- ATLA Religion Database [via EBSCO]
ATLA indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in more than 60 languages. Subject coverage includes Religious Studies, Biblical explication, Archaeology & Antiquities, Church History, Human Culture & Society, Missions & Ecumenism, Pastoral Ministry, Philosophy & Ethics, Theology, and World Religions.
- Historical Abstracts [via EBSCO]
Citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America:history and life.) Indexes more than 2000 journals worldwide.
- Atlantic History Bibliography [via Oxford Bibliographies Online]
This extensive annotated bibliography focuses on the "interactions between different peoples and cultures on four continents and many islands in the period between Columbus’ voyages to the New World in the late fifteenth century and the end of slavery in the Americas in the late nineteenth century."
It consists of more than 100 separate entries, presenting the best in modern scholarship as well as key primary sources. Entries can be geographical ("Brazil, the Caribbean), or broadly or narrowly topical (Religion, Sugar).
Follow this link to see all the Oxford Bibliographies Online
to which UCDavis subscribes
- Francis [via EBSCO]
"FRANCIS offers extensive bibliographic indexing for over 2.5 million records dating back to 1972. Produced by Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), the database provides multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Source documents include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports."
- Academic Search Complete [via EBSCO]
The multi-disciplinary database Academic Search Complete (ASC) provides full-text access to more than 5,500 periodicals, including over 4,600 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for an additional 9,500 journals and 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- Global Price and Income History Group [via UCD Institute of Governmental Affairs]
This group is described as "A research team measuring prices, income, and economic wellbeing around the world before 1950" The Web site includes a rich collection of data sets and working papers.
- Mapping Gothic France
This innovative site seeks to “provide the user. . .with new ways to understand the relationship of hundreds of buildings conditionally described as ‘Gothic’. . .within a defined period of time and space that corresponds to the advent of the nation of France.” It “seeks to establish linkages between the architectural space of individual buildings, geo-political space, and the social space resulting from the interaction (collaboration and conflict) between multiple agents—builders and users.”
- Art Source [via EBSCO]
Art Source includes full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full-text and Art Index databases.
Coverage: late 1920s- Present
BOOK REVIEWS: The original paper edition of Art Index contained book reviews which are NOT included. To search for book reviews, see the physical copy Shields Library Z5937 .A7.