Bills introduced in Congress can become the basis for policy. Tracing the Legislative Process often provides background information in the congressional hearings or committee reports about the background of the legislation and the policy that would be made by the legislation.
Thomas, from the Library of Congress, is a legislative information database. Search bill text by word/phrase or bill number for for current congress and previous congresses from 1989 through current. Find bill summary, legislative tracking and status from 1973 through current congress. Congressional Record 1989 to present. Roll Call Votes 1989 to present. Public Laws 1974 to present.
- Proquest Congressional UCD only
Formerly LexisNexis Congressional, Proquest Congressional Indexes congressional documents, legislative histories, regulations and congressional record. Search by bill no., keyword, etc to find bill status. UCD subscription includes full text hearings to 1980 with hearings transcripts after 1980. Full text committee reports and documents indexed.
FDsys from the Government Printing Office provides free online access to official U.S. Federal government documents and information. Search for official versions of government documents and publications online, browse by title, collection, congressional committee, date. U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register are included.
- Harvest UCD Catalog
Many congressional hearings and committee reports and documents are cataloged and can be found in print in the library as well as online.
- Congress.gov [beta]
Congress.gov has legislation (2001 - present), member profiles (2001 - present), Congressional Record (2001 - present). This is a functional beta version; plans are for it to include all of the content of Thomas from the Library of Congress.
- LexisNexis Academic
A large collection of full text news and articles from the U.S. and and global sources. It also has U.S.Code, Statutes at Large and Code of Federal Regulations and other legal sources.
- Congressional Budget Office
CBO provides objective, nonpartisan, and timely analyses to aid in economic and budgetary decisions on the wide array of programs covered by the federal budget and information and estimates required for the Congressional budget process.
- Government Accountability Office
U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars. GAO produces many important reports and analyses on topical issues.
- CONGRESSIONAL RESEARCH SERVICE
CRS publications are major studies on issues or policy that are often compiled at the request of members of congress. The Congressional Research Service does not make its publications available directly to the public.
Following are major sources for these valuable reports.
- CRS Reports from UNT Digital Library
- Green Book: Committee on Ways and Means, U.S. House of Representatives
The Green Book presents background material and statistical data on the major entitlement programs and other activities within the Committee's jurisdiction.