How to Find Journal Articles:

1.  Find an article database that indexes research in your area.

The UCD library web page includes a link to  “Databases A-Z" that lists almost 800 databases. You can also use the Subject Guides to find article databases and other resources for your subject area.  To make this assignment a bit easier, I have listed a few of the more focused article databases (box to the left) for researching protest movements

2.  Conduct Your Search: 

For additional help with your search, stop by any Library Reference Desk.


3.  Get The Articles You Want:      UC-eLinks

 
After you have conducted a search you will see a list of citations.
Use the article abstracts to decide which article(s) you want to get.
Click on the UC-eLinks button so see your options for getting a copy of the article.  

UC-eLinks will either take you directly to the online version of the article, or show you the options below (if the article is not online, or if the UC-eLINKS software cannot connect to the article).

“Get It Online From”
IF the article is available electronically, you will see this option first. Click on
one of the links under this heading to get an electronic copy of the article (look for the PDF version). 

R - E - A - D what the links say to make sure to click on the right one for your article.  Sometimes we buy different years of content from different sources (example: years 1996 to the present will be available through one link; years 1930 – 1995 will be available through another link).   NOTE: If the article is not available electronically, or if UC-eLinks did not get sufficient information from the database to find the an online link, the “Get It Online From” option will not appear.

“Find a Print Copy”
If the journal is not available electronically, click on the HARVEST or MELVYL link to see if  it is available in print.  Harvest shows what UC Davis owns.  MELVYL lists was all the UC’s own, and will also search outside the UC system.  If the journal is available at UC Davis, write down: the call number, the library where the journal is kept, and the complete citation to the article. Then you can go to that library, locate the journal using the call number, and xerox the article.

UC-eLinks also provides links to:
"Request It"  Request an article through Interlibrary Loan
"Add Citation to a Bibliography"
"Get Help"

 

4.  Need More Help? 

Visit any Library Reference Desk for help with your assignment. The librarians working there will be happy to show you how to search a database, or find a journal, or answer any other questions you have.

Reference desks are located at:

  • Shields Library (main floor)
  • Health Sciences Library (main floor)
  • Physical Sciences & Engineering Library (main floor)


Library  and Reference Desk Hours

Contact Me

Profile Image
Adam Siegel
Contact Info
Peter J. Shields Library / 100 North West Quad
University of California, Davis
Davis, CA 95616
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Roberto C. Delgadillo
Contact Info
Peter J. Shields Library
Humanities, Social Sciences and Government Information Services (HSSGIS) Department
Phone: 530-752-8266
Email: rdelgadillo@lib.ucdavis.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip