A guide to open-access indexes, archives, and compendia of scholarly resources from the Muslim World.
The Middle Eastern / South Asian Studies Program (ME/SA) is an interdisciplinary, multidisciplinary program that brings together students and faculty from many campus departments. The following is a list of standard indexing and abstracting resources that cover the disciplines relevant to ME/SA.
- Historical Abstracts [via EBSCO]
Citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America:history and life.) Indexes more than 2000 journals worldwide.
- MLA International Bibliography [via Proquest]
The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.
Related: Instructions on downloading filters and importing citations using EndnoteMLA Directory of PeriodicalsQuick Reference Card
- ATLA Religion Database [via EBSCO]
ATLA indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in more than 60 languages. Subject coverage includes Religious Studies, Biblical explication, Archaeology & Antiquities, Church History, Human Culture & Society, Missions & Ecumenism, Pastoral Ministry, Philosophy & Ethics, Theology, and World Religions.
- Anthropology Plus [via EBSCO]
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
Date: Late 19th century to present
Peter J. Shields Library / 100 North West Quad
University of California, Davis
Davis, CA 95616Send Email
Subjects:Agricultural & Resource Economics
, Comparative Literature
, Managerial Economics
, Performance Studies