- Acta Sanctorum [via ProQuest]
A full-text searchable collection of documents examining the lives of saints. It is an electronic version of the sixty-eight volume series published by the Société des Bollandistes over a period of three hundred years starting in 1643.
- Patrologia Latina Database
Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
- e-codices: Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland
A full-text collection of Medieval Manuscripts. "At the moment, the virtual library contains 333 manuscripts from 16 different libraries. The virtual library will be continuously updated and extended."
- Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MGH)
Critically-edited (Latin and premodern German language) primary sources for the study of German and central European history from late antiquity to 1500 CE. In German.
Related: Hard copy volumes are located on the Lower Level of Shields at DD3 M8 P6.
- Medieval Travel Writing [via Adam Matthew]
"Presents manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. The collection also includes a number of important accounts of travels to or through the Holy Land." Documents "are in a range of languages including French, Latin, German, Spanish, Dutch and English. Supporting the manuscripts are relevant secondary texts of translations and editions, as well as full catalogue details."
- Library of Humanistic Texts
This is a full-text collection of critical editions (frequently with translations) of a large number of 16th and 17th century texts. It is created and maintained by Dana F. Sutton, University of California, Irvine.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) [via ProQuest]
Indexes citations and provides linked page images of works represented in the microfilm series Early English Books I and II, based on The Short-Title Catalogue (Pollard and Redgrave, 1475-1640); the Short-Title Catalog II (Wing, 1641-1700), The Thomson Tracts (1640-1661), and The Early English Books Tracts Supplements
- 17th - 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The digital Burney Collection provides full text access to almost 1 million pages and approximately 1,270 newspapers, pamphlets, broadsides and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The resource represents the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English and British colonial news media that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press".
The "Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language," better known as ARTFL, offers access to a collection of texts in a web-based digital format, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.
Coverage: Medieval Period to 20th Century Searching tips
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online [via Gale]
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides full-text searchable access to the digital images of 150,000 books and other materials published during the 18th Century. Based on the English Short Title Catalog bibliography, it includes English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
- Corsair: Images from Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts
Corsair, the website for the Pierpont Morgan Library includes a searchable database of more than 15,000 images selected from the Pierpont Morgan Library's collection of medieval manuscripts.