KEY RESOURCES FOR NEWS, CURRENT EVENTS AND POPULAR MAGAZINES
For a complete list of all our online news resources see the News and Current Events Subject Guide.
- LexisNexis Academic
A large collection of full text news and articles from the U.S. and and global sources. Transcripts from major news media shows are included. Also includes U.S. and International (Canadian and EU) legal resources and it's an excellent source for business news and company reports.
- Access World News [via NewsBank]
Access World News provides searchable full-text articles from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Access World News also includes a selection of Spanish language newspapers from the United States and other countries. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
- ProQuest Current Newspapers
- CQ Press Library/Political Reference Suite
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Electronic Library includes many resources for the study of current and historical congressional and American government issues. The CQ Researcher is an invaluable source of background information on topical issues since 1991. The Global Researcher is similar to CQ Researcher but with an international orientation. CQ Weekly Report, available starting in 1983, reports in depth on congressional activities and political developments.
- Newspaper Source [via Ebscohost]
Provides current cover-to-cover full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text from more than 335 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio transcripts are provided.
- MasterFILE Premier [via EBSCO]
MasterFile Premier indexes and abstracts over 2,600 popular magazines and periodicals covering topics in the general sciences, technology and health, consumer interests, cultural diversity, education, and current and historical events. More than 1,750 of the periodicals, 500 reference books, 86, 000 biographies, 105,000 primary source documents and thousands of book reviews are available in full text. Included is an Image Collection of nearly 400,000 photos, maps and flags.
Coverage: Some publications have PDF files dating back to 1975.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective
An electronic version of the classic Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Readers' Guide Retrospective, produced by The H. W. Wilson Company, is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Related: The print version of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-present) is located in the Humanities/Social Sciences Department in Shields Library, AI3.R4