This is the "ENCYCLOPEDIAS & DICTIONARIES" page of the "MEDIEVAL AND EARLY MODERN STUDIES" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

MEDIEVAL AND EARLY MODERN STUDIES  

Image Credit: Jusepe de Ribera, "Euclid." Oil on canvas, about 1630-35. Courtesy of Getty Open Content Program. http://search.getty.edu/museum/records/musobject?objectid=140300
Last Updated: Aug 31, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/MEDIEVAL_EARLY_MODERN Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

ENCYCLOPEDIAS & DICTIONARIES Print Page
  Search: 
 

ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIAS

  • Encyclopaedia Judaica [via Gale Virtual Reference Library]  
      
      Icon
    This is a new, fully updated edition. It contains thousands of articles on all aspects of Jewish tradition, contemporary culture, politics and history.
  • Encyclopaedia of Islam Online [via Brill Academic Publishers]  Icon
    "The Encyclopaedia of Islam (New Edition) sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live. It embraces articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. In its geographical and historical scope it encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries."
    Date: 2002 -
  • Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World [via Gale Virtual Reference Library]  Icon
    This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.
  • Dictionary of National Biography [via Oxford University Press]  Icon
    "The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of [nearly 60,000] men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors." It also has over 500 theme articles.

    The DNB is licensed for a limited number of simultaneous users. Please log out when you are do so others can get in.
  • Dictionary of Scientific Biography (complete) [via Gale Virtual Reference Library]  Icon
    This classic encyclopedia covering scientists from all time periods and all fields of science has been completely revised. This "complete" online version includes all the entries from both the new (2008) edition and the original edition.
  • Lexikon des Mittelalters [CD-ROM]  Icon
    An encyclopedia of the Middle Ages (in German).
    Location: Humanities/Social Sciences Reference, 2nd Floor Shields Library, Workstation "BERLIN"
 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS IN THE REFERENCE COLLECTION

General Encyclopedias
Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Joseph R. Strayer, editor in chief.  New York : Scribner, c1982- (13 vols)
HSS REF D114 .D5 1982
 
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages (2 vols)
Edited by André Vauchez ; in conjunction with Barrie Dobson and Michael Lapidge ; English translation by Adrian Walford.  Paris : Cerf ; Cambridge, Eng. : J. Clarke ; Rome : Città nuova, 2000.
HSSGIS Reference CB 351 .E53 2000
 
 Lexikon des Mittelalters [CD-ROM]  Icon Edit/Delete Quick Stats
   An electronic encyclopedia of the Middle Ages (in German).
   Location: Humanities/Social Sciences Reference, 2nd Floor Shields Library, Workstation "BERLIN
 
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance (6 vols)
Paul F. Grendler, editor in chief.  New York : Scribner's, c1999.
HSSGIS Reference CB 361 .E52 1999
 
Encyclopedia of European Social History, 1350-2000 (6 vols)
Peter N. Stearns, editor-in-chief.  New York : Scribner, c2001
HSSGIS Reference HN373 .E63 2001
 
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation (4 vols)
Hans J. Hillerbrand, editor in chief.  New York : Oxford University Press, 1996.
HSSGIS Reference BR 302.8 O93 1996
 
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment  (2 vols)
Edited by Michel Delon ; adviser to the English-language edition, Philip Stewart ; translation editor, Gwen Wells.  Chicago, IL : London : Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 2001  
HSSGIS REF  DB286 .D5413 2001
 
Renaissance and Reformation, 1500-1620: A Biographical Dictionary
Edited by Jo Eldridge Carney. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2001.
HSSGIS Reference CT 759 .R46 2001
 
Research Guide to European Historical Biography, 1450-present (8 vols)
Editor, James A. Moncure]. Washington, D.C. : Beacham Pub., 1992-c1993.
HSSGIS Reference CT 759 .R4 1992
 
Who’s Who in the Middle Ages
Mary Ellen Snodgrass ; illustrations research by Linda Campbell Franklin.  Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, 2001  
HSSGIS Reference CT 114 .S56 2001

Encyclopedias On Specific Countries

Medieval Iberia: An Encyclopedia 
E. Michael Gerli, editor ; associate editors, Samuel G. Armistead ... [et al.].  New York :  Routledge,  2003.    
HSSGIS Reference DP99 .M33, 2003
 
Medieval Scandinavia: An Encyclopedia
Phillip Pulsiano, editor ; Kirsten Wolf, co-editor; Paul Acker, associate editor, Donald K. Fry, associate editor ; advisers, Knut Helle ... [et al.].New York : Garland, 1993
HSSGIS Reference DL 30 . M43 1993
 
Medieval England:  An Encyclopedia
Editors: Paul E. Szarmach, M. Teresa Tavormina, Joel T. Rosenthal.  New York : Garland Pub., 1998.
HSSGIS Reference DA 129 .M43 1998
 
Tudor England: An Encyclopedia
Arthur F. Kinney and David W. Swain, general editors ; Eugene D. Hill and William B. Long, co-editors ; editorial assistants, Francisco J. Borge and R. Morgan Griffin.  New York ; London : Garland, 2001.
HSSGIS Reference DA 315 T753 2001
 
Britain in the Hanoverian Age, 1714-1837: an encyclopedia
Editor, Gerald Newman ; associate editors, Leslie Ellen Brown ... [et al.]. New York : Garland Pub., 1997.
HSSGIS Reference DA 480 .B75 1997
 
Medieval France: An Encyclopedia
William W. Kibler ... [et al.], editors.  New York : Garland Pub., 1995.
HSSGIS Reference DC 33.2 .M44 1995
 
Medieval Germany: An Encyclopedia
Edited by John M. Jeep.  New York : Garland Pub., 2001  
HSSGIS REF  DD 157 .M43 2001
 
The Holy Roman Empire: A Dictionary Handbook
Edited by Jonathan W. Zophy.  Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1980.
HSSGIS Reference DD 84 .Z66

Topical Encyclopedias (includes, trade, slavery, women, witchcraft, literature and theater)

Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia
Editors, John Block Friedman, Kristen Mossler Figg ; associate editor, Scott D. Westrem ; collaborating editor, Gregory G. Guzman.  New York : Garland Pub., 2000.
HSSGIS Reference HF 1001 .T7 2000
 
The Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery (2 vols)
Junius P. Rodriguez, general editor.  Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 1997
HSSGIS Reference HT 861 .H57 1997
 
Encyclopedia of Women in the Middle Ages
By Jennifer Lawler.  Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c2001
HSSGIS Reference HQ 1143 .L38 2001
 
Women in World History : a biographical encyclopedia (16 vols)
Anne Commire, editor, Deborah Klezmer, associate editor.  Waterford, CT : Yorkin Publications, c1999-
HSSGIS Reference HQ 1115 .W6 1999
 
Encyclopedia of Witches and Witchcraft
Rosemary Ellen Guiley.  New York : Facts On File, c1999.
HSSGIS Reference BF 1566 .G85 1999
 
Encyclopedia of Italian Renaissance & Mannerist Art
EEditor, Jane Turner. New York : Grove's Dictionaries, c2000
HSSGIS Reference N6370 .E53 2000
 
Medieval art : a topical dictionary
Leslie Ross. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1996.
HSSGIS Reference N7850 .R67 1996
 
A dictionary of Russian and Soviet artists, 1420-1970
John Milner.  Woodbridge, Suffolk : Antique Collectors' Club, 1993
HSSGIS Reference ND681 M55 1993
 
The Oxford guide to classical mythology in the arts, 1300-1990s
Jane Davidson Reid ; with the assistance of Chris Rohmann.  New York : Oxford University Press, 1993.
HSSGIS Reference nx650 m9 r45 1993
 
The Cambridge history of literary criticism
Edited by George A. Kennedy.  Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1989-  (v. 3. The Renaissance / edited by Glyn P. Norton)
HSSGIS Reference pn86 c27 1989
 
Encyclopedia of medieval literature
Edited by Robert Thomas Lambdin and Laura Cooner Lambdin.  Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2000
HSSGIS Reference pn669 e53 2000
 
A Companion to the medieval theatre
Edited by Ronald W. Vince.  New York : Greenwood Press, 1989.
HSSGIS Reference pn 2152 c66 1989
 
The London stage, 1660-1800
A calendar of plays, entertainments & afterpieces, together with casts, box-receipts and contemporary comment. Compiled from the playbills, newspapers and theatrical diaries of the period.
Carbondale, Southern Illinois University Press, 1960-68 [v. 1, 1965]
HSSGIS Reference pn2592 l6
 
European writers
William T.H. Jackson, editor, George Stade, editor in chief.  New York : Scribner, [1983]-1991 (v. 1-2. The Middle Ages and the Renaissance: Prudentius to medieval drama. Petrarch to Renaissance short fiction -- v. 3-4. The Age of Reason and the Enlightenment: René Descartes to Montesquieu. Voltaire to André Chénier )
HSSGIS Reference pn501 e9 1983
 
Dictionnaire des lettres françaises. [1], Le Moyen âge
Publié sous la direction de Georges Grente ; ouvrage préparé par Robert Bossuat, Louis Pichard et Guy Raynaud de Lage.  Paris : A. Fayard, 1994.
HSSGIS Reference pq41 d512 1994
 
Guide to French literature
Anthony Levi.  Chicago : St. James Press, c1992-c1994.
HSSGIS Reference pq41 l48 1992
 
The Critical Perspective
General editor, Harold Bloom.  New York : Chelsea House Publishers, 1985-1989.  (v. 1. Medieval--Early Renaissance -- v. 2. Spenser and Shakespeare -- v. 3. Elizabethan--Caroline -- v. 4. Restoration--Early Georigan )
HSSGIS Reference pr85 c76
 
Die deutsche Literatur des Mittelalters : Verfasserlexikon
Begr. von Wolfgang Stammler ; fortgeführt von Karl Langosch ; unter Mitarb. zahlr. Fachgelehrter hrsg. von Kurt Ruh zs. mit Gundolf Keil ... [et al.].  Berlin ; New York : de Gruyter, 1977- [v.1, 1978].
HSSGIS Reference pt187 d4 1977

HOW TO REACH ME

Profile Image
Daniel Goldstein
Contact Info
email: dgoldstein@ucdavis.edu
phone: (530) 752-2040
Office: 2nd floor Shields Library

PLEASE GET IN TOUCH
if you have a question or to make an appointment.
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip