- Discover Islamic Art
An online exhibit of Islamic art objects drawn from Museums around the world. It is a project of the Museum With No Frontiers.
- Corsair: Images from Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts
Corsair, the website for the Pierpont Morgan Library includes a searchable database of more than 15,000 images selected from the Pierpont Morgan Library's collection of medieval manuscripts.
- Chinese Painting and Calligraphy [via Seattle Art Museum]
The Museum's "collection of 152 Chinese painting and calligraphy has never been studied in depth and is heretofore largely unpublished. For the first time, it is being introduced and made universally accessible through this newly developed online catalogue, which features thoughtful and provocative essays about major works by renowned scholars, with high-resolution, zoom-able images of the works of art, and thorough documentation—including transcriptions and translations of inscriptions and colophons, and seals which are transcribed, identified and located."
- National Palace Museum, Taipei
Contains approximately 5,000 images of objects in the permenant collection. The scope of these works spans seven millennia of Chinese history and pre-history. Works include rare books, ceramics, paintings, bronzes, jewelry, studio accessories, costumes, and more. English-language interface.
- Your Paintings [via BBC and PCF]
A searchable image collection composed of the painting held in public collections throughout the UK. Over 200,000 oil paintings are now in the database.
A project of the Public Catalogue Foundation and the BBC.
"Paintings owned by the state and local authorities together with those held in charitable trusts for the benefit of the public make up the national collection shown on the Your Paintings website. In addition, a small number of important collections that are not in public ownership nor normally open to the public are also being included."
- accessCeramics: a contemporary ceramics image resource
This is a juried site of work by contemporary ceramic artists. It includes images of selected works that can be used for educational purposes. Most of the artists represented are from North America.
- Claros: The World of Art on the Semantic Web
CLAROS is an international interdisciplinary research federation led by Oxford University. It provides searchable access to online image collections of art and artifacts of the Ancient World at several British and European institutions. includes images from Asia and South Asia as well classical Europe. Thematic Collections include, among others :