This is the "PRIMARY SOURCE MATERIAL" page of the "ASIAN-AMERICAN STUDIES " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

ASIAN-AMERICAN STUDIES  

Last Updated: Jan 11, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/ASIAN_AMERICAN_STUDIES Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

PRIMARY SOURCE MATERIAL Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

PRIMARY SOURCE MATERIAL

Asian American Drama [via Alexander Street Press] (http://uclibs.org/PID/31412) [Restricted]

When complete Asian American Drama will bring together more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information.Coverage: late 19th century-presen  Help page on using Asian American Drama (http://www.alexanderstreet2.com/AADRLive/aadr.help.html)

Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives (http://jarda.cdlib.org/)

The Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive (JARDA) serves as a gateway to the archival and manuscript holdings of numerous California archives, libraries, oral history programs, and museums featuring online finding aids, digital images, electronic texts and oral histories. There are 10,000 digital images complemented by 20,000 pages of electronic transcriptions documenting the experience of Japanese Americans in World War II internment camps.

Coverage:1941 - 1945

The Chinese in California, 1850-1925 (http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/award99/cubhtml/cichome.html)

The Chinese in California, 1850-1925 illustrates nineteenth and early twentieth century Chinese immigration to California through about 8,000 images and pages of primary source materials. Included are photographs, original art, cartoons and other illustrations; letters, excerpts from diaries, business records, and legal documents; as well as pamphlets, broadsides, speeches, sheet music, and other printed matter. These documents describe the experiences of Chinese immigrants in California, including the nature of inter-ethnic tensions.

Coverage: 1850-1925

Related The materials in this online compilation are drawn from collections at The Bancroft Library, UC Berkeley; The Ethnic Studies Library, UC Berkeley; and The California Historical Society in San Francisco.

Welga! Filipino American Labor Archive (http://welgadigitalarchive.omeka.net/)

The Welga! Filipino American Labor Archives focuses on preserving and presenting primary sources regarding the immigration of the Filipino labor force to the United States, including migrant farmworkers, cannery workers, longshoremen, nurses and U.S. military personnel. It is hosted by the Asian American Studies Department at UC Davis.

Wayne Maeda Asian American Studies Archives

Professor Wayne Maeda, one of California's foremost scholars of Japanese American history, was a founding member of the Ethnic Studies Center and the Asian American Studies Program at Sacramento State (CSUS). The Wayne Maeda Asian American Studies Archives is comprised of

the Hmong American Archives,

the Wayne Maeda Archives, which focuses on Japanese Americans

and the K.W. Lee Archives which focuses on Korean Americans.

 

Hmong Resource Center Library

Website for the resouce center. The collections (mostly print) include more than 570 Hmong-related books, 275 Hmong-related theses and dissertations, nearly 800 Hmong-related academic journal articles, over 3,500 Hmong-related newspaper articles and 311 videos as well as 52 CDs and 32 DVDs. The library likely has the largest collection of Hmong-related theses and dissertations and journal articles of any institution in the United States, and thus serves as an importnat center for Hmong Studies. The collections also include extensive archives of issues of local (Minnesota) Hmong newspapers dating back to the 1990s and Hmong-related articles from mainstream newspapers going back to the 1970s. Most of this material is not digitized.

Virtual Oral/Aural History Archive, Cal State Long Beach (http://salticid.nmc.csulb.edu/cgi-bin/WebObjects/OralAural.woa/wa/collection?ww=1272&wh=832&pt=109)

The Virtual Oral/Aural History Archive of California State University, Long Beach (CSULB). This site provides access to the full audio recordings of oral histories that have been deposited in Special Collections of the CSULB Library - enabling you, the user, to hear the voice, pitch, and rhythm of the narrations as well as the emotions these convey. You will hear the actual spoken words of oral history narrators, rather than seeing a written version of them in the form of a transcript. The collection is strong in Asian American History, Labor History, Chicano/a History, South Asian History and the Music and general local history of Southern California and Long Beach.Related:

Korean American Digital Archive http://libguides.usc.edu/KADA

This collection brings more than 13,000 pages of documents, over 1,900 photographs, and about 180 sound files together in one searchable collection that documents the Korean American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea and reveal the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965. Courtesy of the University of Southern California Digital Library.

SEAAdoc: Documenting the Southeast Asian American Experience http://seaadoc.lib.uci.edu/

1,500 visual images and 4,000 pages of searchable text focusing on post-1975 refugees and immigrants from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam and the communities they have developed in the United States.

South Asian American Digital Archive http://www.saadigitalarchive.org/

Documents the range of experiences of diaspora communities from Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and many other nations.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip