This is the "PRIMARY SOURCE MATERIAL" page of the "WOMEN and GENDER STUDIES" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

WOMEN and GENDER STUDIES  

Last Updated: Dec 7, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/WOMEN_AND_GENDER_STUDIES Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

PRIMARY SOURCE MATERIAL Print Page
  Search: 
 

PRIMARY SOURCES

Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600 to 2000 (http://uclibs.org/PID/36739) [Restricted]
From Alexander Street Press, this database currently includes searchable full text historical documents, a number of document projects based around key questions, teaching tools, plus book, film and website reviews.
Related:
Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920 [via Adam Matthew] (http://uclibs.org/PID/113691) [Restricted]
This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of books, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
Related:
Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online (http://uclibs.org/PID/9286) [Restricted]
A searchable, full-text collection of books and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women's rights. The texts, collected between the late 1800s and 1945 are in fifteen different languages and cover four centuries
Coverage:1543-1945
 
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (NAWLD) (http://uclibs.org/PID/1400) [Restricted]
Includes the full text of diaries and letters of more than 100 women from the 18th and 19th centuries, with biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography on women's narratives.
Coverage: 1675-1950
Related:

 

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 (Gale)

With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond.

Coverage: 1940-

Women Working 1870-1930 (http://ocp.hul.harvard.edu/ww/)
Provides free access to digitized books (over 2000), manuscripts (10,000 pages) and images (1,000) from the collections of Harvard University Libraries and Museums on the topic of women in the U.S. economy from 1870-1930.
Coverage:1870-1930
 
Women Writers Online (http://www.wwp.brown.edu/texts/wwoentry.html) [Restricted]
Also known as the Brown University Women Writers Project, this full-text database includes writing by pre-Victorian women authors, as well as topic essays and introductions. Documents include notation on original pictures and line breaks. Renaissance Women Online (RWO) is a specific subset of this database.
Coverage: approximately 1500-1830
Related:
HarpWeek (http://uclibs.org/pid/1554) [Restricted]
Provides full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912, one of the most important weekly magazines read by Americans during the 19th Century.
Coverage:1857-1912
 
Historical Statistics of the United States, Earliest Times to the Present, Millennial Edition [via Cambridge University Press] (http://uclibs.org/PID/108043) [Restricted]
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) is the long-awaited 4th edition of the landmark government reference tool, last published in 1975. This expanded digital edition (available also as a five-volume print edition) updates and expands the original tables and introduces dozens of new topics. HSUS was culled from more than 1,000 sources to produce nearly 2,000 tables containing some 37,000 time series covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: agriculture, population, the economy, government, welfare and work. Some data from the 1975 edition have been extensively revised, and data determined to be unreliable or inaccurate have not been included. Each series is fully documented and placed in historical context by a scholar in the field. Tables can be downloaded and viewed, as well as graphed and merged into custom tables.
Related:
  • 5-volume print edition of Historical Statistics of the United States is available in Shields Library Gov Info Reference and H/SS Reference (HA202 .H57) and the Agricultural and Resource Economics Library (HA202 .H57 2006)
Early Encounters in North America (EENA): Peoples, Cultures and the Environment (http://uclibs.org/PID/31414) [Restricted]
EENA contains full text letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters, centered on present-day Canada and the United States with some limited coverage of Mexico. Includes information on the peoples, places, environment, flora and fauna encountered. Of note are more than 9,000 Audubon prints from "The Birds of America" as well as the complete contents of the three-volume "The Quadrupeds of North America".
Coverage: 1534-1959
Related:
UC Press eBooks Collection [via eScholarship] (http://texts.cdlib.org/escholarship/)
The University of California eBooks Collection includes about 2,000 titles and is made available through a partnership between the University of California Press and the California Digital Library's eScholarship program. About 25% of the titles are available to the general public; the rest are for University of California faculty, staff, and students only.
Coverage:1982-2004
 
A Celebration of Women Writers (http://digital.library.upenn.edu/women/)
Developed by the U. of Pennsylvania's Online Books Page, this free site offers digital copies of women writers' works from antiquity to the present and bio/bibliographical web page links.
 
Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive and Transcription Project (http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/salem/witchcraft/)
An electronic collection of primary source materials relating to the Salem witch trials of 1692 and a new transcription of the court records. From the University of Virginia Electronic Text Center.
 
Making of America (http://www.hti.umich.edu/m/moagrp/)
Making of America is a digital library of 19th century primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Includes full text of both books and journals.
 
American Memory [Library of Congress] (http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/)
American Memory provides open access to full text historical documents and materials from the Library of Congress. Includes written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
 
Urban Experience in Chicago: Hull-House and Its Neighborhoods, 1889-1963 (http://www.uic.edu/jaddams/hull/urbanexp/)
This website makes available primary documents, photographs, illustrations, and secondary sources documenting the life and times of Jane Addams, the history of Hull-House, and the history of the Near West Side neighborhood and its immigrant communities.
 
HEARTH: Home Economics Archive (http://hearth.library.cornell.edu/h/hearth/index.html)
HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site.
Coverage:1850-1950
 
Documenting the American South (http://docsouth.unc.edu/)
Created at UNC-Chapel Hill, this is a collection of primary sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the twentieth century. Includes numerous digitized slave narratives.
 
Project Diana: An Online Human Rights Archive (http://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/diana.asp)
An international archive of human rights legal documentation, provided by Yale Law School.
 
HeinOnline (http://heinonline.org/HOL/Welcome?collection=journals) [Restricted]
Full-text database of US legal periodicals. Includes the following sections: Law Journal Library (Comprised of Most-Cited Law Journals, Core U.S. Law Journals and International & Non-U.S. Law Journals); Federal Register Library (1936-1989); U.S. Supreme Court Library; and Treaties and Agreements Library, the Statutes at Large (1789-), U.S. Code (1924-)
Coverage: Coverage: Volume 1- Volume preceding current year
Location: Online access is made available by the UC Davis Law Library.
 
Empire Online [via Adam Matthew] (http://uclibs.org/PID/113692) [Restricted]
Empire Online contains several thousand searchable scanned images of original documents relating to Empire Studies. Includes documents from English, French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese and German points of view, and that from indigenous peoples from Africa, India and North America. Sections also include thematic essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies.
Coverage: 1492-present
Related:
Eighteenth Century Collections Online [via Gale] (http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/ucdavis?db=ECCO) [Restricted]
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides full-text searchable access to the digital images of 150,000 books and other materials published during the 18th Century. Based on the English Short Title Catalog bibliography, it includes English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Coverage: 1701-1800
Related:
Related:
British Women Romantic Poets Project, 1789-1832 [UC Davis] (http://digital.lib.ucdavis.edu/projects/bwrp/)
BWRP provides TEI encoded full-text SGML and HTML editions of volumes from the UC Davis Library's Kohler Collection.
Coverage: 1789-1832
Related:
  • Collex search from NINES (http://nines.org/collex/browse)
    To conduct a full text word search of BWRP, use the federated Collex search from NINES. You can constrain by "Project" to British Women Romantic Poets:
North American Women's Drama [via Alexander Street Press] (http://uclibs.org/PID/108526) [Restricted]
North American Women's Drama includes full text of over 1000 plays, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Approximately 20% of the titles have never been previously published. The collection begins with the works of Mercy Otis Warren and Susanna Haswell Rowson in the colonial period and spans the 19th and 20th centuries to the present.
Related:
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (http://uclibs.org/PID/17686) [Restricted]
Published by Alexander Street Press, this collection contains more than sixty volumes of lyric poetry written between 1789 and 1832 by fifty-one Scottish women. In addition, the database contains biographical, critical, and contextual information for each poet
 
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures [via Brill Academic Publishers] (http://uclibs.org/PID/113652) [Restricted]
The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures (EWIC) is an interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project. It provides critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim, and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. Coverage includes the period just before the rise of Islam to the present.
Related:
  • Print volumes of the Encyclopedia are available in H/SS Reference, 2nd floor Shields Library, call number HQ1170.E53 2003
Gendered Perspectives on International Development (GPID) Working Papers (http://gencen.isp.msu.edu/publications/papers.htm)
Gendered Perspectives on International Development (GPID) Working Papers includes scholarly work on global social, political, and economic change and its gendered effects in developing nations. This fulltext open-access repository brings together research, critical analyses, and proposals for change. GPID is part of the The Center for Gender in Global Context, or "GenCen" at Michigan State University.
 
Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia [via the Jewish Women's Archives] (http://jwa.org/encyclopedia)
This online encyclopedia contains more than 2,000 entries, including updated versions of the articles in the "Jewish Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia" (Routledge, 1997). With an emphasis on American Jewish Women, it also covers women from all time periods and all parts of the world.
 
Women in Islam (http://www.usc.edu/dept/MSA/humanrelations/womeninislam/)
By the University of Southern California Muslim Students Association.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip