This is the "Finding Journal Articles" page of the "BIS 98: College of Biological Sciences Cohort Program" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

BIS 98: College of Biological Sciences Cohort Program   Tags: biology  

Last Updated: Aug 23, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/bis98 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How do I find articles on my topic?

To find articles on your topic, you will want to search in a journal article database (not in Harvest library catalog).  

Looking for suggestions about which databases to use?  Consult a library subject guide.

Subject Guides
Use the subject guide for your field to find library resources and databases.
Hint: You may want to start with: Biological Sciences, General

Databases A-Z
Use the Databases A-Z list if you already know which database to search in.  

Electronic Journals A-Z
Use this list if you already know which journal you are looking for.  Electronic journals are also accessible via UC-elinks from databases and catalogs.  


How to use the VPN 
To access most databases and electronic journals you must be using a computer that is connected to the UC Davis network (on-campus) or The Library's VPN (off-campus).  This short video demonstrates how to use the VPN.

Peer reviewed journals

Peer review is an important process by which the manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality -- by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor -- before being accepted for publication.

Some journal databases will permit you to filter search results according to whether they are in peer-reviewed journals.

 

How do I get to the full-text article? UC e-Links

Many UC Davis Library databases include links to full-text articles via UC-eLinks.  Here is a short video about how to use this service.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip