- AP Images [via EBSCO]
This site is an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the Associated Press news service, historic images. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards and all include descriptive captions and source information.
Coverage: 1844-present; current file contains 1995-present
- Los Angeles Public Library Photo Collection
The Los Angeles Public Library's History and Genealogy Department's Photo Collection emphasizes the history of Los Angeles, Southern California, and California
- American West: Sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago [via Adam Matthew]
The Everett D. Graff Collection is one of the major special collections on the American West. This database contains a full-text selection of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources from that collection. It also includes such supplementary materials as scholarly essays and data maps. It is a rich resource to explore almost any aspect of the history of the American West.
- Chinese in California, The, 1850-1925 [via the Library of Congress]
This site illustrates nineteenth and early twentieth century Chinese immigration to California through about 8,000 images and pages of primary source materials. Included are photographs, original art, cartoons and other illustrations; letters, excerpts from diaries, business records, and legal documents; as well as pamphlets, broadsides, speeches, sheet music, and other printed matter. These documents describe the experiences of Chinese immigrants in California, including the nature of inter-ethnic tensions.
(Sources: The Bancroft Library, UC Berkeley; The Ethnic Studies Library, UC Berkeley; and The California Historical Society in San Francisco.)
- New York City Municipal Archive Online Gallery [New York Department of Records]
This extraordinarily rich image database of over 870,000 photographs, maps, motion picture and audio recordings is divided into 30 distinct collections. Collections are organized in numerous ways; most of them are either by the administrations of city mayors and borough presidents, or by municipal department, or by material or subject type.
Coverage: 19th and 20th centuries
- Upper Mississippi Valley Digital Image Archive
This is an online collection of 19th and early 20th century photographs of the Mississippi Valley along the Iowa/Illinois border. They are selected from the collections of several libraries, museums and colleges in the area.
- Forest History Society Photograph Collections
Photographs from the Twentieth Century on a surprisingly wide range of subjects including the San Francisco Earthquake, the Boy Scouts and Farming.
See also their Photo Galleries
, to browse selected subject collections.
- Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record
This image archive features numerous maps, images, and photographs depicting the slave trade and African culture in the Americas. Most are drawn from sources between the 17th and 19th centuries.
- 1789-1939 L'Histoire par L'Image
This growing collection of historical images from France is a collaborative project of several academic and cultural institutions and the French government. The images are carefully selected and fully described.