- American Museum of the Moving Image Online Exhibitions
- Internet Moving Image Archive
This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
- March of Time [via Alexander Street Press]
From 1935-1967, Time Inc. offered Americans views of significant historical events in their newsreel series The March of Time. Several hundred of these newsreels can be searched and viewed as streaming videos. Transcripts of these commercial, documentary, instructional and public service videos accompany the films. In support of research and teaching, the resource enables users to create, edit, and share playlists or film clips.
Coverage: 1903 - 1967
- Motion Pictures in the American Memory Project [Library of Congress]
Here are the online collections in the Library of Congress' American Memory Project that contain motion pictures. Topics include the history of film itself, advertising, newsreels, and more. They span the Twentieth Century ending with material related to the September 11, 2001 attack.
- Open Video Project
The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities. Researchers can use the video to study a wide range of problems, such as tests of algorithms for automatic segmentation, summarization, and creation of surrogates that describe video content; the development of face recognition algorithms; or creating and evaluating interfaces that display result sets from multimedia queries. Because researchers attempting to solve similar problems will have access to the same video content, the repository is also intended to be used as a test collection that will enable systems to be compared, similar to the way the TREC conferences are used for text retrieval.
- Public Moving Image Archives and Research Centers
This page provides a list of quick links to international archives with moving image collections.